We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, location, and style”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Moscow
Ranked #9 of 316 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Newport Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
366 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,220 helpful votes
“Excellent service, location, and style”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

My husband and I just returned from 2 weeks in Moscow (4 nights), Denmark/Germany, and London both for work and pleasure. We spent our first 4 nights in Moscow at the Ritz after having canceled our original reservation at the Ararat Park Hyatt due to the slate of anti-gay laws passed after your booking. In the end, we decided to go, anyway, and ended up with a Superior room at the Ritz using our Marriott points. As Marriott Gold, we expected to get upgraded, but they hotel was full on our arrival. They did offer to upgrade us the next day, but the upgraded deluxe room was essentially the same as ours with a bigger window but not as nice a view--so we passed.

The hotel is well located just a few blocks walking distance from the entrance to Red Square and the Kremlin. From our room window, we could see across rooftops the Kremlin and St. Basil's Cathedral, so we were pleased.

Our superior room was spacious for a regular room, and the shower was enormous. It was decorated in that Euro traditional style that isn't our favorite, but it was well executed still. Service in the hotel was top-drawer; the only service weakness we experienced were a few delays in service at the breakfast restaurant or the O2 Lounge.

As is typical for Moscow, prices were high. A lemonade in the lobby cost me $25. Coffee was $12. But if you come to Moscow and don't expect this, then you haven't done your research.

The O2 Lounge was cool, though less spacious than I would have though in terms of seating options. We had drinks there before dinner with views onto the Red Square/Kremlin, and dinner in the main Lounge on the opposite side closest to the bar. Both were delicious. Service was friendly, but sometimes a bit distracted. It occasionally took a few hand signals to get the attention of our server. Otherwise, good service.

The regular breakfast/dinner restaurant was good. Breakfasts were always good, if not great. Service was usually good. Dinner in the same restaurant had good service but just solid food. Dining out at the best restaurants in town certainly put the hotel restaurant in its place (e.g. Pushkin and Varvary, see separate reviews). Dinner at O2 Lounge certainly seemed better, since it was essentially the same menu.

Through the Ritz concierge, we had arranged our dinners at Varvary, Pushkin, and Bolshoi, as well as our one day tour with a private guide through the Red Square/Kremlin and some metro stations. Having an English guide was VERY helpful, since everything is marked in Russian and not easy to decipher. None of our taxi drivers spoke English, but were friendly and happy to read the addresses we brought with us when needed.

We did take time to visit the Ararat Park Hyatt during our stay...and must confess that it was a better choice for us. Its modern, chic style in its basic and suite rooms were definitely more to our taste. It was a little bit a walk from the Ritz, maybe 10 minutes, so not too far away from the Kremlin/Red Square, but was basically next to the Bolshoi Theater and the TSUM shopping center (the better of the main 2 if you ask us!). We didn't afford ourselves of much service at the PH, but the nice lady who showed us to the different room categories certainly was very helpful.

You can't go wrong with either the Park Hyatt or the Ritz. The new Four Seasons will open next year adjacent to the Kremlin, just a block from the Ritz, so that will provide yet another excellent option. If we were to return, we would opt for the Park Hyatt or take a chance on the Four Seasons--since we tend to prefer FS over Ritz in most places. That being said, the Ritz Moscow is a worthy property for a luxury stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,156
    287
    76
    34
    31
See reviews for
167
387
93
706
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo, Brasil
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I just got back for a weekend at Hitz Carlton Hotel in Moscow. We got this hotel because of its location. We were almost settled at the Red Square. Also the concierge of the hotel was helpful and arranged everything for us. I would advise you to take a private guide (at least for the first day). The hotel terrace has a nice view of the Kremlin and of the Red Square. I watched one of the best sunsets ever. The breakfast was good too. What I did not like was that the window of our room was too small and we had not a proper view of the street (and that means we could not see the Red Square or Moscow from our room).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCM1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My second stay at the Ritz Carlton in Moscow and it is impeccable. The location is unbeatable - just cross the underpass and you are at the Red Square. The Hotel is plush and luxurious. Loved my room - large with a view of the Moscow Skyline. Asprey toiletries and marbled bathroom. Fantastic spa - I used the steam, sauna and relaxation room. The downside - none really. It is very pricey but that's true for Moscow generally. Top tip: Don't miss going to the hotel's rooftop O2 bar - fab view of the Red Square and great atmospgere, very hip and trendy! All in, THE place to live it up in Moscow.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the Red Square are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Del78Lon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomsk, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Excellent hotel in an excellent location. There is just so much to do in central Moscow but I barely left the hotel in many days. From the spa and pool in the basement to the rooftop bar there was enough choice of activities from relaxing to exciting that I was not tempted out of the hotel, despite so much to do in this amazing city that is right on the doorstep. The Club lounge for me is a must. There is an excellent view of so much beauty and history from the balcony. I love to unwind here and let my memories and imagination take away.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Anya_Lostboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in a great location and if it's within your budget to stay here I would definitely recommend it.

My only disappointment is that the executive studio suites only have a view over the courtyard, where the better city view only comes with the smaller standard rooms, unless you go for the more expensive suites of course.

The staff were generally very friendly and helpful. Bed was very comfortable.

Room Tip: Courtyard view is quite boring!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights. The room faced an inner courtyard that was roofed, and dark. Other than that, no complaints about the room, it was all wonderful, but it felt like a wonderful albeit stuffy cave! We could not open any windows, and fresh air was unobtainable. That said, the room itself was very well appointed, and who there was a small glitch, service was speedy.
For breakfast the first morning we were met at the ale actor and guided to the bar. It smelled extremely smoky, everything (including coffee, tea, juices) was self service, and pre-made. Maybe we are spoiled from our stays at the Grand America in Salt Lake City, but this was not a five star breakfast experience, especially not for the astronomical price charged.

Unless I could be assured a room facing the street, I would not return!

Room Tip: Again, make sure you get a room that faces the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alida S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed at the Ritz for a week and the whole experience was great! Staff were friendly and location was central. My room had the view directly to the Kremlin which was amazing. Loved the breakfast and the rooftop bar. Pricey but worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAIVITItravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Hotel Metropol Moscow
#10 of 316 in Moscow
3,023 reviews
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Four Seasons Hotel Moscow
Tverskaya
Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
The St. Regis Moscow Nikolskaya
Arbat
Lotte Hotel Moscow
Lotte Hotel Moscow
#1 of 316 in Moscow
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Moscow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Moscow

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Moscow
Address: Tverskaya St., 3, Moscow 125009, Russia (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Moscow)
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Tverskaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Moscow
#5 Spa Hotel in Moscow
#9 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
#10 Romantic Hotel in Moscow
#13 Family Hotel in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Moscow 5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off the Red Square, next to the Kremlin, in the heart of cultural and business center of Russia's capital, The Ritz-Carlton, Moscow features the largest guest rooms and suites providing cutting edge technological amenities. The hotel offers a string of luxurious amenities including world-class dining options - O2 Lounge with summer terrace on the 12th floor with breathtaking panoramic view over the Kremlin and Red Square, Café Russe presentic European cuisine and some Russian highlights, Pan-Asian restaurant Novikov Restaurant & Bar, a beauty salon, barber spa, Fitness Center and spacious full-service The Ritz-Carlton Spa featuring 14 treatment rooms, as well as a heated indoor pool, hot tub, sauna and steam rooms. With more than 1,100 square meters / 11,436 square feet of meeting space including the Ballroom accommodating events of up to 700 guests, The Ritz-Carlton, Moscow will welcome attendees in style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Moscow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Hotel Moscow
Moscow Ritz Carlton
Ritz Moscow
Ritz-Carlton Moscow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing