We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never stay in this hostel, terrible”
Review of Napoleon Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Napoleon Hostel
Ranked #662 of 1,518 Specialty Lodging in Moscow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never stay in this hostel, terrible”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

I book for 2 weeks a this hostel. I noted that the bathrooms are a mess, not clean. The kitchen most of the time is in use by other people (that usually stay around just to chat). the staff and travelers (who likes to drink) are always drunk at night at the lobby which is close to the rooms. One day I went out and when I came back to the hostel, they gave my bed to another person who book for 2 days, it was my first week, completely ridiculous I book for 2 weeks the same happen to another guy who book for one week. They don't even have water to drink, you boil your own water or buy it. The staff is terrible. the on thing good thing about this hostel is the location, closed to the tourist places. In my experience I don't recommend this hostel I had a bad experience in this hostel in my first time in Moscow

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zeros-K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapoleonHostelMoscow, Manager at Napoleon Hostel, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank-you for taking the time to write your recent review. I am sorry if you found certain aspects of your stay to be unsatisfactory. You mention that the kitchen was in use by other guests, this seems to be a strange comment as of course guests like to cook, and of course guests like to socialise with each other and this invariably takes place in the kitchen or in the living room.
You mention that we don’t have water to drink. Russia like many countries in the world does not treat its water to be drinkable from the tap. Therefore, like many other countries in the world, you either need to boil the water or buy mineral water, which you can buy from our small bar, or one of the many local supermarkets in the area.
The staff are not allowed to drink while working, so I guess you are confusing some guests who you thought were the staff. You say that the staff were terrible, I point I strongly disagree with. The staff are multilingual in a minimum of 2 languages, many speak many more, and are always on hand, 24 hours a day to answer any questions you might have, or to book you tickets, taxis, or whatever assistance you may require. All you need to do is ask. Many other reviewers are very quick to commend the staff on their work and helpfulness.
It is impossible that we gave your bed to another guest. All the beds have the guests name and check-out date on them to avoid precisely this situation. It is possible that another guest mistook your bed for theirs, and if you had of informed reception we would have rectified this situation straight away.
I thank you for pointing out that the location is very good, and that you rated the hostel as excellent value for money.
Kind Regards
MANAGER
NAPOLEON Hostel, Moscow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    23
    31
    21
    32
See reviews for
4
11
44
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

I stayed there for 5 nights.I can't complain much because it was really cheap! The staff was friendly and with good English.The location was perfect,just 10 mins away from the Red Square!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PedroMoura886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

The hostel is really very well located, in one of the central parts of the town near the kremlin (15-20m walking)

we got a really cheap promotion on booking.com for 5nights, so we can't complain at all.

The staff is really nice and ready to help.

The only thing we thought, was that it was a bit noisy.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I stayed at Napolean hostel for three nights and had the best sleeps of my trip there!! The location is brilliant, a simple 7 minute walk straight down the street to red square. Met some cool people and had a great time. The common area is really interesting heaps of cool stuff on the walls and interesting books to read. I would totally stay there again in fact Moscow is freakin awesome id love to return!

Room Tip: The 8 bed dorm is all good. get what you pay for but lots of space and powerpoints etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndon_Maffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ISTANBUL
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

I have been there for four nights and had a nice stay overall. Hostel manager Richard took me to a club on my first night, which was nice. He has been friendly & smiley all the time. Receptionist Kate was helpful and caring, we had good conversations during my stay. Cleanliness and rooms are average but you should never forget that this is only a hostel not a hotel! If you are alone, looking for nice location and would like to meet new people I am sure you will be satisfied with this hostel! Please do not hesitate to give them a try!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taneryildiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

I stayed at the Napoleon Hostel for two nights. I was in a 6-bed female dorm. The facilities were good and the beds comfortable (A change having just come from Asia). The staff are very friendly and helpful with good English. The common area is a gret place to mingle with others or just relax. It was a bit tricky finding the hostel as there is a tiny sign stuck to the wall and that is it. My taxi driver had to call to find out exactly where it was.
The location is great. 5-10 mins walking to Red Square and only a few to the metro. I had a few meals at the little cafe 30 seconds walk on the corner. Food was good but not sure about the smoking. Reminded me of Australia like 15-20 years ago!
The only down side was the stairs up to the hostel. It was on the fourth floor and very hard to get luggage up and down the stairs especially when there is a bit of weight involved.
Would recommend it though.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebeccakgardiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2011

The hostel is in a great location, very near to the main sights, the staff were very friendly. As a lone traveller on a Round The World trip I enjoy socialising with other travellers and talking about our travels. Unfortunately there seemed to be few if any backpackers there. I shared a room with people who mainly seemed to be long term residents and Russian businessmen. It is a shame because the hostel has nice rooms, free laundry and great Wi-Fi, just not a very comfortable atmosphere when I stayed.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigbluecaveman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
City Comfort Hotel
#40 of 566 in Moscow
115 reviews
Tverskaya
Sputnik Hostel
Sputnik Hostel
#7 of 1,518 in Moscow
43 reviews
Tverskaya
Hostel Bolshoi
Hostel Bolshoi
#22 of 1,518 in Moscow
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arbat
DA! Hostel
DA! Hostel
#25 of 1,518 in Moscow
181 reviews
Hostel Light Dream
#215 of 1,518 in Moscow
5 reviews
Book Hostel
#117 of 1,518 in Moscow
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napoleon Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napoleon Hostel

Property: Napoleon Hostel
Address: Maly Zlatoustinskiy ln, 2, Moscow 101000, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #662 of 1,518 Specialty Lodging in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Napoleon Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NAPOLEON Hostel is MOSCOW'S MOST POPULAR BACKPACKER HOSTEL and is located JUST 5 MINUTES WALK from Red Square in the trendy old town ''Kitai Gorod'' area. This district is characterised with cobbled streets, old merchant houses and quaint Orthodox churches and is full of exciting bars, cheap restaurants, and local supermarkets, all within walking distance.Napoleon Hostel is award winning having won Best Hostel in Russia by Hostelworld. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Napoleon Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing