We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A splendid one night stay in Moscow.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow
Ranked #17 of 316 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“A splendid one night stay in Moscow.”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We were at the hotel before we went on a river cruise, so for one night only. Reception area is very nice indeed, wonderful flowers on a central table, very friendly and welcoming staff. Our room was large and well appointed, comfy bed, pillows absolutely great for me, soft and comfy and padded hangers in the wardrobe - can never remember having that before. The bathroom was very nice, clean, very soft towels, good quality toiletries. You could see The Kremlin and St Basil's from our window, amazing view.
We ate there as it was quite late and we had an early start. It was expensive, but we expected that. The meal was really good and beautifully served. My husband was not keen on the wine list boing presented on the iPad. We used the rather chilly pool in the morning, lovely 'once you were in'! Very nice area indeed. We enjoyed our short stay immensely, thank you welcoming so warmly, even though we were part of a large group.

Room Tip: Some have a view of the Kremlin and St Basil's, but may have traffic noise, those overlooking an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peripatetic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    225
    90
    32
    13
See reviews for
114
316
60
371
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Good location for a visit to Red Square and St Basils Cathedral.
The hotel amenities are very good with a well stocked bar. Staff were pleasant and helpful.
There are a number of reasonable restraints close by if the hotel dining is not your thing.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

our stay in the Kempinski Hotel Moscow was must enjoyable, the hotel is old world 5 star...
the bed soft and deep and very wide, it was just a great way to end our Russian stay.
the in room wi fi was easy to set up and very fast compared with other hotels we have stayed in.
to walk from the hotel to Red square takes about 10 min with stops to view the river and Kremlin.

Room Tip: room at the front over look the Kremlin
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HARRYLIME51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Situated opposite the Kremlin / red square, on the river, in the centre of Moscow - great 5 star hotel. Stayed here 1 night (i.e. about 18 hrs), having not been here for several years, and the foyer has been refurbed. Staff are friendly, room was massive and well equipped (free wifi and mineral water at no cost!). Didn't try the gym (think there is a pool - not sure) but food and service appear top notch, and there are a couple of good, trendy places next door (is the bar next door GQ or Vogue...can't remember), so quite a nice little community just over the river from downtown. Not cheap (what is in Moscow) and not up to Hyatt's standards, but ahead of the Marriott Aurora and other similar.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CBG2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I was lucky enough to stay here about a year back, and just realised that I've neglected to review the Baltschug Kempinski.
As a member of a large party on a works thank-you we based ourselves here within a couple of minutes walk (crossing the river) of Red Square, St Basils, GUM and the entrance to the street markets. Heading off in the opposite direction you'll find the 'lock-trees', a great place at dusk.
The hotel itself was truly 5 star and very well run - our room was fantastic and the wired broadband was nice and fast enabling error free skyping back to the UK.
Our party had the use of the Library with it's top floor balcony and Kremlin views you only see in blockbuster movies!
If it's good enough for the Russian National Football Squad (sorry about having your Team Coach moved so us Brits could check in AND ignore you in the lobby) I'm certain you'll find it adequate. So if your budget permits it - come and stay :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raffles69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Two female friends and myself stayed at this excellent hotel recently during a short trip to Moscow. We were not disappointed! The prices are high, but the quality of the accommodation...and the views...and the service, justify such expense. From our room, a deluxe twin on the seventh floor, we had direct views over the Moskva River of Red Square and the Kremlin; we also enjoyed fantastically warm and sunny weather whilst we were in Russia which was a huge bonus, and enabled some memorable photographs in optimum conditions. Sunsets were particularly beautiful. It's a 12-15 minute walk into Red Square, over the bridge from the hotel which is situated about a ten minute walk from the Tretyakov Gallery - a must, just opposite the famous 'Bridge of Kisses' where newly-weds add a padlock and message to little 'trees' made up of locks. There's also a brilliant vegetarian restaurant directly opposite the Tretyakov Gallery called Cok (which means juice in Russian); plenty of variety, high quality food and well worth a trip, even if you're not vegetarian!
The Baltschug Kempinski is luxurious to a fault, with a lovely large lobby, good security (we never once felt anything other than totally comfortable there) and superb breakfasts...we indulged in champagne breakfasts each morning we were there - at no extra charge. You get what you pay for! We also managed to secure the best possible view in the breakfast room of the Kremlin across the river; what it is to sit, sipping champagne, looking out towards the extraordinary sights - and sites - of Red Square and the Kremlin. The rooms are spacious, well-equipped, spotlessly clean and with everything one could need. We would highly recommend the Baltschug Kempinski (as good as its sister hotel, the Adlon Kempinski in Berlin where we were also lucky enough to stay a few years back) and, although it's pricey, it's definitely worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe, Kremlin-facing view. You won't be disappointed. We had no problems whatever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank llamas2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

There's no doubt this is a luxury prestigious hotel and the location and views towards the Kremlin are fantastic. The standard of food is also high but with prices to match.

Good: excellent car service, very helpful and knowledgeable concierge, friendly and efficient bar staff, excellent room service, good food.

Cons: One thin single duvet (they knew I was a singe traveler) and two thin pillows. Sometimes a throw also appeared but seemed to depend on the mood of the housekeeping that day. NOT an expected level of comfort for a 5-star hotel. Difficult to get served at breakfast and in the lobby as not enough servers and seemed mostly disinterested. Again not something you would expect paying £8 for a cup of coffee. Having to order mineral water to the room at a cost of £15 a bottle also stuck in the throat.

In short it could be very good but some aspects need looking at.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terence P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DmitryG290, Manager at Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Please see the response of Andre Vedovelli, Executive Assistant Manager in charge of Rooms.

Dear Terence P,

thank you very much for taking the time and sharing your valuable feedback with us here on TripAdvisor.

Your comments are vital for us to further improve and enhance our service levels and efforts.

The feedback you shared with us regarding the Housekeeping service and room set up, respectively the duvet and pillows, I am pleased to inform you that you could chose from our Room Comfort Menu different kinds of pillows, as well as different duvets.

We will certainly follow up and bring your points to the attention of our Executive Housekeeper, who will investigate, why your room was not set up accordingly and sometimes the decorative pillows were not placed.

Your comments about our Concierge team are highly appreciated and we are delighted to share them with our team.

Andre Vedovelli
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Hotel Metropol Moscow
#10 of 316 in Moscow
3,006 reviews
Tverskaya
Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Tverskaya
The Ritz-Carlton, Moscow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
The St. Regis Moscow Nikolskaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow

Property: Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow
Address: Balchug St., 1, Moscow 115035, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 316 Hotels in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow 5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated five-star Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow offers spectacular views of the Kremlin and St Basil’s Cathedral. The property is located across from the Moskva River, and is nearby Moscow’s fascinating sights and premier attractions. The building dates back to 1898, and features contemporary decor and up-to-the-minute amenities. The hotel has 227 elegant rooms, including 36 suites and unique Design Suites. Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow boasts restaurant The Baltschug Grill, as well as the refined Cafe Kranzler, Lobby Lounge bar, Beauty Centre Baltschug and a Health Club. Impeccable service and perfect comfort make Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow The Place to Be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing