We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst 'hostel ever”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moscow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Home from Home Hostel
Ranked #683 of 1,628 Specialty Lodging in Moscow
Reviewed July 21, 2008

Although we paid a deposit when we arrived all they had left was a more expensive room. We chose the hostel for the free Wi-Fi but the manager told us he couldn't give us the password until the next day (24 hr reception advertised). We were unable to use the 1, slow computer after waiting ~5hrs. The advertised common room was being used as a dorm & the kitchen had nowhere to prepare food, no hotplate or stove for cooking, not enough cups, or utensils & the only sink in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank koshkakot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 25 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2008

even if the building is really old, even if the rooms are small and beds uncomfortable, I would definitily come back, this place is funny, typical russian apartment ( kind of a "komunalka") , you're free to do what you like, the staff is nice, you have the keys and can come back whenever you want. nice place.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank carpaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2008

We stayed here for only 2 nights and the only thing I can say is - thank god it was only for 2 nights!

I really don't know where to start by criticising this hostel. Firstly - think squat rather than hostel, secondly, screaming teenagers running around at all hours do not bode well for a good night's sleep, thirdly, forget health and safety regulations (showers that come off the wall whilst in them/sinks coming off the wall), privacy or any remote kind of civilisation at the Home from Home hostel in Moscow. I am sure this place is used for other purposes but I will not say what on here.

Breakfast consists of having to scrounge your way through a tiny reception where you will have to retrieve your cereal out of a cupboard or rummage around for biscuits on a table, should you fancy one.

There is a cleaner there who seems to do no work and merely entertains herself there by speaking loudly on her mobile at all times or turning up outside your door well in to the early hours of the morning.

The only good thing about this hostel is that it is near a metro stop (only a few minutes walk), which only a stop away finds you at the Red Square. Make sure you go to the right metro entrance though as there are 2. One will have you demented with the back and forth run and the other will take you where you want to be.

In addition, we were conned by the staff there who overcharged us by £7.00 just because we did not pay in US dollars (they saw it as an opportunity to fleece you due to the conversion rate from US dollars to rubles, so they say. Paying in their native currency, which we did, gave them a chance to fleece us. They do not have credit card machine facilities either....

We were meant to be staying in Sweet Moscow hostel but they don't tell you when you book it that they will put you in another if they feel like it - hence our horrendous stay in Home from Home!

I did not expect The Ritz hotel but nor did I expect squalor either.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank XenaWarriorPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Maíra Á
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TicaLinda87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hatshet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xavier_vill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Patriarch Ponds
Mayakovka House
Mayakovka House
#8 of 617 in Moscow
122 reviews
Sayany Hotel
#211 of 327 in Moscow
103 reviews
Maxima Slavia
#96 of 327 in Moscow
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home from Home Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home from Home Hostel

Address: Arbat | House 49, Entrance 2, Moscow, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Arbat
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #683 of 1,628 Specialty Lodging in Moscow
Price Range: $18 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Moscow, our hostel is on the 2nd floor of an original 1900s building in the Old Arbat. This street is the most famous walking street of the Russian Capital. There, you can feel the Russian Bohemian Atmosphere. Only 10 minutes by walk from the Kremlin and Red Square. Our hostel has 12 comfortable rooms, a common place with TV, WIFI and a Kitchen. Two new bathrooms with 5 showers and 4 toilets. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing