We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable for a business stay”
Review of Club 27 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Club 27 Hotel
Ranked #197 of 328 Hotels in Moscow
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Location is probably the major plus point for this hotel, being reasonably close to most business and tourist spots in central Moscow.

The room and bathroom were comfortable and clean, but the temperature control was seriously frustrating. Considering it was freeeeeezing cold outside, you wanted some warmth inside -- but not a suffocating boiler room atmosphere! There's a vent above and radiators around the room, but the indicator just didn't seem to reflect actual temperature. In the end, I resorted to opening the windows occasionally to let in a bit of cool air. On the plus side, the bathroom seemed to have heating under the floor, so I ended up with nice, toasty feet!

The service is pretty good -- staff were invariably friendly and helpful, but not everyone knows English, so pray that you're lucky enough to get someone who can understand your language at the reception.

One serious quirk -- you have to press the doorbell at the entrance and wait for reception staff to respond before the door will open. If no one is attending at reception, it can be a freezing wait outdoors.

The restaurant was pretty good -- I enjoyed several late night dinner, desserts and coffees. I tried specifically Russian looking dishes because I like to experiment, but basic Continental cuisine seemed available on the menu as well.

The internet connection was good and fast, which was a major bonus for me, both to stay in touch with my company as well as Skype with family.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prisraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 57 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2009

The lobby is OK, the rooms are run-down and shabby, the mattress is thin and the TV doesn't bring in any English channels. I would not return, unless I had absolutely no alternative. Moscow is horribly expensive, and that's this joint's only redeeming value.

Breakfast was a typical Russian selection, and not bad because I'm used to it. The dining room/restaurant is a cavernous, ornate space that looks like Tolstoy was the last diner there. It's empty, as only hotel guests know about it, and most would rather go somewhere more interesting. Like eating in a mauseleum.
.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExpatUA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2007

I stayed at Club 27 on a business trip in December 2006. It was close to the organisation I was visiting, and just under my company's maximum of 275 euros (9000 roubles/260 euro, to be precise). This was difficult to find, as many hotels were booked out.

Don't know if the staff speak English (I speak Russian). Room was OK, bathroom OK, TV had no English-language stations (but one in Spanish).

But the breakfast! I really could not eat or drink anything, except some yoghourt (straight out of the pot). Basically just stuff from tins. And the coffee! It takes skill to make it that bad.

Another thing. Since it's a "Club", the front door is always closed, so you have to ring the bell to get in at any time.

Anywhere else in the world you would say that 260 euro for this is a flagrant rip-off. But Moscow is Moscow, a city for millionaires who don't care about the prices.

Stayed: February 2007
4  Thank Belgo43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Paris, France
18
Reviewed December 2, 2005

I travel frequently to Moscow, and recently had to book a hotel last minute. It can be extremely difficult to find a free hotel room in Moscow, and all of the hotels I usually stay in were either full, or only had suites available (starting at about $650/night).

Club 27 had a room available, and I had read on another web site that it was clean, although a bit old fashioned. That description was generous to say the least.

The reception/lobby area is actually somewhat attractive, if not typically garish as Russians seem to love. The rooms, however, have probably not been remodled since the 1960s. It was indeed somewhat clean, but the TV was tiny and barely worked, the bathroom just slightly above minimum standards of acceptability, the "mini-bar" comical. The coffee they served for breakfast may have been the worst I've ever tasted.

I'm not terribly picky about where I stay, so I was able to laugh it off. And I wouldn't have minded if it had been cheap, but they charged 6,000 rubles per night (about $215). Most of the time, you can find a nice, Western-standard room for that rate.

If you want to get a taste of what it was like during the Soviet era, this is the place for you. Otherwise, unless you have no other alternative, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Ambrogio1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Сабартем В
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled solo
Thank prigorod2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Arbat
Arbat House Hotel
Arbat House Hotel
#78 of 328 in Moscow
534 reviews
Khamovniki
Arbat Hotel
Arbat Hotel
#108 of 328 in Moscow
153 reviews
Arbat
Moscow Marriott Hotel Novy Arbat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arbat
AZIMUT Hotel Smolenskaya Moscow
Godunov Hotel
#114 of 328 in Moscow
143 reviews
Adagio Moscow Kievskaya
#76 of 328 in Moscow
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club 27 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club 27 Hotel

Address: Malaya Nikitskaya St., 27, Moscow 121069, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Arbat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 328 Hotels in Moscow
Price Range: $78 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club 27 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Club 27 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing