We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Moscow
Post
Inbox
Search
Save
Review Highlights
Unique unforgettable journey through Russia via the transsib from Beijing to Berlin

In the summer of 2018, I (German guy in mid 20s) did one of my best journeys so far. Via a friend... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
omatzke
I did it!

I mean the whole non stop trip from Moscow to Vladivostok. It lasted one week and I strongly... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
evdokimos
,
Athens, Greece
Read all 363 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Moscow
from $80.00
More Info
from $19.00
More Info
from $179.00
More Info
The Kremlin Tour
14 Reviews
from $56.16
More Info
Reviews (363)
Filter reviews
363 results
Traveler rating
229
81
21
14
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
229
81
21
14
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ulan ude lake baikal dining car golden eagle restaurant car gobi desert berth cabin wet wipes second class luxury train fellow passengers lower bunk class carriages chinese border extra meals emergency contact ger camp
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
215 - 220 of 363 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We travelled on the Golden Eagle from Moscow to Vladivostok at the end of February and had the most marvellous time. The cabins are snug and can seem quite daunting at first, but after 24 hours, we got into a routine. Suitcases are stored at the end of the carriages and always accessible so spare clothes/boots can be left in there. The train is very warm and only light clothes are needed when on board. However once you near Irkutsk, the temperature drops and you will need a fleece, shoes with good grip and gloves to move between the carriages, as the snow can blow in and make the floor slippery and the door handles are often iced over. Golden Eagle provided woollen mittens and socks, a small backpack, traditional felt boots and faux fur hats for every passenger. The hats were very warm and with ear-flaps so were well-used throughout most of the journey. The original itinerary didn't include a trip into Mongolia so we were pleased it was changed after we booked. The scenery was stunning and watching a man on a horse racing alongside the train in the snow, as we sat in the bar-car listening to traditional Mongolian throat-singing was an amazing experience. Even though the temperature dropped to -30 in Ulan Ude, the weather was great for the whole trip, bright blue sky and sun, which made the scenery even more stunning. This was certainly the case for Lake Baikal - the highlight of the trip. The lake was completely frozen over, and with the sun shining off the ice was a magical experience. We travelled in small hovercraft, but saw people in vans, cars, motorbikes and cycles on the way. Delicious lunch on the edge of the lake - don't miss the omul fish - and then snowmobiling. The food was delicious the whole way through, both on the train and in restaurants along the route, and unlimited wine and beer is included with lunch and dinner. There is a small buffet at breakfast, and hot food is cooked to order. Our tour manager Tatiana was with us for the whole trip and was a terrific asset, hard-working, professional and good fun to talk to. All in all, a most wonderful experience and one we shall never forget.

Date of experience: February 2014
13  Thank Alys S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Actually did this trip ten years ago after finishing college with a good pal of mine. To this day it was one of the most crazy and random trips ever. We got to see so many things along the way and really get to know the culture of the travellers who were in our cabin on the train. It was a peaceful and quite trip during the train journey - just the kind of trip to refuel and think about where you are going in your life. While it was a party train - we had partied hard before and after and it was everything we needed it to be. Word of advice - bring cash on board as we had feck all and we could have done with it (you can't cash travellers cheques) and also bring your own cup or flask so that you can use the hot water to make noodles, hot drinks etc.

Date of experience: July 2013
8  Thank DindyDoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Having planed a trip on the Trans- Siberian for many years I had researched my options in-depth prior to booking. After comparing what was available I decided to book with the UK-based tour operator The Russian Experience. The trip I booked with several stops along the way went seamlessly I am happy to say and in particular our stop at Lake Baikal was one we eally enjoyed. I booked this trip as part of a longer trip and this adventure got things off to an amazing start.

Date of experience: April 2014
7  Thank Travelnut113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We travelled from Vladivostok to Moscow on the Golden Eagle Express and it was an experience of a life time! We visited so many cities that we never heard the names of before. The local guides were very informative and friendly and well organized. We were very impressed with Ulaan Bataar in Mongolia, Lake Baikal, Ekaterinburg ( history of the last Czar and his family) and Kazan and the Volga. I even learnt a little Russian on the train. It is a 14 day trip with never a dull moment. Highly recommended! It is a luxury hotel on wheels!

Date of experience: July 2013
11  Thank JohannS774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We had the opportunity to travel on the first part of the trans-Siberian railway to Sharia, 13 hours from Moscow with a Russian friend. From Sharia we caught a taxi for about an hour to the town of Vetluga, on the Vetluga River, a northern tributary of the Volga River. It was there, in the village of Efanikha (near Vetluga) that we stayed a three nights as guests of the father of our Russian friend, who was in the process of building a second house in the village. It was fascinating observing the design of the houses in the region, all built round a central stove, as the winters reach -50 deg C in winter. Just near the house the Vetluga river forms a U-shape forming beautiful sandy swimming beaches that our host Sergei nominated as "the best beach in the world". We also undertook a day trip south from Vetluga with other relatives of the family to smaller villages with very few inhabitants and used to provided accommodation for workers in the collective farms. Another particularly interesting family friend (Boris) was multi-skilled and in his working life has been a soldier and a train driver, and his present role were a conservator of forests, a beekeeper, a small scale farmer and fisherman. and the overseer of the house construction of our friend when he was not in town, He also talked to us non-stop, none of it in English. Another amazing fact is the age of this town, nearly 400 years (established 1636), and the number of Russian Orthodox churches, even in the middle of nowhere.

Date of experience: September 2013
4  Thank bksimon43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews