We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but watch what they tell you”
Review of Peter I

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peter I
Ranked #34 of 326 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2010

Really nice hotel. Good size room and wonderful location. Breakfast excellent although they do like to clear tables. Reception misleading though. Asked about Wifi charge and told it was free if we used their keyboard which duly arrived at our door only to find 1,000 rouble charge on bill even though we hadn't used it. They did remove it after complaint. Asked for late check out and given a price only to find the information totally wrong. Apart from this I would still highly recommend staying here. Room service very good try the beef strogonov excellent

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellinggalUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (645)
There are newer reviews for Peter I
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

262 - 268 of 645 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2010

Location & Check-In

The hotel Peter I is located in a side street about five minutes off Red Square, close to the Tsum Department Store and Vogue Cafe. Opened in 2006 it maintains a great mix of quality, location and service. The facade is traditional and integrates well into the historic neighborhood. Reception and restaurant areas are welcoming and traditional in a good sense.

Rooms

The rooms have more modern furniture than the public areas; the bathrooms are fully equipped and even the smaller rooms to the back-side are quite spacious. Everything was clean and spotless, quite pleasant and positive.

Food

The breakfast, lunch and dinner options are traditional Russian. Do not expect anything modern. Overall, the quality of the food is decent. Downside are canned orange juice and non-descript yogurts. The freshly-prepared egg dishes, in particular omelettes, are recommended and inclusive.

Facilities

The location is great, the staff is friendly, it has a business centre-what is lacks is a spa. The hotel works with a traditional Russian banja in the neighborhood but that does not reduce the need for one on site.

Overall Value & Rating

No doubt: Peter I is a very good, decent hotel in a classy neighborhood. On the other hand, despite the current reductions, it remains somewhat pricey given the lack of spa facilities. GI recommends it to business travelers who do not want to pay double and triple the prices in the more well-know branded hotels in the area such as the Hyatt (across the street) or the Ritz-Carlton. But do not expect miracles.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Globalinsiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2010

The hotel was ideally located for all the sights of central Moscow. Close to Red Square, the Kremlin and the Metro. We had a room at the back of the hotel facing into a small private courtyard. The staff were polite, breakfast very good... Couldn't really find any faults.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2010

While the hotel was quite fine, though a little expensive, the restaurant completeley failed.

Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
1  Thank ArnoldN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2010

We spent a week at this hotel in 2009 and were pleased with the value for money. The hotel regularly runs specials on multiple US booking sites and cannot be beat for what you get for the relatively low price (which almost always includes breakfast). It’s a few blocks from the Bolshoi and you can walk to Red Square, although you do have a major eight lane road and a luxury car dealership to navigate on the way (we later found another route). I didn’t care much for the restaurants in this area, but others may enjoy the overpriced venues within blocks of this hotel. The department store TSUM is very close too.

The rooms have good beds and all the regular amenities. They were cleaned well. Not too memorable (certainly not five star), but they provide everything you would need. The breakfast served was varied with many choices. The service at breakfast was a bit aggressive, with clearing of plates literally while you are still eating – but I think in trying to provide efficient service they have simply gotten a bit over-zealous- so it was more amusing than anything else.

The only negative were two staff members we dealt with – and even this was a minimal issue. We were literally told “shhh” when attempting to ask questions during thei desk clerk’s introductory lecture while checking in- told to wait as our questions would be answered in this intro (which of course they were not). This desk person was very cold and standoff-ish toward all guests and did not seem to enjoy his job at all. The night concierge at the time could not locate a map (!) and was on his cell phone the whole time he tried to “help” us – par for the course in Russia. Good service was virtually nonexistent in our experience.

Altogether a nice solid (but standard) choice for Moscow, in a very good location. I do recommend the hotel, esp. for first time visitors.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matars_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2010

hi just been to peter 1 hotel for four days, loved everything about this hotel. room was very large facing the main road were noise wasnt a issue, we were in 485 on fourth floor, beds comfy bathroom large and spotless with underfloor heating, and dressing gowns and slippers, and complimentary toiletries, very nice touch,hotel staff very proficient in there work, very helpful reception staff and concierge,when info was required,fantastic buffet breakfast included in room rate off 100 pounds for twin room,service at breakfast also excellent, i made use of the fitness centre which had a nice pool steam rooms jacuzzi etc, and on each visit i was the only person in there very nice,position of hotel approx ten mins stroll from red square,

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiddlesbroughJazzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2009

This Hotel is very good if you have the money for it. It was not cheap, but very good.
Rooms has been cleaned very well. The room itself (we got the smallest 2-person-room with queensized beds) has been very good too, but the viewpoint of this room was bad.
Television in different languages, bath was very clean and looked luxery. Got alot of different shampoo's and other little things free to use in bath. You have a safe-in-wall as well as enough space for your cloths.
it seems like you could check everytime your actually price you have to pay throu your television (multimedia) but we didnt understand it completely.

What was bad at the room: there is a little fridge with different things in it (such as coke, snacks, alcohol) but have to pay for everything you'll open and thats not cheap at all (such as the hotel itself). Let the clothes be cleaned was very easy, in good quality and fast, but prices here are very high too, would only recommend this if really needet!

The breakfast is awsome! you got fresh orangejuice, such as cranberriejuice. many different sorts of tea and enough coffee and warm milk. A good choice of fruits and yoghurts. Warm things such as eggs and eggs-in-toast are very well! Love'd to have breakfast there.

In the lounge at evening you can have some drinks and sometimes theres a person who playes piano very well. that makes it very comfortable, also to check-in and -out.

people at reception speaks english very well.

We didnt use the fitness-room, doesnt look so nice as the rest of the hotel. The Sauna wasn't very hot, and made of stone, wich is not so comfortable as wooden-sauna but has a tube with cool water wich was good to cool down.
The jacuzzi isn't very hot too. But the pool has enough space for some people at looked clean.

all in all, a very comfortable, luxury-like hotel with some little negative things. But if you dont care about money and you want to stay close to the red-square for example, its very good!

Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
Thank aepic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Hotel Savoy Moscow
#198 of 326 in Moscow
775 reviews
Tverskaya
Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel
Tverskaya
Budapest Hotel
Budapest Hotel
#87 of 326 in Moscow
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tverskaya
Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Hotel Metropol Moscow
#10 of 326 in Moscow
3,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peter I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peter I

Address: Neglinnaya St., 17, Moscow 127051, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Tverskaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Moscow
#30 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
#35 Romantic Hotel in Moscow
#40 Family Hotel in Moscow
#57 Business Hotel in Moscow
Price Range: $142 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Peter I 5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peter I Hotel is located in the business and cultural center of Moscow just a few steps away from Red Square, Kremlin, St. Basil's Cathedral, the Bolshoi and Maly theaters and many other attractions of the capital. There are many metro stations near Peter I hotel: Kuznetsky Most, Okhotny Ryad, Trubnaya, Tsvetnoy bulvar. Peter I Hotel provides a full range of facilities for business and leisure: business center, conference halls, fitness center with pool, beauty salon, restaurant Romanov (Russian & European cuisine) and lobby bar. A generous buffet breakfast is served every morning at Romanov restaurant of Peter I hotel. The Lobby bar of Peter I Hotel is open 24 hours and offers the guests a wide selection of appetizers and salads, sandwiches, desserts and drinks. The Lobby bar is decorated with a luxurious white piano which complements the evening cosy atmosphere with the sounds of live music. VIP lounge is on the top floor of the hotel offers tea, coffee, pastry, fruits, light drinks and snacks for a day. Free Wi-Fi Internet service is available 24-hours in all hotel areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peter I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peter 1 Hotel
Peter 1 Moscow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing