We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent budget option in expensive city”
Review of Tourist Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tourist Hotel
Ranked #246 of 316 Hotels in Moscow
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Decent budget option in expensive city”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Huge and slightly dilapidated hotel complex outside central Moscow, which can easily be reached with the metro. Stayed here for one night, en route from St Petersburg to the Transsiberian. Our room was large and clean, slightly old fashioned, but we can't speak for any other rooms (spread out over 7 buildings). Oddly little English spoken by the reception staff.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Johanneke_David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    75
    81
    35
    25
See reviews for
35
51
29
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Branford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just returned from 12 day stay in Moscow. My friend in Moscow booked me in the Hotel Tourist which is absolutely FILTHY! Rooms were so dirty that I had to take Zyrtec to fight off the allergic reaction to the dirt. The smell of decades of cigarette smoke was overwhelming. Maid service consisted of new towels (on some days). Toilets are horrifying. Water pressure is practically non-existent for the showers. The beds are dirty and mattresses sag due to absolutely no inner filling. Rooms were cold (no heat in early October). The morning "free breakfast" was nauseating; it looked ill prepared and their morning coffee was instant Nescafe (which you had to prepare yourself). Absolutely worst hotel experience I have ever had.

This is a hotel from hell. What ever your worst hotel experience has been, it is no where near as bad as this dump. DO NOT STAY HERE!

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Moscow hotels

Bucharest, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

We've stayed here for 3 nights in the summer and I can't really complain. The location was ok, close to the subway station and therefore 15-20 min from the center of Moscow. The room was comfortable and clean. The breakfast was ok. We've also tried the food in the restaurant and found that good and not expensive. It's not a luxury hotel and it does certainly look more like a student dormitory from the outside. Also the guards don't speak English, so be prepared to explain things few times till you get an answer. But it was a good enough hotel to be used as a starting point in discovering Moscow.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tetra29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascona, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
409 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2011

The origins of this hotel are suspicious; an asylum springs to mind. It is far, and the 'campus' consists of several tired buildings; this was #7.

Rooms were clean, thou, and the crammed bathroom, too. Separate beds were basic and particularly narrow. The room was very hot, so the window had to be open all night. The one elevator was out of order most of the time. The stairs were unusually tired. Breakfast buffet was very basic. WiFi existed, at a price (but elementary service).

Language was a real problem, as NO English was spoken by anyone. Taxis took some 20-30 minutes to arrive after booking.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rokkap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

I wouldn't be surprised if the Tourist Hotel was build to accomodate guests to the "Exhibition of Achievements of the National Economy" (VDNKh) in the 1950s of 1960s. This exhibition glorified the achievements of the Soviet Union (the remains of this exhibition can still be seen behind the hotel and it is certainly recommended to pay a visit). Although the days of the Soviet Union are long over, the accomodation and service at Hotel Tourist are still a reminder of that period.

The service at the hotel is bad. Checking-in took us about half an hour even though only one person was in front of us. All kind of bureaucratic procedures had to be performed in slow pace before we were told to which building we could proceed. The ladies behind the desk were at best neutral and hardly able to talk to us in English.

Breakfast was a kind of a funny affair. The kitchen staff couldn't speak any English and they tried to avoid the foreigners as much as possible. Although all Russians had to leave their room number (it at least looked like that), foreigners were left on their own. The only interference we encountered was from the upbeat loud music coming from behind the bar. The food itself was rather unremarkable.

The buildings of the hotel are with their concrete and lack facilities rather unattractive. Also the old fashioned wooden furniture, brown colours and worn out atmosphere is not really my thing. Everything is however clean, including our room and bathroom. The beds are for Russia even comfortable.

The location of the hotel is very good. Close to metro station Botanichesky Sad, it is easy to reach the center of Moscow. A supermarket, drugstore and cafe are conventiently situated just outside the "campus" of the hotel.

All in all I have to say I am rather satisfied with Hotel Tourist. You get a clean hotel room at a conventient location in Moscow for a low price. The service is at best neutral, but after a while you get used to that in Russia.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stayfunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

For your information, we stayed one night in Hotel Tourist while it was around 30-35 degrees outsides.

At check-in the girl at the desk was formal, not-kind, not rude. Being a foreigner the hotel needs to register your visa so they took our passports and told us to pick them up after ten minutes.

Our room was located on the 3rd floor. The elevator unfortunately didn't work the first day in our building, so we had to walk upstairs with our luggage, a pity!

When we opened the door of the room it was very hot inside. There is no Air Conditioning system in the room, except for your windows.

There was showergel and shampoo in the bathroom, towels however were a little bit smelly (clean though). The 'bath-tub' was typical soviet-style, small and dirty, to shower you need to stand in the bath, which is okay. The walls of the bathroom were smelly and dirty. The beds are quite okay for the price you're paying.

After we checked the room we went downstairs to pick up the passports and were told to wait another half hour. (why did they first say 10 minutes?)

During our stay the temperature in the room dropped from 33celcius in the evening to 32celcius in the morning, and it was hard to sleep with such a temperature and the carpet in the room which was stuffy. At 2am we decided to go out and buy some drinks in the neighborhood and the night guard was helpful to direct us to a shop as the bar was closed already.

In the morning the breakfast was a joke for European standards. No bread was available, eggs and pancakes were however. The drinks were standing on the counter and only Orange juice and coffee/tea was available. Orange juice was in a very small can, so if there are many people having breakfast you need to wait a long time.

Location was good: located on a 5/10 minute walk from Botanichesky Sad metro station that leads you in 15 minutes to the center of the city.

Positive: Location
Negative: Extremely hot in the room when it's warm outsides, dirty bathroom, stuffy room

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robinho87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

We were staying here during summer; it was extremely hot; in room temperature during the night was > 32 degrees Celsius.
Bathroom has not been renovated since mid 60's, beds are terrible, breakfast minimal. Receptionists did not speak English; younger people were rude, older people nice and tried in German.
Bagage storage room was down stairs; no help form personal carrying luggage up & down the stairs but they did demand a tip afterwards.
Location close to metro station was good and also the restaurant in building 3 was okay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nance1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Ostankino
Hotel Ostankino
#72 of 316 in Moscow
435 reviews
0.1 mi away
Business-Tourist
Business-Tourist
#152 of 316 in Moscow
61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baikal Hotel
Baikal Hotel
#270 of 316 in Moscow
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Zolotoy Kolos Hotel
Zolotoy Kolos Hotel
#102 of 316 in Moscow
217 reviews
2.1 mi away
Altai Hotel
Altai Hotel
#150 of 316 in Moscow
211 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Molodyozhny
Hotel Molodyozhny
#147 of 316 in Moscow
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tourist Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourist Hotel

Property: Tourist Hotel
Address: Selskokhozyaistvennaya St., 17-1, Moscow 129226, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #246 of 316 Hotels in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tourist Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 480
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Tourist Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tourist Hotel Moscow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing