We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but far away from the center”
Review of Borodino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Borodino Hotel
Ranked #41 of 327 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Rooms are clean, well furnished, comfortable, quite lage and with free wifi.
Breakfast was just OK, but with lots of people trying to get their food. Only the vast size of the dining room helped the situation.
Staff is friendly and helpful.
Strange practice of charging your card for the full stay is there, but it's not a big difference from booking your stay with full prepayment, right?
"Professional services ladies" are also there, which makes the first warning signal.. Also neighbourhood is said to be not safe - at least I've been told so by the locals, therefore didn't want to really test it.
Since the hotel is far away from the city center, you are doomed to use the hotel taxis (which are overpriced of course).
Still, the price for the hotel is reasonable as per Moscow standards. Even if it's not really 4*

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miramaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 371 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2012

I was here by accident just because my meetings were close by and ended up staying for a week. The room was huge, staff friendly and even the restaurant was surprisingly nice. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snetesin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

I'm very disappointed wht this hotel, mainly because 2 things:
1) My room was 2,5 time smaller then rooms for the same price (and the ones you see picture with;
2) Ok, I understand I need to pay more (which is 50% more) for an early check-in (in spite of the fact that many hotels would do it) - fine. But I really don't when it comes to the fact that I was told that the check-out time is 12:30 and I came at this time to ask whether it's possible to make a late check-out, I was answered "It's not very good". Right. I'm going back to the room (it's 11th floor and going up and down is al least 10 min) and my door i locked. I'm going back to reception, they give me another key and guess what? The door is locked again. At this point of time I should already go to the training session my company had in a hotel. Coming back at 15-00 and explaining the situation I got a bill which I have to pay for another extra 50% of the stay! The customer service and a manager just said that I have to because it's my fault and bla-bla and when I asked why my room was also tiny, she said "Really?", looked at the floor map and went away without answering.

Other things not matching
- is a bit of a mass around, hard to find an entrance, looks like the building is not finished.
- I don't not who set the programme for this elevator, but you're luck if you get it in a short time :-)
- Locked minibar
- Somehow not refilled paper box in a room, which would be better to remove, not to confuse you :-)
- Boring design of a room

And now advantages:
- Building is quite nice inside, I would say in terms of building it would be 4 star if service and general management would be different
- In spite of the other review - there are 2 bottles of water in a room
- The rest of the stuff (especially waiters) is really great
- Great restaurant
- Clean
- Has a swimming pool (I didn't go there)
- Price is cheaper then in 4 star

Personally I would stay there only if I'm on budget, also after knowing their stupid rools (you never know where they gonna charge you, btw there are many negatives about that in a hotel reviews and complains books) BUT I would definitely visit the restaurant If I'd want to have a good food and service

Room Tip: Ask what kind of size is it, don't take 1127 or similar on the corners :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Breath777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

beautiful decoration but far from center of town. decent food but rather basic. there is indoor pool but cold water. staff very young. rooms are comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank couple59060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

The hotel was selected by the tour agency, after reading the reviews I was sceptic and i expressed my doubts to the tour agent.
I found the hotel as a balance of quality and price.
I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights, Hotel was clean and comfortable with good service from reception and staff in general (except of language problems).

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Arik_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2010

Stayed at this hotel for the fourth time in the past 1.5 years, simply because my company has an agreement with this hotel as it is just around the corner. Therefore, for me, it is a must to stay there, for others, who are able to choose accomodation themselves, please read the following lines:
Despite the fact that the rooms are quite clean and that they offer free WiFi, there is really nothing positive to say about this hotel.
It starts at check-in: You hand over your credit card and they charge it straight away with the full amount of the stay you have booked in advance. If you need to leave a day or two earlier - bad luck for you, because they will not reimburse a single Ruble.
You arrive at the room in the middle of the night and discover that the minibar is locked. In order to get the key, you have to make a deposit of EUR 125 (Rubles 5,000). Sounds insane, but that is Borodino reality. Bring your own bottle of water to be on the safe site, cause you might get very thirsty during the night as the rooms are so much overheated and aircondition is not working that you get around 25 degrees at night. Opening the window? Sure, possible, but please be advised that the hotel is next to a train depot, operating 24/7 so the noise is unbearable.
Room service? Don't even think about it!
When you take the elevator in the morning to go down, take your time. Despite having 3 elevators, I never made it down from the 10th floor in less than 10 minutes. Walking down is not an option from the 10th floor for a lazy guy like me, as the temperature outside your room is even higher.
When it is raining outside and you need an umbrella, make sure you have deposited the 5,000 Rubles otherwise you won't anything from them.
During check out the question for the possibility of printing my company's name on the invoice was denied by the bored and unfriendly recepionist as "our account doesn't want us to do this any longer"!!!
I could go on for hours giving you reasons for not choosing this hotel!
If all this sounds petty to you, remember that it all adds up at the end of the day leading you to the conclusion that a stay at Borodino can be a real nightmare!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank olliwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2010

An excellent hotel with good rooms, gym, sauna, spa, swimming pool and commendable restaurant services. However the price spoils the pleasure when compared with other hotel of similar category in other countries. It is also too far away from center and thereby forces you into a lot of Moscow traffic hold ups..

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saidmamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Design Hotel (D'Otel)
#20 of 327 in Moscow
544 reviews
Philistine
AZIMUT Hotel Olympic Moscow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zamoskvorechye
Ibis Moscow Centre Bakhrushina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borodino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borodino Hotel

Address: Rusakovskaya St 13 bld 5, Moscow 107140, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
#38 Business Hotel in Moscow
Price Range: $51 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Borodino Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borodino Hotel Moscow is a 4 Star hotel focused on high level of services and facilities. It is the best place to experience the flavors and traditions of Russian hospitality and to enjoy tasting delicious local dishes. Design: combination of modern architecture and elegant French Renaissance interiors. Soft lighting, magnificent marble floors, panoramic elevators, beautiful furniture in soft pastel colors and elaborate flower decorations create the perfect combination of luxury and simplicity. The hotel features 236 tastefully furnished spacious rooms of different types, two restaurants, 24-hour lobby bar, several conference halls, congress-center, exchange office, parking. During their stay the guests are welcome to enjoy free of charge usage of the Hotel fitness center facilities. Free WiFi is provided in all hotel area. The Borodino hotel fits perfectly both business guests’ and leisure travelers’ aims. Location is the great choice for travelers, looking for city center neighborhood and closeness to the green areas of the big city. Two metro stations Krasnoselskaya & Sokolniki provide direct connection to the Red Square and the Kremlin. While marvelous Sokolniki Park is just 10-minute walk from the hotel. Our team is glad to provide you with its 24-hour attentive support. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Borodino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borodino Hotel Moscow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing