We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of Safari Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Safari Hostel
Ranked #235 of 1,562 Specialty Lodging in Moscow
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is my first experience in Moscow and Russia in general, so I've been slightly surprised to meet so modern, clean and friendly hostel there! Besides, location is just brilliant, near to everything! Strongly recommended. Thank you, guys!

Room Tip: Two large dorms have a balcony! Awesome in summer!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joseph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
There are newer reviews for Safari Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 66 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Near metro station, 5 min walk. Good fancy district. Rooms are small, you dont have planty of space but it is clean, stuff is correct, but dont give them to call you a taxi. Obviously thay have some kind a deal and prices is much higher.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vuki_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This hostel is in s great location and has a lovely price of art in the kitchen, that's about it. The security is a joke, first hostel/ hotel/ guesthouse/ b&b I have ever been where you have to walk through the entire building before getting to reception. Also one key per room when staying in dorms means that if 1 person (the last out) forgets to lock it and walks out (unscene by reception as they r at the back remember) your belonging are at risk. I had money taken from my locker and after reporting this the staff simply did not say or do anything let alone care. Don't know if it was an inside job! There is a family of cockroaches in one bathroom and the bins are always overflowing, staff watch t v and play on mobile phones rather than work, you have to pay for a bloody map! If you are a lone traveller with a day bag only go for it as it is 5 mins from major sights and a nice strip of bars, if you have any luggage I don't think it's worth the risk my trip has suffered massively because of feckless staff and dreadful security, THANKS SAFARI

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ukouple1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

When planning the trip to Moscow, we decided to stay in Safari hostel because the staff answered to my e-mail in short notice with an offer much better than those on hostelworld.com and hostelbooking.com - discount if booked 2 month ahead etc.

They helped us with tourist vouchers needed for visa, and everything we needed during the stay.

Hostel is located only 5min from Bolshoi theatre, 3 min from Metro station (what is very important) but in a dark alley with no signsboards.

Hostel is very clean and definitely if coming back to Moscow I'll stay in Safari.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KresimirV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Located very close to the metro and red square I doubt you will find anywhere as cheap as this in Central Moscow. The staff are friendly and offer help when asked. They supply free coffee, tea and biscuits which is a big help when on a shoestring budget, which is you're staying here, you probably are. The bedrooms are clean and reasonably comfortable and the bathrooms were decent. The alley that leads to the hostel is a bit daunting at first, but not intimidating. The people in the alley are not weird or dodgy, they are just people having cigs on their break.

Safari Hostel is a great place to stay and I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The newly opened in summer 2012, Safari hostel is simply but nicely furnished. The common are with free tea/coffee, a kitchen and a TV is almost always busy, but not too much.
The only problem is finding the hostel in the small sidestreet inside the arches. Keep an eye - there are signboards on them.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dombrik81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

It's pretty hard to find the hostel - it is in a side alley, which isn't very brightly lit. I'm 6'1" and it was a bit scary walking to the hostel in the dark. You have to enter through an arc, full of graffiti, and go straight for a while. Located on the left (or right, if you're going through THE OTHER arc... through a construction site), it looks more like a bunker or a bomb shelter. There is a tiny sign, and a big metal orange door. Right by it seems to be a backway entrance to some restaurant where all the restaurant staff hangs out and smokes... they seem kind of shady too.
Not much to say about the staff - they seem fine. But nothing too special.
The rooms are a bit cramped... not much space for living and luggage and all that.
Yes, its downtown... but the area (dark alley) just doesn't seem safe. It's dark, bunch of graffiti, weird, shady guys smoking... I can't say I would recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Perunak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Tverskaya
Hostel Bolshoi
Hostel Bolshoi
#17 of 1,562 in Moscow
30 reviews
Landmark Hostel Arbat
#24 of 1,562 in Moscow
104 reviews
Fasol Hostel
#2 of 1,562 in Moscow
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tagan
Hostel Netizen
Hostel Netizen
#6 of 1,562 in Moscow
61 reviews
Tverskaya
Friend House Hostel
Friend House Hostel
#664 of 1,562 in Moscow
12 reviews
GoodMood Hostel
#1 of 1,562 in Moscow
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Hostel

Address: Petrovka St., 26/8, Moscow 127051, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Tverskaya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #235 of 1,562 Specialty Lodging in Moscow
Price Range: $10 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Safari Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Safari Hostel is perfectly located the heart of Moscow - 5 minutes walking from the Kremlin, Red Square, Bolshoy Theatre and many other famous sightseeing. A lot of cafes, restaurants, bars are in the neighborhood as well as the several stations of metro and other public transport.Our hostel is opened by travellers and for travellers and we always glad to offer you the comfortable bedrooms, nice decorated living room, fully equipped kitchen, plenty of showers and the most important - very friendly atmosphere. Our staff will always do their best to help you.Reception is opened 24 hours. Our Wi-Fi is always free as well as tea, coffee and cookies.Looking forward to meet you here in Moscow! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Safari Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing