We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cafe with live singing”
Review of Bistrot Canaille

Bistrot Canaille
Ranked #7,332 of 13,892 Restaurants in Moscow
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Patriarch Ponds
Riga, Latvia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely cafe with live singing”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This cafe is located 5 minutes from Pushkin metro and has big terrace. In the evening they have live singers that are French.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Denise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    24
    4
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“French enclave in Moscow”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We just had a lovely dinner on the veranda of Bistrot Canaille, in a laid back setting under large trees that face a small street in the Patriarshiy quarter of Moscow. We started with a fish tartar and a (rather expensive) foie gras de canard, followed by two versions of lamb. We especially liked the lamb leg cooked in goose fat that my wife had. Not as fatty as it may sound, but highly recommendable. This left us full, so we shared a very good creme brûlée.

Service was speedy and attentive, something that makes this place rather special in Moscow. Wine prices are elevated, as usual, we got decent wine by the glas for 320 RUB. Not sure whether the glasses contained 150ml as promised, the looked smaller. They also serve french mineral water at comparatively decent prices (1 liter of Vittel for 250 RUB). We can definitely recommend the place, will visit again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveZug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“One of our favorite places in Moscow for weekend lunch or dinner”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

We visit the restaurant quite constantly. My fiance is french and even he appreciates the menu and the tastes.
Interior is very simple, reminding french bistrot , but cozy and friendly. Lately they even improved by placing fabric napkins instead of paper ones. Staff is always friendly and efficient.
Menu is in Russian, English and French.
Everything what we tasted from menu was really good, my favorite still :) is "croque madame".
Really recommend for informal lunch or dinner for everyone: couples, families, solo or groups of friends.
Prices are very reasonable for Moscow and very good for the quality of food served.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RasaPr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Not bad at all”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

This is a cosy wee restaurant, very centrally located.

The food was better than average and the prices were good for Moscow.

The food is typically French bistrot, and it is always good to find a menu that does not try to cater for all possible Muscovite tastes!

I do recommend a visit. Even the service was good!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KennyK12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great french food at modest prices for Moscow”
Reviewed September 17, 2011

This French bistro offers excellent homestyle French cooking at decent prices especially for Moscow. 180-ruble French onion soup is a filling meal on its own, as is the 200-ruble croque madame. Half liter of the housewine is only 300 rubel. We also tried boeuf bourguignon, grilled vegetables, grilled Dorade and grilled seabass as a whole. Everything was excellent, also the desserts. It is easy to reach - only about 5 Minutes from Tverskaya Metro station. We certainly will come back.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wama10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistrot Canaille also viewed

Moscow, Central Russia
Moscow, Central Russia
 
Moscow, Central Russia
 
Moscow, Central Russia
Moscow, Central Russia
 

Been to Bistrot Canaille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing