We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moscow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Home from Home Hostel
Ranked #675 of 1,589 Specialty Lodging in Moscow
Reviewed February 1, 2012

I have stayed in hostels all around Europe, and yet this place managed to astound me with how horrible it was. We arrived very early in the am and had booked the night before, but when we arrived the room was not available and we had to wait for the (nice) guy at the desk to make it up for us.

The biggest issue is that the other people staying at the hostel were very rude and noisy, and the extremely thin walls made it possible to hear everything. There was a gaggle of young (15, 16) Russian dancers who were living in the hostel permanently and would sit around the minute common area watching TV and making out. EW. And then when we tried to move downstairs to a nicer room, there was a couple having sex so loudly that you could hear it from their room.

The only good things: it's a nice location, and the heat worked well, which was very necessary in the Moscow winter.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rachel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 25 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2011

Home from Home changed our reservation to Monro hostel without our authorization! The place was dirty, noisy, and under construction. It was awful!!!! and we could not rest at all. Monro hostel was under construction when we got there. the place was a mess and there was noise constantly from the day we got there. The building was falling apart as you can see from the pictures below. The second night, they were removing construction materials from right below where our window was at 1:30 in the morning. Others in the hostel were also awakened and upset with the construction work. We asked for a refund of our money for the second night which they denied. We sent an email to the company expressing our disatisfaction and never got a response. In our opinion, the people owning these hostels were very irresponsible and disrespectful to their guests. Please don't go there!!!! you will be sorry!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jensanchez51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

I can't understand the bad reviews?! The receptionists were great - in particular Alina is super helpful. There's a great vibe its incredible value and right at the centre of town. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justinbart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Althogh we have booked our room (6pax) two months before our arrival, when we arrived at the Hostel, our room was already booked. After half an hour arguing through a goggle translator (no English speaking!!), we managed a "room", yeah a room without key, lookers or any kind of security. At 8 a.m next day, a guy entered into the room to pick up their clothes (no privacy, no respect!), our last day a men entered into the room with brick in the arms (again no privacy!!). The room was so small that there were no space to open your luggage. One of the bunks has no stair, so we literally had to jump from one bed to another!! Only positive thing was the shower: clean and big :-). If you decide to stay there, just take it with a smile.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kryzztyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

We arrived there at 22h o' clock after being on route all day and they informed us that our room was not available. Due to a problem with one of the other hostels they had, they were re-arriging rooms and putting up beds. Not much explanation or help from the people of the hotel who didn't really care, except for one French girl who was working there and helped us find another hostel.

We were luckily able to find another hostel in the middle of the night, thanks to help from other backpackers who couldn't leave Home from Home, because they already paid and couldn't get their money back.

I strongly suggest all backpackers to find another hostel that is more reliable.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BelgianBackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

We booked online, paid a deposit. However this meant nothing,since there were no beds available for us when we arrived even though we were told by the manager that he would 'find' beds for us, 6 other people had the same problem as us. Don't waste your time coming here!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarnMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

I was booked in the Pushkinn hostel but the hostel's electricity and water were cut off.

I have no choice but have to look for hostel nearby at Arbat Street after a long tiring night train from St Petersburg. I managed to get this hostel number from the travel guide and was glad that there was a room available. Shower and kitchen facilities nothing to shout about but at least it has all the necessary facilities that I required for a short two nights stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DennisLim74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Arbat
Love Hotel Treffen
Love Hotel Treffen
#48 of 604 in Moscow
3 reviews
Arbat
Bulgakov Hostel
Bulgakov Hostel
#422 of 1,589 in Moscow
104 reviews
Sayany Hotel
#210 of 327 in Moscow
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Patriarch Ponds
Mayakovka House
Mayakovka House
#6 of 604 in Moscow
120 reviews
Maxima Slavia
#91 of 327 in Moscow
165 reviews
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Hotel Metropol Moscow
#10 of 327 in Moscow
3,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home from Home Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home from Home Hostel

Address: Arbat | House 49, Entrance 2, Moscow, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Arbat
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #675 of 1,589 Specialty Lodging in Moscow
Price Range: $18 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Moscow, our hostel is on the 2nd floor of an original 1900s building in the Old Arbat. This street is the most famous walking street of the Russian Capital. There, you can feel the Russian Bohemian Atmosphere. Only 10 minutes by walk from the Kremlin and Red Square. Our hostel has 12 comfortable rooms, a common place with TV, WIFI and a Kitchen. Two new bathrooms with 5 showers and 4 toilets. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing