We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Museum of Cosmonautics
Open today: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
  
Ways to Experience The Museum of Cosmonautics
from $7.00
More Info
from $45.00
More Info
from $180.00
More Info
Moscow CityPass
19 Reviews
from $55.37
More Info
Reviews (2,041)
Filter reviews
2,041 results
Traveler rating
1,335
544
129
21
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,335
544
129
21
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews space exploration russian space yuri gagarin space suits space station space program michael collins space vehicles space capsule re entry full scale vdnkh metro station audio guide on display english translation take photos worth a visit
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 2,041 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The best museum I've visited in Russia! It contains a very large collection of exhibits, many of which are the originals. Luckily, most labels are in English, too.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Savra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From the outset, with a one hundred metre rocket trail "flying" into the sky and a 11 metre rocket perched on top (no, I have no idea how they did it either!), plus statues to the Russian pioneers of space travel, Yuri Gagarin and Valentina Terechkova and the various directors of the space programme, all set in a huge park, you think, so where are the exhibits then?
Basically, underground as you find the front door to it all, and work your way around this huge building which seems to be set into the ground in a spiral going down.
What you get is a lot of everything connected with the space race from the very first Sputnik, the first dogs in space,then of course the national hero, Yuri, in 1961. He never lived to see Neil Armstrong plant the stars and stripes on the moon as he died in 1968. Bit sad that, but there are lots of distractions like real space outfits, old rockets to touch (kind of burnt outside), lots of information about the Russian space history and its triumphs. they have translations now on most of the displays, but sadly no books about it all in English for the items with no translation.
I loved walking through a mock up of the MIR space research station and see close up how they live up there, 400km above the Earth. Very tight living area, but all mod con in a sort of caravan type environment. Gave me the shivers!
A lot of technical stuff to take in, not everyones ideal, but fascinating to see how it all started and the traumas they had to go through to achieve flights in space.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Hilmar Horst D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Starting with the outside, with its statues to commemorate all the scientists, astronauts etc. it was spectacular. Inside I was not prepared for the detailed and factual displays. All displays written in Russian and English. Some personal items of cosmonauts. From Sputnik to the Space station, this place has it all. Different levels to negotiate, coffee shop, gift shop, clean bathrooms. Use a guide for best understanding . Well worth the visit.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2019

A fun find! This was a little off the beaten path for some American tourists, but we really enjoyed it. I liked how the museum had everything organized chronologically so you can really see the development of space travel, and of course seeing things from the Soviet and Russian perspective. The entry fee was very affordable and we just had a lot of fun here. If you have the time, I definitely recommend it!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank JessieTheJoglaresse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2019

This was one of the most amazing things I have done. The museum has many original objects to see. Localted in a very nice park, with the munument for those who have conquered the space, it takes around 2 hours, or more, inside, if you really want to take a look to everything they have. Only problem is that some explanations are not in english.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Eugenia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews