We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, nice room, very poor service,”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Moscow
Ranked #9 of 331 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2010

It would have been a nice hotel stay if the service had been at least average. The staff was usually (but not always) nice but the hotel was so crowded and the number of employees so low that it wasn't even close to the Ritz-Carlton's that I've stayed at before. Far below average. And the lack of English speakers was amazing. I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hal013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,723)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

857 - 863 of 1,723 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2010

the ritz-carlton,moscow is the best place if you have to impress your clients or business partners. Great style, great people,great service! You will always get what you wish to get!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gavrilov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

The Ritz Carlton is certainly one of the leading hotels in Moscow. Very nice interior, wonderful rooms and just a few minutes walk to the red square. I cant really comment on the room rates as a I had a special company rate, the normal rates are pretty expensive.
Moscow is expensive of course, but the prices of the minibar were outragous. 30 Euro for 5 cl of Whiskey, 16 Euro for a Chocolate !
Godd recommendation for business travellors or those who do not care about prices.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beaverK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

Very relaxed and comfortable. Friendly/helpful staff. I stayed on the 10th floor with access to the executive longe which is very impressive for quality, service and views over the Kremlin

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGR333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

My friend and I decided to splurge on our trip to Moscow and chose to stay at the Ritz-Carlton. I've been to a couple others and this one was missing something. The service standards are much lower than those of the other Ritz Carlton hotels. The rooms were outstanding for what I expected. I've been traveling around Europe and most of the hotel rooms have been about the size of the bathroom at the Ritz. I enjoyed the fact that there was a separate tub and shower, as well as a separate toilet area. The website claims to have Bvlgari bath products, but it didn't. The room had a robe, but did not have the slippers to go with it. It's ok, I can handle walking on the marble floors ;-) The bathroom was extremely nice. I enjoyed the view from my room. I was able to see the Kremlin and it wasn't blocked by any other buildings. The blackout curtains worked perfectly and I enjoyed the touch screen remote to control the curtains, lights, maid service, and privacy settings. The O2 bar on the roof was a nice touch. You can see most everything and if it's cold outside, you can go inside and still have great views!

Would I stay there again? Most definitely. The location is perfect and the amenities were nice. The only thing that it was lacking was the service standards of the other Ritz hotels. The gentleman that drove us to the airport, hired by the Ritz, stated that is common in Moscow. He stated most people don't know good service and therefore, can't give it. I partially agree, but at the same time, they can learn. If they work on that, they will be an OUTSTANDING hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2010

My hope that Moscow finally has found a real luxury hotel was not fulfilled. Maybe someday a Four Seasons Moscow will get it right. Ritz-Carlton once again fail to meet my expectations at new overseas hotels, just as in Istanbul and Berlin. The architecture (outside, lobby, rooms) is particularly weak and the finishing is not really high-end. The only highlight of the hotel is the rooftop o2-Bar. Service is still a little more Russian than Ritzy, but I don't mind adapting to that. My personal favourite was the large Louvre shop on the lobby level which provides a selection of luxury products, hardly on display anywhere else in the world. While waiting for a true Nr. 1 - Hotel in Moscow, I would probably still go for the best price-benefit-ratio in tasteful, classical surroundings at ... the Savoy Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrophyCollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

My stay at the Ritz-Carlton was a business one originally for 2 nights which extended to 3 and all I can say is thank you I'm not the one paying for each night for this is easily the grandest, nicest but equally most expensive hotel I have ever stayed in.

Getting to the hotel is reasonably simple, we flew in from Domodedovo so took a train to Paveletskaya and from the Metro its 2 stops to Teatrainaya and if you choose the right exit it should just be a short walk from the exit down Tverskaya Street. This is the busiest street in Moscow so I am told so expect the station to be full especially at rush hour.

Once in you can't help but notice the hotel is something special immediately with the lobby immaculately lavish, a private dining area decorated with seriously expensive wines and spirits tucked round the corner, you can sense thew money oozing out. Checking in was revelatively pain free and took no more than a few minutes before beeing given the key card and sent up the lifts. The real bonus which I was not expecting was the complimentary wi-fi which they give you on your access pass on checkin and getting connected was stress free and this was used a lot during the stay.

The room I had overlooked the inner courtyard and was massive. Huge super king size bed, automatic controils for lights, curtains, room service, very high tec. Bathroom was split in 3 where you have a wet room, toilet in another and finally the sink area all spearate from each other and all glassed off. Full complimentary soaps, dressing gown.........even a complimentary chocolate cavier sample too. The bed was super comfortable and had no problems whatsoever falling asleep.

Breakfast was not included in the price of the room and do remember it came at a pretty hefty price but it was a full spread of pastries, bread, hot food, eggs cooked the way you want, a very nice buffet in a very dark yet refined setting. There were other restaurants in the hotel but we chosse not to eat there.

When my stay was extended by an evening I had already checked out and got a different room which has to be said was no where near as good and a lot smaller so it does look like the rooms can vary depending on where they are. I think the latter room was closer to the smoking area as there did seem a stale smoke smell coming through.

All in all and this is judged on the first 2 nights, this hotel is amazing and I wished I could stay longeer but only if someone lese is paying as it was coming in at almost £300 per night when you added breakfast on. I think that is the kind of price that seems the norm in Moscow so will be reserving any return trips as business only.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colinrchorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Four Seasons Hotel Moscow
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
The St. Regis Moscow Nikolskaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Hotel Metropol Moscow
#10 of 331 in Moscow
3,394 reviews
Tverskaya
Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Arbat
Lotte Hotel Moscow
Lotte Hotel Moscow
#1 of 331 in Moscow
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Moscow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Moscow

Address: Tverskaya St., 3, Moscow 125009, Russia (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Moscow)
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Tverskaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Moscow
#5 Spa Hotel in Moscow
#6 Family Hotel in Moscow
#9 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
#10 Romantic Hotel in Moscow
Price Range: $369 - $686 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Moscow 5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off the Red Square, next to the Kremlin, in the heart of cultural and business center of Russia's capital, The Ritz-Carlton, Moscow features the largest guest rooms and suites providing cutting edge technological amenities. The hotel in Moscow, Russia offers a string of luxurious amenities including world-class dining options - O2 Lounge with summer terrace on the 12th floor with breathtaking panoramic view over the Kremlin and Red Square, Cafe Russe presentic European cuisine and some Russian highlights, Pan-Asian restaurant Novikov Restaurant & Bar, a beauty salon, barber spa, Fitness Center and spacious full-service The Ritz-Carlton Spa featuring 14 treatment rooms, as well as a heated indoor pool, hot tub, sauna and steam rooms. With more than 1,100 square meters / 11,436 square feet of meeting space including the Ballroom accommodating events of up to 700 guests, The Ritz-Carlton, Moscow will welcome attendees in style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Moscow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Hotel Moscow
Moscow Ritz Carlton
Ritz Moscow
Ritz-Carlton Moscow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing