We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal and affordable (!) base for a city trip to Moscow”
Review of Maxima Slavia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Maxima Slavia
Ranked #94 of 323 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Ideal and affordable (!) base for a city trip to Moscow”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Stayed in the Slavia for 5 nights after coming in on the TransSib. Moscow downtown hotels are pricy and overrated, so that is why we choose this one just northeast of the city centre. Three metrostops from circle-line 5 to VDNKh, and then 10 minutes on trolleybus 76. Piece of cake and very cheap. A courtesy shuttle is available on working days.
The hotel is situated on a busy throughfare but behind another building, so no noise problems. We took an upgrade to a business suite since this gives an extra sideroom AND a bathtub (which is a blessing after 4 weeks on the road...) The in-house restaurant is better than expected both for quality and price: breakfast also is just fine.
A huge hypermarket is right next door.
The staff is helpful and friendly (and for non-Russian speaking guests: most of the staff speaks good English).
In short: this hotel is value for money and I definitely will book again for the next Moscow visit.

Room Tip: Had a regular room on 4th floor in 2009 which was OK, this time an executive suite (305) which was j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ohno711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    83
    26
    5
    4
See reviews for
25
32
18
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
voronezh
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

My boyfriend and i stayed in Maxima Slavia for 6 nights. Thanks to useful info which is on the official web we found it without any problem. It's a nice new hotel with a friendly staff!
We would be glad to come back again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vikki90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Stayed here in February for a couple of nights half board. Meals not too bad for an English palate, room really clean and warm, and a very short walk to a hyper market/fast food outlets. Staff were friendly and some good banter in the bar with staff and other guests (smoking permitted).

Tremendous value for money, recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

me and my wife are very happy w the service, room and location. has a free shuttle bus to the metro. huge supermarket next door, great buffet breakfast. They will have my business whenever i come to Moscow!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeysannMohamedF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

The hotel is very clean and staffed by REALLY friendly Russian folks. Many of them are students who speak very good English. They are happy to converse with you at the bar, and are VERY helpful and personable at the front desk. And yes, I encountered my fair share of what they call the Russian "outside persona" - which is horrible - in my wanderings.

My best piece of advice is to make sure you have the metro map in Cyrillic, if you take the metro into town. Get this from the hotel (it's in one of the guide books in the lobby). You won't be able to get one at the metro stations, trust me. My Fodors only had it in English - and that doesn't get you far, trust me.

I loved the fact that they had a currency machine in the lobby - insert dollars and it spits out Rubles (-: no trip to the bank necessary!

Also, it's worth a walk down the road to the cemetery in the back of the hotel. It is VERY cool and interesting!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cefranzwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Even though hotel is not close to city center, subway/metro should be able to get there. Hotel room was clean, friendly people around and the best part is the hot breakfast. Overall it's a good hotel to stay for long or short vacation. Wifi is not free in room but you get free wired internet. Internet is damn slow.
Regards,
Venky

Room Tip: Call before you get into this hotel for bus trolly which is Number 26 from metro station to the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chicago_venky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We had a very nice stay in this hotel. The staff were friendly, accommodating & responsive. When we first checked in, our room was on the small side and without a bath, which when you are travelling with a ten month old is problematic. However, we upgraded to a suite with a second room for only around $15 extra per night. Money well spent!

The one area where the hotel can use some improvement is in the ventilation of the bar. The smell of smoke was noticeable in the lobby.

Other than this, we were very, very happy --unlike everywhere else we stayed in Russia (at over twice the price).

Room Tip: Pay the extra to upgrade to a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iveyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
0.4 mi away
Sayany Hotel
Sayany Hotel
#242 of 323 in Moscow
100 reviews
5.0 mi away
Maxima Irbis Hotel
Maxima Irbis Hotel
#113 of 323 in Moscow
173 reviews
5.4 mi away
Beta Hotel Izmailovo
Beta Hotel Izmailovo
#67 of 323 in Moscow
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Izmailovo Gamma Delta
Izmailovo Gamma Delta
#58 of 323 in Moscow
1,952 reviews
5.5 mi away
Alfa Hotel
Alfa Hotel
#48 of 323 in Moscow
1,044 reviews
10.9 mi away
Maxima Panorama Hotel
Maxima Panorama Hotel
#71 of 323 in Moscow
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maxima Slavia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maxima Slavia

Property: Maxima Slavia
Address: Yaroslavskoye Hwy, 44, Moscow 129337, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maxima Slavia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maxima Slavia Hotel is a modern business-hotel with 100 rooms of various categories. The Hotel is built in a "Green Oasis" of Moscow close to the "Elk's Island". The "All-Russia Exhibition Centre (VVC)" may also be easily reached by transport. One of the biggest waterparks in Europe the "Kva-Kva Park" is also located nearby. Free Wi-Fi and fresh press are complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maxima Slavia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maxima Slavia Hotel Moscow
Maxima Slavia Moscow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing