We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst place ever...”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Havana Mini Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Havana Mini Hotel
Ranked #405 of 1,431 Specialty Lodging in Moscow
Yogyakarta
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Worst place ever...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Everything on this shabby hostel (not a hotel at all!) is bad. Their site photos lie. It is a rundown flat in a big rundown apartment building. Upon arrival you must call the 'manager' because there is no doorbell. What if you don't have a local phone? Everyone inside the big residential building can easily enter Havana, because the door is always open and mostly no staff there. So unsafe. We (2) got one thin bed cover sheet covering 1 person only. Request for more remained unanswered. Going to the external bathroom we once locked ourselves out of our room, dressed in a towel only... No one to help. On a Russian laptop in the kitchen we had to look for the manager's phone number and asked another guest to call him. He came after 30 mins and opened our room by sliding a kitchen knife between the door and the doorpost. Anyone can do that, once he knows! We had no hot water for 3 days and the 'manager' refused compensation, so we decided to leave earlier than scheduled. We discussed the matter with booking.com who helped in a very professional way: we got the compensation and got our money back for the unused nights. In an unfriendly way, in cash from the 'manager' - and no bills or receipts at all. Could be a black money place... Conclusion: DO NOT GO THERE!

Room Tip: Don't go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WimYogya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    4
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
2
4
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is very small hostel with 3 rooms, not a hotel. Very good location but not clean. I chose this hostel based on Review but riview is not right. This hostel doesn't have kitchen and no staff. Once you pay, it's very hard to reach owner, they don't answer phone. I think, it over rated and over priced.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sprint1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Moscow hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

I was new to this sort of accommodation so for anyone else who hasn't been to Russia before, be aware that it is effectively a flat on one floor of a communal building: more of a very small hostel than hotel (we found it easily enough but there is no sign outside). We shared a twin room which was reasonably quiet and clean, but not a room I would want to spend much time in apart from sleeping - no problem with noise from other rooms when we were there. The loo/bathroom are very small and could do with some repairs/renovation. The kitchen is very basic but fridges are in each bedroom. Location is good - only a few minutes walk from the Metro and the Arbat area; one stop from the Kremlin. Our main issue was that staff were very difficult to contact - the telephone number quoted on the website is wrong and they had previously failed to reply to emails. As access to the building is by someone letting you in, it took us a while to get entry when we arrived. The main person we met didn't have good English and appeared initially not to be aware of our reservation. Once he found our booking, he didn't have the right room available and we had to wait for 30 minutes for a room to be made ready. However, he was really helpful and used Google translate on his laptop so we could understand each other. We only stayed one night and, although it is a good price/location, I would not have wanted to stay here longer because of the bathroom facilities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

I'm from Canada travel to Moscow prefer to choose this place becouse very cozy and nice place. Modern Interier, very friendly Staff. Feels like at little family there. Room double has Plazma TV, Xbox, hooka. Red square just 2 metro stations up. Location is convenient.

Room Tip: Prefer a double accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kris102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Tverskaya
Key Element Hotel
Key Element Hotel
#77 of 309 in Moscow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Arbat
Arbat House Hotel
Arbat House Hotel
#78 of 309 in Moscow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Arbat
Mercure Arbat Moscow
Mercure Arbat Moscow
#5 of 309 in Moscow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hostel DomZhur
#435 of 1,431 in Moscow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Arbat
Fresh Hostel Arbat
Fresh Hostel Arbat
#246 of 1,431 in Moscow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
City Comfort on Arbatskaya
#433 of 1,431 in Moscow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Havana Mini Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Havana Mini Hotel

Property: Havana Mini Hotel
Address: Nikitskiy Blvd., 12/62 | Entrance 3, Moscow 119019, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #405 of 1,431 Specialty Lodging in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Havana Mini Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Havana Mini Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing