We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Now a beautiful mall full of capitalism that faces lenin's tomb.”

GUM Department Store (Glavny Universalny Magazin)
Book In Advance
More Info
$140.85*
and up
Moscow Private Walking Half Day Tour
Ranked #25 of 2,391 things to do in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The largest department store in Russia, dating back to the days of the tsars, is located opposite the Kremlin in Red Square.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
603 reviews
375 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 425 helpful votes
“Now a beautiful mall full of capitalism that faces lenin's tomb.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

The entrance also has a Jesus mosaic that Lenin gets to stare at. The interior was beautifully decorated for Christmas. On the top floor in the corner closest to the Basil Cathedral there is a nice cafeteria style restaurant called 57 (I think, it's some number) that had very reasonably priced meals (I had a chicken breast, potatoes with gravy, a cherry pie, juice and a water for ~350 rubles). Be aware they charge you for every little thing, including the wetnap, lemon slice, butter, bread, etc. The menu at the entrance doesn't necessary reflect what's being served but as you go through the line, everything is marked in English and the severs speak enough English to communicate your order. You bus your own tray in the back, though the locals don't always follow this.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,737
    979
    385
    50
    18
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
118 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Banal Shops”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

GUM holds few surprises. The shops are much like any you might find in major cities throughout the world. The building itself is rather stunning from the upper floors, but it is a trial to find anything useful in it. I had fun in one of the Russian Souvenir shops because the sales assistants were thrilled that I could speak Russian, and they were really nice to us, complementing us on how nice we were. It makes you wonder what experience they have of foreign visitors! There was an interesting exhibition on the ground floor, but other than that, I could easily give GUM a miss. However, it is true that we bought the best Russian military cap we saw anywhere with lots of interesting badges. Toilets are hard to find, for they are way at the top, but at least they have them!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank RosaBonheur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Wow!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

The first time I visited this place was in 1993 and there was nothing for sale except tourist tat - hand painted trays and fur hats. I went back in 2012 and wow what a transformation. I still couldn't buy anything though as it is now all too expensive. This place is amazing though!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Flak88London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
418 reviews
341 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“saw it from outside, should have climbed to the top for a view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

this is the state department store...biggest in Russia... There are three corridors; you can enter at either end. Climb up to the top floor at either end of the building where there are no stores and treat yourself to a spectacular view . The natural light from the skylights is pretty on bright days.... some one told us... we were too tired with all the walking elsewhere and going up GUM totally slipped from our memory

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank IndFamTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
321 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Beautiful Belle Epoch Building”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

The GUM Store is really no different from many covered arcaded market spaces in Western European capitals. The building is beautiful in its way and well lighted on the outside such that it forms a nice side to Red Square at night. There are three floors in two long bays. Stores are located around the periphery with open spaces in the middle and great arching glass roofs overhead. Good looking antique style. The shops are almost entirely high-end and very expensive. It is interesting to remember the pictures of my youth of the shops in GUM, closed for the most part, with long queues of shawl-wearing women waiting for the very few loaves of bread that were being sold. What a contrast to what it used to be like!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GUM Department Store (Glavny Universalny Magazin) also viewed

 
Moscow, Central Russia
 

Been to GUM Department Store (Glavny Universalny Magazin)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing