We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very centrally place Hotel with little to miss for a favourable price/budget”
Review of Peter I

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Peter I
Ranked #38 of 327 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This Hotel is top located, around the Red Square and Kusnetzki Most, we enjoyed our stay, little noise, good rooms, great bathrooms (we were on our way back from Kazak!) and a favourable breakfast buffet.

Also, a degree of warmth, not too much, was felt at the reception.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank FOL-1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (656)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

223 - 229 of 657 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

In one of the most expensive cities in the world and 5* hotels setting extortionate rates, Hotel Peter 1 offers the business traveller a reasonably priced and well located alternative. Rooms are comfortable and more than adequate, the in-house restaurant serves a good buffet style breakfast and offers a good menu for evening dining. The weakest link was the service which was a little brusque at times although that seems to be in common with service generally in Moscow. Would recommend for business travel and would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trufflediggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We arrived very early one Moscow morning and the hotel were great about letting us access our room early. They invited us to a complimentary breakfast. They were also good with a late check out too. I'd recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Central location and easy access to the sights. Many good restaurants within walking distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jensutton611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed three nights in Peter 1 and we were very satisfied with the hotel. It takes less than 10 minutes to walk to the Red Square and the area felt very safe.

The breakfast was abundant and excellent. The Russian champagne gave it a hint of luxury. The waiters were sometimes too busy to keep up with the requests & cleaning the tables for new clients and all of them didn't understand even basic English (two coffees, please).

Our room was large with a spacious bathroom. The beds were extra large and comfortable. There was a small spa in the basement with a steam sauna and a small swimming pool.

I would give the hotel five stars, but the service was not always worth it. The concierge didn't know much about the sights in Moscow (there isn't a public tourist info in the town) and she seemed sometimes a bit tired of our questions. She didn't for example know that the Lenin mausoleum was closed for months due to a renovation.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karpal0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Nice (and expensive!) hotel right in the City center of Moscow. The rooms a nice, some of them just renewed and some a bit aged however spacious enough. The breakfast offers a good selection of food and beverages. The internet wi-fi is free (and works well) in the lobby while it is extra charged for the rooms.
A useful ATM machine is available at the lobby.
I never used the Hotel restaurant for dinner however it is often close for private functions. No bid deal, there is a very good selection of restaurant and very close walking distance.
The main value of this hotel is the location. It is located on a road parallel to the Bolshoi Theatre which can be reached in few minutes walking while the red square is at less than 10 minute distance.
It is on a one way narrow road which is always subject to heavy traffic jam in pick hours. It may take as long as 3 hours to reach it from the airport, however generally it can be made in less than 2. Hotel is good for business and (if can afford the rate) families mainly due to its location, for the rest nothing really special.

Room Tip: Bring your running gears and weather permitting enjoy a jog in the Moscow city center!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dadde74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Nothing can be really nice when you are being disappointed and even deceived by the hotel staff. The concierge of the hotel booked us tickets to the Ballet . We specifically ask for only good sites. The concierge gave us a polite and kind service. He quickly called us and said that he manage to find tickets in best seats as we asked, for 4000 Rub's per a ticket in a very good seats and we are lucky to have them. We should pay only in cash and fast, in order not losing this good offer. We did. We paid 600 Euros in cash…. (6 guests) In the show we find out that we are seating on the 4th floor near the roof and can hardly see and enjoy the show. People next to us pay 1200 Rubles in a row in front of us and 600 (!) Rubles in the row behind us. There were a lot of empty seats in the hall and people were buying their tickets at the cashier in the theater and in the internet. A seller standing outside the theater wanted to sell us tickets in 2000 Rubles…the hotel management did not took responsibility to this failure. None so ever. One do not expects this from a respectable hotel.Beware with this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
9  Thank viv a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Five minutes'walk from the Bolshoi theatre...how much better can a hotel be situated in central Moskiow? An old-fashioned (in the positive meaning of the word) stylish hotel with all the modern amenities and very well trained reception staff.
The rooms are also very comfortable and totally as they should be. The swimming pool in the basement is delicious.
Is everything perfect then? Alas no. In the first place, WIFI should be free in 2012. Now it is free in the lobby, but must be paid for in the room.
Secondly, why must the drinks be so ridiculously expensive? A 37.5 cl wine from the minibar for almost EUR 30 ... need i say more?
Lastly: we ate in the dining room of the VIP floor ... both the cooking and the service were completely inadequate.
All in all, a very good hotel - and it does not take much to make it an "excellent" hotel

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adolf P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Tverskaya
Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel
Hotel Savoy Moscow
#155 of 327 in Moscow
794 reviews
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Hotel Metropol Moscow
#10 of 327 in Moscow
3,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tverskaya
Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
The St. Regis Moscow Nikolskaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peter I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peter I

Address: Neglinnaya St., 17, Moscow 127051, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Tverskaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Moscow
#33 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
#35 Romantic Hotel in Moscow
#57 Business Hotel in Moscow
Price Range: $115 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Peter I 5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peter I Hotel is located in the business and cultural center of Moscow just a few steps away from Red Square, Kremlin, St. Basil's Cathedral, the Bolshoi and Maly theaters and many other attractions of the capital. There are many metro stations near Peter I hotel: Kuznetsky Most, Okhotny Ryad, Trubnaya, Tsvetnoy bulvar. Peter I Hotel provides a full range of facilities for business and leisure: business center, conference halls, fitness center with pool, beauty salon, restaurant Romanov (Russian & European cuisine) and lobby bar. A generous buffet breakfast is served every morning at Romanov restaurant of Peter I hotel. The Lobby bar of Peter I Hotel is open 24 hours and offers the guests a wide selection of appetizers and salads, sandwiches, desserts and drinks. The Lobby bar is decorated with a luxurious white piano which complements the evening cosy atmosphere with the sounds of live music. VIP lounge is on the top floor of the hotel offers tea, coffee, pastry, fruits, light drinks and snacks for a day. Free Wi-Fi Internet service is available 24-hours in all hotel areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Peter I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peter 1 Hotel
Peter 1 Moscow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing