We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget stay in Moscow, great location”
Review of Matreshka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Matreshka Hotel
Ranked #319 of 576 Moscow B&B and Inns
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great budget stay in Moscow, great location”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a night. The hotel is very clean, rooms are small but cosy. Location is great - 5-10 minutes walk from Kremlin and Bolshoy. Staff was very helpful and polite. The only downside is that walls are thin so you could sometimes hear neighbours - but it is not a problem if you come back from a exhausting walk and you are very tired :) Breakfast was free and was ok.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgi_Tsvetanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    94
    126
    68
    59
See reviews for
35
63
74
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

The best thing about this hotel is it's location. Less than a 5 minute walk to Red Square.
We were in a top floor room without a window, it was a good size and was clean. We were worried because of some of the pictures on here but it was ok. They seriously need to get new mattresses, you could feel every spring on them. It was so bad that we actually slept on top of our quilts for some padding.
Some of the hotel staff were excellent while others we really rude and totally unhelpful.
I would only stay here again because of its location and price.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tray2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetis Island BC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I am on a trip around the world. I am traveling the London to Singapore segment by train. I booked every hotel in every city based upon Trip Advisor. I usually chose highly rated budget hotels in each city.
Hotel Matreshka, in Moscow is the eighth stop of my journey. The location is excellent, in downtown Moscow, a few blocks from the Kremlin and most of the major tourist attractions.
The room had a bed, bathroom, shower, and a small TV. I encourage you to believe what you read on Trip Advisor. This room was the second worst I have ever stayed in. Popeye’s in Topolobmpo. Mexico was the worst – but it was $15 a night. The room was a non-issue. The door locked and the hallway was very quiet. It was worth it for the amazing location. Breakfast includes eggs, oatmeal, hot dogs, deli meats, cheese, cereals, fruits, yogurt, breads, juices, coffee and tea. The staff are very polite and extraordinarily helpful.
I rode my folding bike over 70 km during the two days I stayed at here. Moscow does not have natural areas and parks that I could access on my bike, but the river bike path around downtown was very nice. Like other Russian Cities, Moscow is a smokers dream come true. Everyone smokes and cigarettes are dirt cheap.
Hotel Matreshka has a great location to explore downtown Moscow, just be aware the rooms will not kill you, they will make you stronger.
Next up I will live on the Trans-Mongolian railway for six days and 5192 Kilometers.
Previous reviewed Hotel – Nevsky Grand Hotel in St. Petersburg, Russia. Next Hotel – Olga’s Baikal Guest House, in Irkutsk, Siberia

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TelegraphHarbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Just returned for a short stay in Moscow (5 days) purely pleasure, stayed at the Matreshka Hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful, accommodation rather poor, majority of the rooms have no windows, so if your claustrophobic this is not the place for you! Bathrooms were extremely poor ( 1* and that’s being generous).
As for the location – couldn’t fault it half a mile from Red Square, St Basil’s and the Kremlin, Bolshoi Ballet 500 yards away.
Had the pleasure of visiting Gorky Park via the Metro impressive communal area for all the local’s and visitors with a number of sporting attractions taking place. The 2.5 hr cruise although expensive took you to area’s you could not get to on foot via the Moscow River.
If you like visiting pubs / clubs I have to suggest Hot Dog, one stop via the Metro alongside the Bolshoi ballet Company, it’s a must on a Saturday night, don’t be alarmed by the security staff on the door, although intimidating and about 5ft wide they were friendly enough once inside. They have happy hour on Russian beer up until 23:00, at 60 rbls a pint (£1.20) it’s total value for money, pretty strong so take care.
Had a number of concerns prior to this trip regards the people, police and security everywhere, but there was nothing to worry about. You have to haggle on the taxi’s but this is the same everywhere.
Enjoy Your break
Nick

Room Tip: dont drink the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nick w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Moscow hotels

Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Works well as last resort. One cheapest sine-bedroom night €40. Price includes breakfast. 4 walls, one bed and a shower. Acceptable when both eyes closed. Got iron in corridor.
Parking is a problem as the place located in capital center where all places are hourly payed. Weekend nights are loud due to the clubs around.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DmitryKras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed there for couple of times during business trips. The rooms without windows are quite scary, but tolerable if you're short of money. The location is main ace of the place. 5 minutes and you see Bolshoi and stuff. If you are looking for a place to lay your head and rest after a busy working/traveling day and you're used to a slight discomfort (e.g. non-working hairdryer) that's a place to stay at.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Great location. But very loud, hot, the shower was brocken, the door didnt close. I would call it a "back-packer" hotel, very very budget. And staff wasnt friendly in our case. We expected a bit more for money.

Room Tip: I am not sure if there are any good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maria_krasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Tverskaya
Kamergerskiy Hotel
Kamergerskiy Hotel
#88 of 320 in Moscow
106 reviews
Tverskaya
Key Element Hotel
Key Element Hotel
#78 of 320 in Moscow
125 reviews
Tverskaya
Budapest Hotel
Budapest Hotel
#93 of 320 in Moscow
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zamoskvorechye
Ibis Moscow Centre Bakhrushina
Arbat
Arbat House Hotel
Arbat House Hotel
#83 of 320 in Moscow
507 reviews
City Comfort Hotel
#50 of 576 in Moscow
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matreshka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matreshka Hotel

Property: Matreshka Hotel
Address: Teatralny Dr., 3/4, Moscow 109012, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Philistine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #319 of 576 B&Bs / Inns in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Matreshka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matreshka Hotel is located in the historical center of Moscow and occupies four floors of a unique historical and architectural complex of Chinese merchant Khludov’s baths built in 1891. In 2012 a complete reconstruction of the building was conducted in order to create a modern and comfortable hotel. Today Matreshka Hotel has 155 rooms of different categories, which are suitable for tourists who appreciate the convenience and quality service for a reasonable price. The unique location offers our guests easy access to major attractions and business clusters of the capital. Just a short walk from Matreshka Hotel is the Red Square and the Moscow Kremlin, Bolshoi Theatre, St. Basil's Cathedral, GUM and dozens of other major attractions of Moscow. There are 5 metro stations next to the hotel: "Lubyanka", "Kuznetskiy most", "Ploshad’ Revolutsii", "Theatral’naya", "Okhotniy Ryad". The hotel offers a paid supervised parking on the nearby territory. For a comfortable stay of our guests, we propose the balanced breakfast (buffet), WI-FI in public areas and rooms, cable TV in the rooms, ironing, luggage storage service, as well as visa support and taxi service. The hotel restaurant serves traditional Russian dishes, as well as popular European dishes prepared by experienced chefs from quality products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Matreshka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing