We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old style grandeur”

GUM Department Store (Glavny Universalny Magazin)
Book In Advance
More Info
$142.04*
and up
Moscow Private Walking Half Day Tour
Ranked #25 of 2,393 things to do in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The largest department store in Russia, dating back to the days of the tsars, is located opposite the Kremlin in Red Square.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Old style grandeur”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

A splendid structure with rich decor and glass ceiling just across the (Red) square from the Kremlin. Once the largest and most popular Soviet emporium, now it is a somewhat sombre oasis of boutiques and beauty shops - with a number of coffeehouses, gourmet food store and retro diner upstairs. If you're not into shops and/or architecture, the place is definitely boring. But there are exhibitions in its inner galleries - design, fashion et al. And if the weather is nasty, it's good to spend some time in GUM, hiding from the cold and/or rain.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Eli1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,749
    981
    385
    51
    18
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gum department store”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely outstanding building, the architecture is really beautiful. I am a total shop-a-holic and could not believe the choice and unbelievable prices in this complex. All the most modern designer shops you could wish for. Kept going back, looks great in the day and night time. Picked up some really good bargains as compaired to UK.
To think it is right on the edge of Red Square and the Kremlin. Was really not expecting such a mix of modern day and historical culture so close together.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank tonytt_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“GUM on Red Square”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

It was really nice to go inside of GUM to warm up, but we were amazed with beauty of architecture of this building. There are 3 floors and 3 lines, on each you can find something interesting for yourself. Our guide took us to 3d floor to have a cup of coffee. There is the best place to take pictures of this building. Also we visited the Grocery store which amazed with choice of goods. I don't think we could shop clothes there, but we really enjoyed the time we spent there.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank EdithHlzm333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Beautiful for the holidays”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Much more than a shopping centre! Amazingly decorated now for the new year's celebrations. The shops are "Moscow expensive" so don't plan on too much shopping unless you are an oligarch :). However stop by gastronom no. 1 for a retro style high end grocery store and the historical cafeteria (stolovaya no. 57) on the third floor, the prices are low but there is a line. On the second and third floor the stores have much more reasonable prices, and don't forget to stop by the official Sochi 2014 store on the first floor. Don't be scammed, the regular bathrooms are free!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank wacko_654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“great shopping destination, bring your credit card though and the 'historic loo ' has modern day prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

GUM borders red square and is easily recognizable. It is apparently the largest department store in the world, but I'm not convinced. Russians tend to have the largest everything so ....
There is the equivalent of Harrods food store which is well worth a browse - but best of all there are some great places to eat and drink in here, its all none smoking and this makes a pleasnt change in Moscow, almost everyone seems to smoke and they are not bashful about blowing smoke over your meal so , its a bit of a treat to avoid it
there is an 'historic ' toilet, this is code for - very expensive to use toilet - 84 rubles- nearly £2 - and i got told off for putting my bag on the floor!
itss mainly designer and you'd bankrupt yourself buying anything, but the building is fabulous, well worth a visit or two

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank E3388travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GUM Department Store (Glavny Universalny Magazin) also viewed

 
Moscow, Central Russia
 

Been to GUM Department Store (Glavny Universalny Magazin)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing