We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Moscow Sokolniki
Ranked #26 of 328 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I stayed for three nights in December. I returned here as it is good value for money and I felt a good chance it would be consistent.

I would reiterate from other reviews a great location - metro and supermarket right opposite. The metro in to Red Square is fast and easy.

I also love the local restaurants - one is an Uzbek place where as a solo diner I felt very relaxed. There is also a brew pub restaurant next to this - both 5 minutes or less from reception.

The rooms are modern and comfortable, if not luxurious. TVs are a bit old school, but you can't complain about that..

The staff were always helpful to me.

Great place for when watching the budget but wanting to be comfortable.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
Thank TheTravellingToad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalia_Kabaeva, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Moscow Sokolniki, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you for your nice review! We hope to see you soon again in our hotel!

sincerely,
Natalia K.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

249 - 255 of 1,249 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2014

My daughter & I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn, Sokolniki as part of an organised City Trip. I was a little apprehensive about this hotel due to other reviews I had read. I can only say that for us there were no complaints. We stayed 3 nights & although the Hotel is situated outside the City centre, it was only 6 stops to Red Square by Metro, so we were there in less than 10 mins. The metro station is located opposite the hotel so very accessible and trains run every couple of mins.
The breakfast was served in the large restaurant on the second floor, there were no problems finding a table and we never had to wait for the lift. The breakfast itself was excellent, serving everything from fresh fruit & cereals to full english.....pretty much anything you wanted and staff were very attentive when it came to clearing up...in fact you could say almost too conscientious, we had to hold onto our plates on a couple of occasions for fear of having the food taken away before we could enjoy it. Generally speaking the hotel staff were very helpful and the overall standard of the hotel very good. I think it was excellent value for the standard & location and would not hesitate to recommend it as a good place to base yourself if you are visiting Moscow.

There are quite a few shops & restaurants nearby for anyone wishing to pick up supplies or eat out for dinner. In particular an excellent Labanese restaurant although it should be mentioned that there were No "No Smoking" areas which I did find annoying but that's how it is in Moscow.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 8th floor but to be honest, there's not a lot to see other than the streets on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TessieOz30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalia_Kabaeva, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Moscow Sokolniki, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It's nice to hear that your stay was comfortable for you and your daughter. We are committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.
Sincerely,
Natalia K.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

First of all, I rated average due to price/benefit ratio... (if it was not situated next to a metro station I'd give 1)
situated a bit far from the city center but close to a metro station (sokolniki - 1st line) 6 station away from Red Square. Nevertheless, neighbourhood is not touristic, there are just few options for dinner, nothing to see...
service is in acceptable level, unless you don't need a pair of slippers in your hotel room... (if you need them you must go down to reception and PAY for it then you might have'em) likewise bottle of water...
it is expensive but keep in your mind we are in Moscow, what is not?
you can enjoy free wifi (slow) and fitness. breakfast is also tasty and have wide choice.
there is a nice park very close to hotel but, if you travel for business, you might not have any eager to visit a forest :)

last information: if you use your credit card to secure your stay, make sure that they release the provision after your bill is charged to your CCard. otherwise your credit limit will be used twice and you'll have a looong discussions before solving the issue.

Room Tip: back side rooms are more quite, but make sure that doors are fully closing, it might be chilly :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cnkyldrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Moscow Sokolniki, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear cnkyldrm,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the area surrounding the hotel prevented you from fully enjoying your visit. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Hotel is at a convenient location, around 7 kms from the city center/ Kremlin. Rooms were clean and met all the basic requirements. like Free WiFI (specially if you are travelling from a different country), Coffee maker, Reading lights, enough charging points, etc. Washrooms were clean and were maintained well on a daily basis. The staff is very friendly and helpful (House keeping, Reception, gym, pool). If you are there for a long stay then there is Sokolniki Park around 300m from the hotel. It is well connected with Sokolniki Metro Station on the other side of the road. Tram/ Bus trolley connectivity is also good. Morning break fast has a lot of options for both vegeterian and non-vegeterians.
All in all.. nice place.. will like to visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on east side so that you have a partial view of the road and partial view of a church...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vikash_Parmanandka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 6 nights this month. The hotel is located in a nice area with some shopping and huge park nearby. You can also find a pseudo-Chinese restaurant and an Italian place nearby. Otherwise as noted by others there is a mcdonalds next door, which is perpetually crowded. Note the area is not a touristy one so most people dont speak english. The McDonalds has a laminated menu in English - ask for it. The other place i ate at - Mu Mu (across the road) is cafe style where you can point to food items you want.
The rooms are big and comfy, and bedding adequate. The iron is attached to an old Corby press wiht a tiny ironing board. this could be better. Sound proofing is excellent. There was an old 20 inch CRT style TV in the room with sub par picture quality. Most hotels on that level have moved to LCD/Plasma by now. wireless internet connection was good.
the washroom was well stocked and clean. for the first 2 nights the cleaning staff forgot to leave soap - i had to track them down and get that.
The hotel breakfast, at 1100 Rubles (about $45), is not worth the price. For that you get scrambled and boiled eggs, some beans, cheese, cold cuts, salad and some bread. pretty much what you would get for free at a 1 star motel breakfast. for that kind of money i would have expected something far better. if you can - go somewhere else for bkfast.
There is a gym attached to the hotel complex. Its well equipped and has an indoor pool as well.
As with other places in Russia, the staff haven't got the idea of service yet. They try, but you get the feeling they would rather not be talking to customers. Nothing remotely close to the sort of service you would get in south east asia for example.

Room Tip: high as possible. the view is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naeemsiddiqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

This is an excellent hotel for a long weekend in Moscow.
The hotel is extremely modern, is spotlessly clean and neat in every direction. The public rooms are large and airy and warm (especially useful in Winter!).
The bedrooms (we were on 21st floor of 25) were warm welcoming and had all mod cons although the TVs were looking slightly dated.
The restaurants were again spotless and neat and attractive with many staff to attend to requirements. The bar (which also serves food) is attractive and had several screens and there is another restaurant on the 25th floor. There are several restaurants available nearby. There is a swimming pool and spa facility but we did not take advantage on this occasion.

The hotel is idealy situated directly across the road from the Soloniki Metro station and with trains every 2 minutes, one can be in the centre of Moscow in less than 10 minutes. If anything the Russian mentality of strict adherence to rules can be a little disturbing but all in all this is a good place to stay when visiting Moscow.

Room Tip: A room on the front of the hotel will provide the most interesting views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golferofsaddleworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised at my stay here, staff were very helpful and the hotel interior was better than most holiday inn's I have been to.

The staff helped us book an opera show at a great price, there was some construction work going on but it did not disturb our stay here. There was wi-fi in the rooms but not at the reception, lobby etc. The breakfast had variety and was more than sufficient. The location was good with a tube service nearby as a superstore and shopping centre.

Overall a good stay :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sidhra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Philistine
Holiday Inn Moscow Suschevsky
Presnensky
Novotel Moscow City
Novotel Moscow City
#21 of 328 in Moscow
1,274 reviews
Borodino Hotel
#38 of 328 in Moscow
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Philistine
AZIMUT Hotel Olympic Moscow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Moscow Sokolniki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Moscow Sokolniki

Address: Rusakovskaya St., 24, Moscow 107014, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
#29 Business Hotel in Moscow
Price Range: $51 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Moscow Sokolniki 4*
Number of rooms: 523
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Moscow Sokolniki hotel is a high value for money Moscow hotel located a few minutes drive from the city centre. It is a great choice for business and leisure travellers. Famous attractions, business quarters and international exhibition centers are easily accessible by car or metro from Sokolniki Moscow metro station being within a 2 minutes walk. Close to the hotel are major sport facilities. All 523 spacious rooms are equipped with a fully fitted bathroom, in-room safe, satellite and pay TV, mini-bar, tea and coffee facilities, air conditioning. High Speed Internet and WiFi are accessible in the entire building. Holiday Inn Moscow Sokolniki hotel guests can enjoy free fitness centre with a modern gym, sauna and swimming pool. Our 16 conference rooms are equipped with the most up-to-date facilities and are a perfect venue to host seminars and conferences from 10 up to 800 people. The 5 restaurants and bars cater to all needs and tastes from fine dining in ANT-25, a restaurant located on the 25th floor with fascinating view of Moscow, a restaurant Moskva for up to 450 persons, an elegant lobby bar Atrium, sophisticated Wine Garden restaurant to Luzhniki bar & grill with sport events broadcast on a big screen. Holiday Inn Moscow Sokolniki hotel features free guarded parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Moscow Sokolniki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Moscow Sokolniki Hotel Moscow
Moscow Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing