We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveler rating
1
2
5
1
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1
2
5
1
16
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 25 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2008

even if the building is really old, even if the rooms are small and beds uncomfortable, I would definitily come back, this place is funny, typical russian apartment ( kind of a "komunalka") , you're free to do what you like, the staff is nice, you have the keys and can come back whenever you want. nice place.

Date of stay: December 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank carpaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 19, 2008

We stayed here for only 2 nights and the only thing I can say is - thank god it was only for 2 nights!

I really don't know where to start by criticising this hostel. Firstly - think squat rather than hostel, secondly, screaming teenagers running around at all hours do not bode well for a good night's sleep, thirdly, forget health and safety regulations (showers that come off the wall whilst in them/sinks coming off the wall), privacy or any remote kind of civilisation at the Home from Home hostel in Moscow. I am sure this place is used for other purposes but I will not say what on here.

Breakfast consists of having to scrounge your way through a tiny reception where you will have to retrieve your cereal out of a cupboard or rummage around for biscuits on a table, should you fancy one.

There is a cleaner there who seems to do no work and merely entertains herself there by speaking loudly on her mobile at all times or turning up outside your door well in to the early hours of the morning.

The only good thing about this hostel is that it is near a metro stop (only a few minutes walk), which only a stop away finds you at the Red Square. Make sure you go to the right metro entrance though as there are 2. One will have you demented with the back and forth run and the other will take you where you want to be.

In addition, we were conned by the staff there who overcharged us by £7.00 just because we did not pay in US dollars (they saw it as an opportunity to fleece you due to the conversion rate from US dollars to rubles, so they say. Paying in their native currency, which we did, gave them a chance to fleece us. They do not have credit card machine facilities either....

We were meant to be staying in Sweet Moscow hostel but they don't tell you when you book it that they will put you in another if they feel like it - hence our horrendous stay in Home from Home!

I did not expect The Ritz hotel but nor did I expect squalor either.

Date of stay: February 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank luxury4u2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 8, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2014
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 4, 2012
Google Translation

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 30, 2011
Google Translation

Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews