We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hotel in Moscow” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow
Ranked #16 of 308 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The best hotel in Moscow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

My stay in Baltschug was perfect. This is truly the five start hotel. Food is great, view from designer room is marvelous. This is not cheap hotel, but if you want to see Moscow at beauty - this the right place to do it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smart_traveller_russia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    212
    86
    29
    12
See reviews for
106
294
56
358
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We spend last weekend of october in the hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow. This is a big hotel located in front of the Kremlin and Red Square on the opposite side of the river. It takes about 15 minutes to go to the downtown so I can`t say that this hotel is very central.
The lobby is magnificent and luxurious due to the renovation works dedicated to the 20 years hotel anniversary. Its spacious and very cosy and it was very pleasant to be there.
The room was normal with a bit outdated and old fashioned furnitures. So after being in lobby you will probably a bit disappointed. Windows are not soundproof! I heared the rain drops and the bell from the church nearby! But actually it has all you can await from a 5* property and with luxurious Molton Brown toiletries in the bathroom. Use the night free of charge shoeshine service they did it perfectly and it is very useful. Breakfast is fine, just excellent with champaign, red caviar and really tasty fresh squizzed juices. The choice is very big, food is top quality, we enjoyed it a lot. Service was very good as well.
The fitness centre 2 lady attendants were so courteous and attentive that we would like to thank them personally. Fitness centre has very good jacuzzi which is excellent and relaxing after busy day, big swimming pool, saunas and gym. It was perfect.
The Front Desk stuff is not always good. The processes are all about burocracy. I`d like to mark Oleg, Night Receptionist who was very competent and professional.
DON`T TAKE TAXY WITH THE BELL STUFF! Its real rip off. They tryed to charge me 50$ for the trip to trainstation which is just 15 minutes by car from the hotel! Its normally costs 2 times cheaper. Check the price before to sit in! The doorman didn`t open the cardoors and hotel door!
But in total the hotel is good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fedor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Just across river from Red Square, friendly helpful staff especially as we needed some medical attention, excellent food, very comfortable room, good chocolates, good breakfast buffet, older building updated, best wi-fi of trip, convenient to Red Square, Kremlin, GUM, Metro

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Red Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juan32250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
200 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed at the Baltschug Kempinski for one week. The hotel is well-located. It iks closed to the Kremlin and the red square. Our room was spacious. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom had excellent amenites. It had two sinks, a very nice shower and bathtub. Gels, shampoo, bar soap were of excellent quality. Our room had a view of San Basil's cathedral, the Kremlin, and the Red Square. Our shoes were shined every night. Breakfast was quality was very good. Olga the concierge was wonderful!

Minor issue: Expensive hotel as I paid around 600 dollars per night. Nevertheless, I am willing to pay as long as I feel protected by the hotel.

Major issue:
However, you may not always feel welcome in this hotel. One night we were mistreated in the bar. We rarely complaint but given the price we were paying we did. The response from the executive assistant manager was however, very professional. He looked for us and he apologized and we were treated very well then after. However, incidents like this are not uncommon. The day of departure, we wanted to do our check out at 100 pm. The check out time is at 1200 pm. However, as we have a Platinum category with Kempinski and subsequently, we were supposed to be allowed for a late check out. They said that they could not honor our category because the people at the reception did not know how to check our Kempinski account. We simply decided to do the check out. They did not even say good-bye. They simply asked us for our credit card recipe to be signed.

I was very loyal to Kempinski because my experience in Budapest and Berlin was very nice. No, I am not sure about it. Although the hotel looks nice, there is a need for a better service.

Another issue: I would suggest to have separate areas for non-smokers. People in Russia smoke a lot and it is very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelerTrecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

I have stayed in Baltschug Kempinski in July 2012 while travelling on business. Everything was perfect. Staff are very professional with a personal touch, speak a good English and are extremely helpful.

Location is perfect, a short walk from the Red Square. Room I stayed in was very nice too. But what really impressed me in Batschug Kempinski was food!! From lunch until dinner (including afternoon latte) - food was out of this world. Breakfast is really what I want to talk about. Selection of pastries, cold cuts, caviar and champagne... Sleek service, lovely silver and china. The best breakfast I ever had in the hotel. This's was perfect start to my day. Until now I am raving about breakfast in Kempinski in Moscow.

Thank you Baltschug Kempinski, you set the bar high!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joannaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed in a mini-suite with a view of the river, and Red Square. Room was great, Lobby ambiance great - Amazing Breakfast Buffet in Hotel Restaurant. Concierge/Staff were very helpful. Thouroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in an Upgraded room with a view of the Kremlin and Red Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffGSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Very nice, modern hotel in excellent location - right across the bridge center of Moscow - Red Square.
Breakfast is served in the restaurant overlooking the Red Square and the Kremlin. Breakfast is expensive. But it's worth it. The huge amount of fresh juices. Caviar. Omelets with different fillings. The products are very high quality and expensive.
I book a standard room with a street view. The room is very large with a classic good-quality furnishings. Very comfortable bed. Beautiful clean modern bathroom with make good quality and modern fixtures. The bath has scales and a hairdryer.
The room had a bathrobe and slippers. There are evening room cleaning.
The staff at the reception and the restaurant is very friendly and speaks good English. Helped me to book a taxi to the airport.
It was very interesting to visit the Red Square and the Kremlin cathedrals

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vesnyshka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Hotel Metropol Moscow
#12 of 308 in Moscow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,712 reviews
Tverskaya
The Ritz-Carlton, Moscow
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Four Seasons Hotel Moscow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tverskaya
Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Tverskaya
Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow

Property: Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow
Address: Balchug St., 1, Moscow 115035, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 308 Hotels in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow 5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated five-star Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow offers spectacular views of the Kremlin and St Basil’s Cathedral. The property is located across from the Moskva River, and is nearby Moscow’s fascinating sights and premier attractions. The building dates back to 1898, and features contemporary decor and up-to-the-minute amenities. The hotel has 227 elegant rooms, including 36 suites and unique Design Suites. Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow boasts restaurant The Baltschug Grill, as well as the refined Cafe Kranzler, Lobby Lounge bar, Beauty Centre Baltschug and a Health Club. Impeccable service and perfect comfort make Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow The Place to Be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Baltschug Kempinski Moscow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing