We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Toto - this isn't Kansas anymore!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Milan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Milan Hotel
Ranked #72 of 310 Hotels in Moscow
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Toto - this isn't Kansas anymore!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2009

We have been plunked down into a nicer, more civilized hotel than we could afford in New York City! Other reviewers have mentioned the value found here, but you have to be aware that it IS sort of in the middle of nowhere in the extensive Moscow suburbs. We used it as a stopover for one night on the way back from the Russian Far East as it is nearer to Domodedovo airport and there is nothing worth staying in any closer. After a 9 hour plane ride and a long taxi ride through "dacha-land" this hotel was truly heaven sent. Be aware that there is usually a LOT of traffic between this hotel and the airport.

It is 21 stories with a glass elevator that runs up the north side from which you can get a view of the city center rising up. The place is gleaming clean, marble and tiles. No off odors, Room really WAS "nonsmoking." Bed was SO comfortable, hallway quiet, no plumbing noises. Almost like home!

YOU CANNOT DRINK THE TAP WATER. This is not stressed enough for travelers who are used to potable water and find it hard to believe that Russia does NOT have potable water in its towns and cities! Russians themselves have a name for Moscow's water that is ever more derrogatory than for their own water where they live.

Get bottled water either from the shopping center a block away or pay $3 for a bottle from the lobby bar. You must use bottled water even to brush your teeth. Our other hotel in the city center at least had a water dispenser for its guests to fill containers from.

The hotel "restaurant" is actually a noisy, smokey brew-pub. With billards. A nice spot for the locals who live in the nearby apartment towers. Menu has many choices and we ate well enough. Breakfast is served in the same place, and had dozens of choices to pick from. Excellent quality and plenty!

There is a nice Business Center, but you need to buy an internet card either in 1-hour or 24 hour amount. I asked the concierge if she could check on our flight as I would not need an hours worth of internet time to do that. She obliged and even smiled!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winewyze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    187
    68
    18
    10
See reviews for
36
64
53
229
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2009

Stayed here as part of a package tour in Moscow. Hotel is located near the airport and free shuttle is available but we did not have to make use of it. This hotel seems to be very popular with group tours from Asia countries. During our stay, only one lift was operational and it was a very unsatisfactory situation especially in the morning when guests were heading for breakfast. Hotel staff were not too conversant in English and could not comprehend what we wanted. Service on the whole was average. The room /toilet is small but clean. The hotel appears new and there is a supermarket across the road . Location is far from city centre . Would not recommend it if you plan to go sightseeing in the Red Square

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M_Teo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2009

Good Business Hotel 15-20 mins fro Central Moscow. This hotel is presently under rennovation so has limited facilities. Some of the restaurants are closed, the fitness suite is closed and there is only one elevator for 21 floors.

The rooms are very nice, with all the usual facilities you would expect. No Wifi available in the rooms only on the first 2 floors, wired internet access available though.

I would recommend when rennovations are completed.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhatJez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2009

My husband and I stayed in the Milan for 3 nights this month at the end of our trip to Russia, and were very satisfied with it.
The room was clean, bright & somewhat spacious, with a fridge, tele etc. Unfortunately the shower was in the bathtub (not separate) but the bathroom itself was clean (as was the bedroom and the whole hotel) & very perfectly adequate. There was only one bath and one hand towel when we arrived, so we rang for more and they arrived (1 more of each) very promptly.
I am an ex smoker and I have to say I would be very aware of the smell of smoke and definitely did not smell it all over the hotel as other reviewers have said.
The staff were all pleasant and helpful, answering any and all questions re directions etc. The hotel was also very helpful with the Visa invitation paperwork before we arrived (by email) and gave us the forms to cover all the dates of our stay, not just the days we were in Moscow.
The Hotel reception area is under construction and is closed, so you enter around the side of the hotel, rather than through the main door. This is not a problem. The breakfast is very, very good- there's even a guy there to cook your eggs or omelet freshly the way you want it. However, and I think this is because of the renovations, there isn't really a bar area, just a few couches in the corner of the restaurant area, and they were a bit slow in bringing a drink. The sports bar attached to the hotel do nice enough bar type food. Reasonable, don't expect any smiles though. Like a lot of Russian restaurants, they don't seem to have cottoned onto the customer service ethos.
It is a 10 min walk to the metro stop (I timed it) and I don't walk particularly fast. Or you can step on a bus or tram directly across the road (20 rubles in the kiosk) for the 2 stops. The metro takes 30 mins into Red Square. If you arrive by Metro or even coming back to the hotel, when you come up from the underground look for McDonalds, the hotel is on the same side of the road past McDonalds and past a big car showroom, walk about 10 mins altogether. At the crossroads where the Metro is there is also a market - very interesting to walk around - and a super market - we bought vodka there to bring home and it was very reasonable, also bottled water- we stocked up here, just brought them back to the fridge in the room.
The shuttle service to the airport is good if you are going at the available slots. I think it was something like 10am & 12 pm and maybe an earlier one - we weren't flying out till 8pm so they ordered a taxi for us. (1300 Rubles) or you can get a shuttle bus outside the metro station for 80 rubles each.
Unfortunately the air conditioning wasn't working and although the girl on reception told us it was fixed the 2nd day it didn't seem to make any difference.
We booked through Hotels.com - I usually like to book directly with the hotel, but we got very good value, They were giving a good price anyway, much better than the hotel direct & then I think it was stay 2 nights and get the 3rd night free - so our stay for 3 nights was €280.00 (June 2009) - For me it was worth the savings to travel in & out on the metro.
We ate in the restaurant just before going to the airport and had a nice meal, reasonable, (go for the bar menu -even for drinks- the restaurant menu is a bit steep. You can have either sitting at the same table- I think it's because there isn't really a bar)
Overall I'd have no problem recommending Hotel Milan, if you are in Moscow to see the sights, and are looking for a base in nice surroundings with a great breakfast to start you off on your day exploring Moscow. If you are looking for a very luxurious hotel with leisure centre etc that's another thing.
Enjoy your trip. ;)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank demented
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2009

I stayed here on the final day of my Russian trip. The hotel was under construction, but it did not affect the stay at all. Rooms were large and modern. Staff was very helpful. Free shuttle to airport made the $150 price through expedia a great deal. Nice restaurant in hotel, but I did not try it. A 10 minute walk south to the Domodedova Green Line Metro Station (and McDonalds) puts you on the Moscow Metro Green Line and a 30 minute ride from the heart of the city. Watch the Metros coming back, however. One green line metro train diverts to another branch of the system, and the only obvious notice is the conductor's message in Russian. All it means is getting off the southbound green train and waiting for the next one, which arrives in 1-2 minutes. The shuttle to the airport takes about 30 minutes, and is free. Wifi in the room/lobby costs $20 for 24 hours.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0hnG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2009

My girlfriend and I travelled to Moscow in November 2008. We wanted a low-cost hotel, without regretting it afterwards. The Hotel Milan fit the bill.

Rooms were clean and relatively spacious. Service was good. They provided directions when we asked for them and they helped us get tickets to certain shows we wanted to see.

We were lucky to find out that the mall across the street had a grocery store. So for the first night we brought some Russian delicacies for cheap to our room, which was pleasant.

Breakfasts were great. A bit of everything, both hot and cold. And the Moscow Times is available in English for a morning read.

Its only flaw is that it's located 15 minutes (walk) from the closest metro, which is another 20-25 minute (direct) ride to central Moscow. But for what you get, it's well worth it. If you think about it, that half-hour saves you hundreds of dollars a night, money that can be better spent on finer restaurants, vodka, and caviar.

So, if you're not looking to spend too much on a hotel and you don't mind walking somewhat (hey, a little exercise doesn't hurt), this hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lextacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed here in April 2009. It was our first trip to Moscow, and we decided to give the Milan a try after reading the TripAdvisor.com reviews and factoring in price (cheap). Although Milan is really a "no frills" hotel, it is nice and more important - clean. During our stay the lobby was being renovated.

The staff were always helpful and spoke english well. The visa sponsorship was handled efficiently via email - [--]

There is an enormous free(included with stay) breakfast buffet each morning. As one reviewer wrote earlier - everyone will find something they like. We also had roomservice twice for late night dinners, also very good.

A "Mall" is located across the street which has a grocery store. We purchased bottled water as it is not recommended to drink water from the tap in Moscow. Although I have read that better hotels filter their water, I did not ask the staff if the Milan has a filtration system.

The only downside about this hotel is the location. It is one of the closest to the airport (good), however it is a good 35 min metro ride to Red Square. In addition, the walk to the station is about 15 min. Since we spent most of our time walking around the city center, it was inconvenient to have to spend so much time on the metro just to go back to the hotel to freshen up before going to dinner.

As many visitors to Moscow will tell you, the traffic is terrible and their Metro is excellent! There are stations all over Moscow. The trains arrive one right after the other (3 min apart?), they are fast and clean. As a passenger on the Metro, English speaking tourists will have to familiarize themselves with a bit of Cyrillic and a Russian/English dictionary is a good idea when attempting to transfer trains if necessary.

People in Moscow love to smoke, so it is hard to avoid. The odor of smoke is evident in the hotel, however it wasn't so overwhelming that it took away from our stay at the Milan.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sperry3310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Intourist Kolomenskoe
0.8 mi away
Hotel Orekhovo
Hotel Orekhovo
#114 of 310 in Moscow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
12.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Vega Hotel & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
AZIMUT Hotel Tulskaya Moscow
12.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Izmailovo Moscow
4.2 mi away
SunFlower Park Hotel
SunFlower Park Hotel
#54 of 310 in Moscow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milan Hotel

Property: Milan Hotel
Address: Shipilovskaya St., 28A | corner of Kashirskoe Shosse, Moscow 115563, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
#78 Business Hotel in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Milan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Milan Hotel was built a short time ago - in the year of 2006. The hotel is situated in a 21-story modern building, which is equipped on a level of the highest world technical standards. The Milan Hotel is situated in Kashirskoye shosse, 20 minutes away from the international airport Domodedovo, and 25 minutes away from the center of Moscow. The nearest metro station is Domodedovskaya, and you can reach it within 7 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Milan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milan Hotel Moscow
Hotel Milan Moscow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing