We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!”
Review of Maxima Irbis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Maxima Irbis Hotel
Ranked #109 of 316 Hotels in Moscow
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Never again!”
Reviewed August 31, 2008

We just recently stayed at this hotel from the 13th to 16th of August and I'd like to share our experience. The initial selection was based on price and location. I wanted a balance of reasonable price (not cheap and nasty) and convenient location. I checked this hotel, read reviews and decided to book. Another bonus was that it was part of a chain, so this should provide some level of accountablility. We got to the hotel after taking the metro and after having some difficulty finding our way (our fault not the hotels) got to the hotel. It IS easily accessible via Metro and is quick to get into the centre to do site seeing. Plus you get the added value or at least we thought so, of riding the Moscow Metro and checking out the stations along the way (we loved that). Initial check in was ok by a girl with a 'Trainee' tag on. We had requested a Non-smoking room well in advance and had guaranteed our room which in itself was a dodgey process. They requested a photocopy of our passport and credit card front and back and also the signed form giving authorization to charge 1 night if we were a no show.I worked in the Hotel industry for 10+ years and was a Front Office Manager and I've never heard of asking for CC and passport copies before and was hesitant in providing these BUT did it to get the room guaranteed, we'll see how that turns out. So desk staff seemed friendly on check in and we got to our Non Smoking room on the 3rd floor. First thing that was strange was our floor reeked of cigarette smoke. I mean it was strong. Our room however was smoke free but had been smoked in before, the cigarette burns on the bed spread was testiment to that. There was also an ashtray with matches in the room, odd for a "Non Smoking" room to have. Room was not immaculately clean but very acceptable, bathroom was nice and shower was great with lots of hot water during our whole stay. I spent a bit of time looking for the climate controls for the room then gave up and opened the window. There were no insect screens so we didn't open it too far to keep flys and mosquitos to a minimum. We ate dinner that night in the restaurant and were served by a very nice waiter who was good at his job. Food that night was fine. Our sleep that night was not. The mattress was brutal. Thin, hard and left us feeling beat up the next morning. I'm sure I'd have been just as comfortable on the floor. The pillows were no better. They were bags of something, provided zero loft, and gave no support for a head. Come to think of it I had a couple of thick travel guide books with me, I should have used those. Any hotel with an ounce of common sense will know a comfortable sleep is THE most important part of a stay. Buy some decent bedding and not stuff that seems like it came from a Communist era hotel during Stalin's rule.
That same night we swealtered in that room. There was a thermometer inside the room which read 26 degrees celcius that's 79 fahrenheit. It was cooler in the smoke filled corridor outside our room as that was air conditioned, our room was not! That explained why I couldn't find the climate controls. Next morning we had our breakfast which was included, acceptable, then went to see the front desk to ask about air conditioning. He told us we did not have any and we asked to move to one that did. We were leaving right away to line up for Lenin's Tomb as we only had THAT day to see it. He asked if we wanted to move right now but as we needed to head out, we said we'd be back later to do it when we came back to pick up our camera's and daypack (can't take that into Lenin's Tomb).
Got back just after lunch and asked the girl on the desk about moving now. She was the same one that checked us in and we were told there was no rooms with AC right now, please check later. Strange, as there was one just that morning and the desk clerk made notes about our request. We would be back around 6pm so no problem. We asked if there was one we'd get it held and were assured it would. SO, later, around 6PM we arrive back to be told there are none available we cannot move. So there WAS one that morning but not now. What annoyed me most was not the fact that I couldn't move, but that I was told I could, no problem we have a room, by one staff member then no there was nothing by another. I had requested it at approx 8am that morning. As a side note, this is 2008. Put climate controls in ALL your rooms.
Dinner on our last night was in the hotel again and this time the food and service was the opposite of our first night. Slow, food not so good and our beer was cloudy and tasted nasty. The beer was a lager so should be crisp and clear. Last time I saw this was when I worked in a pub in London UK and the manager would pour spillage and dregs from the taps back into the beer keg at night.
So we had 3 hot restless nights in Moscow but got to see everything we wanted including alot of those great Metro stations.

I think the rating of 3 stars for this hotel is far from deserved. It seems like a 1 star chain trying to be a 3 star and falling very short of the mark. If Maxima would like to know how to provide for guests please check the Valka Hotels Group in St Petersburg. We stayed at their Comfort Hotel for 4 nights and it was outstanding. I will be posting a review on that one as well.

  • Liked — Metro rides to the hotel
  • Disliked — Bedding uncomfortable, response to requests.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Powderworx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    78
    42
    11
    4
See reviews for
15
40
29
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2008

This hotel is about 30 minutes outside of Moscow, and a 10 minute walk through a potentially sketchy area at night. The hotel’s hallways reeked of smoke as more than half of the hotel consists of smoking rooms. There are, however, a few rooms that are smoke free. The price is definitely cheap relative to most of Moscow, but the distance and smoking detracted from our experience. To top it off, there was no hot water either of the mornings we were there, and at night it was lukewarm at best.

  • Liked — It had a bed
  • Disliked — Smokey, cold shower
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Deltjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2008

The main point is the hotel's location - its about 5 or 6 metro stops from the central/Red Square area - the metro itself is worth exploring, but can be a bit intimidating with the lack of station signs and the alphabet. From the metro station its an interesting walk through the market and across the train tracks, probably about 800m in total from Metro station to hotel. Room was fine; good size, decent bathroom with bath & shower. Clean. Hot & cold breakfast buffet - don't be late ! - they start clearing it up at 10 on the dot. Largish hotel, 5 floors I think. Reasonable restaurant.

  • Liked — Comfortable room
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AandA2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2008

We stayed there for almost a week. This was the only hotel we could aford, and we were quite happy, except with the transfer from Domodjedovo airport, which is on the other side of the city!

Once you're familiar with the tub system, it's OK, but you have to cross some dodgy street (safe though, we came back at past midnight once) to walk to and from the tube station.

The room was clean; some unpleasant smell of half-cooked carbage was emanating in the corridors sometimes, but I've heard it's even worse in some hotels in the city center, for almost 10 times the price we paid!

Staff was pleasant; only the youngest speak English, and most of them were ready to help out.

Frankly, given the price compared to other hotels, it's worse going there.

  • Liked — Good rates, clean room and premices
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OmegasGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalon-sur-Saone, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2008

Well...Not easy to find if you decide to reach the hotel by tub. The room was clean and tidy but nothing more. The restaurant was poor, the breakfast more than average and the waitress not really smilling...

Correct price for such an hotel but you can find much better. If you do not mind walking a bit you can reach the town centre quit easily by tub.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank anastasialaurent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2007

The hotel far exceeded my expectations considering the various reviews and prior experiences visitng Moscow. The staff understood English, was polite, and the check-in/out clerks were friendly (the security / concierge could use lessons on how to smile). An e-mail I sent to the hotel prior to the trip requesting a non-smoking room was immediately replied to and upon my arrival I was pleased to see that such was assigned to me. The free buffett breakfast was superb, allowing one to have a hot healthy meal fit for a king to start the day (kind of ideal considering the 8 hour time shift from the East Coast). The stroll from the metro was nothing significant (5 - 10 minutes) and the little shops along the way were at times useful enabling the purchase of a bottle of water or soda for the road. The hotel is located in a residential area and as such it was nice to overlook grassy parks and see people strolling (all friendly). The only items that were less than superb were the lack of a soap dish in the shower and the bed not being as soft as the beds commonly used in American hotels; however, getting to sleep was never a problem and the firmer character was appreciated.

Bottom-line: The experience was better than a prior stay at the Metropol at one-third the price. The location allowed for a truer appreciation of Moscow with ready access to the city through metro. I would not hesitate to stay at the Irbis the next time I visit Moscow.

  • Liked — met all needs and then some at a price that could not be beat.
  • Disliked — Never understood why the security / concierge never had a smile.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank ea1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2007

Stayed one night at the Maxima Irbis - price we paid was not bad, considering the cost of hotel accomodation in Moscow is very high indeed.

It was about a 15 min walk from the metro which wasn't too bad but if you were to arrive late at night, it would be quite daunting walking to the hotel as although it's brightly lit and bustling at the metro, when you walk to the hotel, there are some patches where there's poor lighting and the surroundings didn't exactly make you feel that safe. However, we walked to the hotel one evening at 10.45pm and we reached the hotel perfectly safely - so probably no need to worry - however, take care and have your wits about you especially if you are on your own.

We didn't venture out to explore the area - it looked like a residential area but apparantly there were a few shops and a bank down the road.

Location wise vs city centre - it was about 30 mins to the Red Square, if you top on a 15 min walk to the tub station, it's a good 45 mins to the centre of town - hence the lower cost.

Breakfast was ok - plenty to eat and considering what we paid, it was pretty reasonable.

Staff were english speaking and efficient with our check in and check out - no problems there.

There's a small bar area where you can sit and have a drink but we were not there for long enough to take advantage of.

Overall - not a bad hotel for it's price - but location could be better.

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Disliked — Location - walk from the metro to the hotel
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LWFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
5.0 mi away
Maxima Slavia
Maxima Slavia
#91 of 316 in Moscow
163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maxima Zarya Hotel
Maxima Zarya Hotel
#99 of 316 in Moscow
300 reviews
7.5 mi away
Alfa Hotel
Alfa Hotel
#43 of 316 in Moscow
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Maxima Panorama Hotel
Maxima Panorama Hotel
#70 of 316 in Moscow
554 reviews
7.4 mi away
Beta Hotel Izmailovo
Beta Hotel Izmailovo
#68 of 316 in Moscow
1,006 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sayany Hotel
Sayany Hotel
#245 of 316 in Moscow
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maxima Irbis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maxima Irbis Hotel

Property: Maxima Irbis Hotel
Address: Gostinichnaya St., 1, Moscow 127106, Russia (Formerly Irbis Hotel)
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Moscow
#67 Business Hotel in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maxima Irbis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maxima Irbis Hotel. Maxima Irbis Hotel is located next to Maxima Zarya Hotel. The Hotel provides 96 rooms of various categories, including 4 outstanding suites, conference services, special offers & benefits. Maxima Irbis Hotel also has a wellness-center with, gym, hammam & professional masseurs. Maxima Irbis Hotel provides everything for a pleasant stay for leisure or a business trip. The All-Russia Exhibition Centre is located nearby. Free Wi-Fi and fresh press are complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maxima Irbis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maxima Irbis Moscow
Maxima Irbis Hotel Moscow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing