We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Grand Theatre” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bolshoi Theatre

Bolshoi Theatre
Book In Advance
More Info
$79.00*
and up
Moscow Red Square and Bolshoi Theater Private Tour
Ranked #9 of 2,388 things to do in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The oldest theater in Moscow, rebuilt following a fire and later a hurricane, is magnificent both inside and out, and its resident opera and ballet troupes rate among the finest in the world.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
152 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“The Grand Theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Located just a short walkable distance from Red Square. It is one of the stops on the "hop-on/hop-off" bus tour.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JetsForFunJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,824
    403
    139
    50
    37
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rivonia, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
107 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

A mafia controls the tickets, on approaching the ticket office with a Russian girlfriend we were informed there were no tickets available, I tried to ask various different ways when tickets would be available, only to be told there were no tickets, so we turned away to leave and were immediately besieged by ticket sellers, we bought 4 tickets. Later my friend declined to accompany us so on the appointed evening when we arrived we were again accosted by ticket sellers, who we then sold the tickets back to for a huge profit.
We enjoyed a performance of Giselle by the Bolshoi Ballet Company thoroughly.
Make sure you buy the best tickets available, you want to sit in the centre of the horseshoe at about the first of second floor.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KelvinZulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent experience...with several drawbacks...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

A visit to the Bolshoi really is a special experience. After waiting 6 years for the renovations to end, finally the chance to visit arose....and it was worth the wait! The venue is simply incredible, and despite the renovations you really can get a feel for the magnificence and history of the place. We went to see Swan Lake, which is obviously also an iconic production and was simply incredible.

It is obviously not cheap, but I would definitely say it is worth the expense for what is a once in a lifetime experience for many (hopefully not for me though!). If you are price sensitive you should probably avoid Moscow altogether!

I was disappointed with the view however, we were in a box on the third level, from where the view should have been excellent, however as we were on the second row, our view was severely blocked by the people in the front row of the box. Why oh why does the theatre not elevate the level of the second row to give it a clear view of the stage! The third row seats are much higher and the view is fine from there. I resorted to standing at the back of the box to see the stage, as did many other people I saw, a big price to pay for "standing room only" and clearly not ideal to stand for such a long time. It's such a simple detail and so easy to remedy, I really hope the Bolshoi shows some common sense and puts in some taller chairs in the second row!

This detail was the only drawback to an otherwise superb experience. If you get the chance to visit the Bolshoi you must not miss it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank tm2982000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Poor mans bolshoi”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

The actual "Bolshoi" we're up of town and so saw the more contemporary Bolshoi group. It was a dutiful setting and orchestra and experience was great. The "Rite of Spring" was just a bit to contemporary for us as was the warm up act (they danced round a toilet seat produced a burnt baby doll from an oven!)
It's a matter of taste, but it wasn't our thing.
The bar was very expensive £10 for a small wine which was awful! But it was an experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tillers74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, ze Nedderlands
Level Contributor
165 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Have you ever been to...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Not everybody has a bucketlist, but if you have one, a night at the Bolshoi must be on it. Classical ballet, modern dance and childrens' shows. Tickets are not cheap and in high demand, so make sure you plan your visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank HaagseBluf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bolshoi Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Bolshoi Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing