We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning”

Diamond Fund (Almazny Fond)
Book In Advance
More Info
$221.97*
and up
Private Armoury Museum and Diamond Half Day Tour in Moscow
Ranked #11 of 2,397 things to do in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Orlov Diamond, a gift to Catherine the Great from Count Orlov, her lover, is only one of the many diamonds and jewels on display in this incredible collection at the Kremlin.
Dubai
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Almazny fond is truly stunning - the Crown Jewels of Russia are just jaw dropping. The crowns and sceptres are beautiful, and have so much history - it is a must see!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_Nolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,157
    227
    78
    14
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice and unique”
Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

Worth seeing. Too bad that tickets are very rare :).

Helpful?
Thank Mada582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“AMAZING, MUST SEE!!!”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

This is an optional (additional fee) exhibition in the Armoury (Museum in the Kremlin). It is only offered as a guided tour, you can only go with a limited group once every hour. The diamond and other precious stone and metall collection in exceptional. They have Royal Jewelry from various Russian Emperors/Empresses, raw diamonds in all kinds of colors, gold and awesome stories behind everything. It's very strict though, you're not allowed to bring anything in the room with you and no photos as all. Overall, I was really happy I spend the money and the time to see this amazing collection, this was a highlight of my trip.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jersey0679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Diamonds, gold, passion and the devil”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I spend one hour inside that room. Black velvet arount, dark carpet, thick glass and the diamonds. When i get inside I get instantly blinded. The light-spots on the facetes of the diamonds put thousands of stings in my eyes. Plus the room is not lighted other than the vitrines spots. I have been pushed, literally pushed inside by the security guard. A bitter fece russian guy, very very viggilent. "Derji vmeste!" barked sharp at me. Hehe, lucky that I know how to pretend that I do not understand russian language. "Sorry sir, what did you said?" Of course he had no clue about english, but I was on his watch list. "Aaaaa ti inostranets katorie prishol odin! Posmotri spakoina!" (aaaa you are the foreigner that came alone, Take your time) so this for this guy I am the "Foreigner", even I am from a neighbour country under the sweet soviet umbrela, hehe. Ok, after the shock of the darkness and the lights, your eyes get addapted to the enviroment. And there are the DIAMONDS. I really like these stones. And there are there thousands. from the sand size, moschito eyes size, and pepper corn size and bigger. Those four C's. clean clear carats color, are all around. Moving in front ot the vitrines you are under attack from the thousands of laser sharp light ray reflected fron the shapes of the stones. And there is the Lady Guide. she has so much PASSION in her voice talking her speach about the stones, the gold and the Russian Tzar crowns and jewelleries. You realy have to understand the language to feel the respect and the proudness displayed by that lady talking about the treasures inside. You can feel the aristocracy and the welth of the old Russian Court in her voice. SHE IS PROUD TO BE PART OF THESE TREASURES. The guard was showing a total ignorance for her speach and he was all eyes and ears after any devises, any pockets and any hands move. Really pro I must say. He was keep pushing the group of russian tourist to keep together. Me the "Foreigner" I was left to float around the vitrines in peace. I almost saw the lady guide in tears when she was telling the story of the last Romanoff's. Sceptres and crowns, rings and seals, capes and nobelty jewellries show the real power of the Great Russia of the 19th century.

And there is the gold peppitas-nuggets. Tears on natural shaped gold, like the mother earth sculptured. The 11 kilograms peppita is realy impressive. And to feel the darkness of the gold, pay attention at the "DEVIL HEAD" peppita. You can see that the dark side is there.

Worth your time. You can see the beauty of the stones and precious metal there.

Enjoy the visit.
PS. and if you are in diamonds love, take also a visit to some jewellry shops in Singapore or Kuala Lumpur.

Your eyes and soul will be enchanted.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Articulat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Must see for treasure lovers”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Beautiful exposition with a great collections of diamonds. You have to verify which time-range is written on your ticket. Ensure to get there some time before official entrance time. There are some security checks to pass. If you go there with your child you have to know, that you cannot get in the exposition with your pram.

It is not possible to take some pictures, you cannot take any device in the exposition which could take a picture.

Helpful?
1 Thank Metaxos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diamond Fund (Almazny Fond) also viewed

 

Been to Diamond Fund (Almazny Fond)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing