We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three Whales - excellent tour managers”

Three Whales - Day Tours
Ranked #21 of 254 Tours in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We specialize in historical, WWII eastern front compaign and sightseeing group and private tours by our minivans, on foot and by bikes. We consolidate travelers together for all of our one day tours so you can see more with the same budget. We offer set days for multiple days group trips to allow you to meet other travelers interested in the same topic and enjoy group rates. Please, check our website for one day trip dates which had been already selected by other travelers and set days for longer tours. Feel free to send us an e-mail and start your own consolidated tour on the day convenient for you. Travel Agency Three Whales is a Moscow based tour operator (established in 1995). The agency is fully licensed and can help with visa support formalities, hotel booking and any other tour arrangments. We organized one of a kind WWII battlefield tours which include Stalingrad, Kursk, Moscow, Leningrad, must see tours of Moscow - Saint-Petersburg - Golden Ring and day trips in Moscow, Vladimir, Suzdal, Sergiev-Posad, Tank museum in Kubinka, Military Air Force museum in Monino, Leo Tolstoy residence in Yasnaya Polyana, Anton Chekhov's residence in Melikhovo, Lenin's country house in Gorky, Stalin's bunker in Izmailovo and many, many other places of interest. We would be happy to help you customize any of our tours to your needs.
Braintree, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Three Whales - excellent tour managers”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I enjoyed a fascinating tour of WWII sites organised by Three Whales and led by Oleg Alexandrov. Not a single thing more could have been done to ensure the highest quality in our visit. We were always kept well informed, and the tour content was very well balanced and interpreted. Everything worked like clockwork thanks to Three Whales' careful attention to detail. All the specialist speakers were first class, friendly and knowledgeable, and added immensely to our enjoyment of a very special week.
I would recommend 'Three Whales' to anyone, without reservation.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pictureman503772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mukilteo, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kubinka Tank Museum and the Monino Aircraft Museum”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Despite the name, “Three Whales”, does not organize whale watching trips. But they do great military history. We went to the Kubinka Tank Museum and the Monino Aircraft Museum in September 2013. I recommend anyone with more than a passing interest in such things go to both museums. Most of the equipment can’t be seen anywhere else in the world by the general public, or is in many cases unique.

We spent several hours at each location on 2 successive days. These are not places for which you can just grab a taxi in Moscow and go to. You need a highly knowledgeable and experienced guide like Oleg to take care of the bureaucracy, etc.

Oleg speaks perfect English (almost no accent to my American ears), is a very safe driver and has a new van; all of which are not necessarily a given with other tour operators in Russia.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mahjelhin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, FL
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb tour of WWII Eastern Front Battles”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

In July 2013, participated in tour of Russia's Eastern Front battles (Moscow, Stalingrad, Kursk, and Leningrad). Our tour group was hosted by Three Whales with Mr. Oleg Alexandrov as our tour guide. Alexandrov's command of his subject was notable and refreshing as he brought a thorough, objective, and wide-ranging knowledge and expertise to each site, each battle/campaign, and the history, politics, personalities, and outcomes associated with each one. We were truly in the hands of a master whose insights and appreciation for the full picture were invaluable to us as visitors, observers, and students of this important time in history. Each member of the tour remarked repeatedly about Alexandrov's command of his subjects, and how he was able to explain clearly and carefully the full range of considerations ranging from the purely military to the history of Russia from the Muscovy princes through to the present day, the details of each cathedral and church we visited, the Peterhof, the Hermitage, the qualities and characteristics of individual weapons, tactics, strategies of both German and Russian commanders, and the daily lives of soldiers and civilians during this gruesome period of Russian history. We spent an afternoon with Russian army veterans and Mr. Alexandrov's skills as interpreter and guide made that encounter remarkable and memorable, as were his explanations of architecture and cultural changes that accompanied the tenure of significant Russian leaders. This was a tour of a lifetime and Mr. Alexandrov made the difference. One can only give him and Three Whales all thumbs up for a wonderful experience, made even better by his careful attention to detail and a constant awareness of the requirements of our entire group. A real tour de force!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kubinka & Monino Museums”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

If you are visiting Moscow and you have any interest at all in military aircraft or vehicles, don't pass up the opportunity to visit the Kubinka Tank Museum and the Monino Aircraft Museum. This past September (2013), I visited Moscow with two traveling buddies and we made the trek outside Moscow to see them and we were not disappointed. The collection of vehicles and aircraft were amazing and many of them are only available to see at these museums.

Now, if you are of a mind to visit the museums, do yourself a big favor and hire Oleg, at Three Whales Tours, to guide you. He is a knowledgeable and friendly guide that speaks fluent English. He has historical and technical information about numerous exhibits and the museum facilies themselves. We were promptly picked up at our hotel and driven to the museums, which lay a fair distance outside Moscow. Along the way, Oleg informed us about other Moscow sights and recent (post Cold War) history. We were able to ask questions about our museum destinations and other things to do in Moscow. At the end of the day, we were able to be dropped off at other locations (instead of our hotel) to facilitate additional sightseeing.

Remember, to make the most of seeing Kubinka and Monino, hire Oleg at Three Whales Tours.

John A

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kubinka and Monino – Awesome!”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We (myself and two friends) hired three whales to take us to Kubinka and Monino based on the reviews here in TripAdvisor. We visited each site on two separate days in mid-September. I cannot say enough good words about the service, professionalism and knowledge of the Three Whales staff and Oleg who served as our guide on both days.

Oleg’s knowledge of the equipment and their history at these museums is superb. He speaks fluent English and can answer any question about the collection you may throw his way.

We had three Brits join our trip to the tank museum at Kubinka and one fellow American join our visit to the Air Force museum at Monino, this not only helped to reduce our costs, it gave us someone to share our notes of tanks and airplanes with!

Our days began with Oleg picking us up from our hotel in his mini-van which comfortably seats 6 passengers. We then drove directly to the museums. Along the way Oleg would point out interesting sites and share stories about them. After spending enough time at each museum (we paid the fee to spend an extra hour at the tank museum as there was so much we wanted to see) he returned us to Moscow. Oleg was so accommodating, he was willing to drop us off where ever we wanted. In our case, after our day at Kubinka we asked that he drop us off at the Memorial Museum of Cosmonautics and after Monino he dropped us off at Red Square.

If you are hesitating about hiring Three Whales for your trip/tour, don’t. They are a great outfit and provided us the highlight of our trip to Russia. We are glad and thankful for hiring Three Whales!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorenzo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Three Whales - Day Tours also viewed

 
Moscow, Central Russia
Moscow, Central Russia
 

Been to Three Whales - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing