We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every station is unique”
Review of Moscow Metro

Moscow Metro
Book In Advance
More Info
$33.22*
and up
Moscow Metro Tour
More Info
$53.15*
and up
Moscow Metro Underground Small Group Tour
More Info
$87.00*
and up
Architecture Tour of Moscow's Metro and Kolomensoye Estate
Ranked #4 of 2,426 things to do in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Riding the city's underground subway system is a sightseeing tour in itself with huge, vaulted, marble-columned stations - some with ornate mosaics and splendid stained glass - designed and decorated by famous Russian architects and sculptors.
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Every station is unique”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Every station is unique, you have the feeling that you travel inside a museum, since every station is full of statues paintings etc. Plus its very convinient since it can take you anywhere you want in Moscow. Relatively cheap compared to what it offers

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Va C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,044 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,575
    2,529
    672
    166
    102
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Clean and Impressive!”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

A sight to see. Extremely clean, organized, and civil - the way you would expect during Soviet times as well! Easy to get around to all touristy sites.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nightmare!”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Lovely decor, frequent trains but that is all. You need to plan in advance, take a photo of your stops so you can compare the Cyrillic as it is difficult o try and translate from English. Signage is poor and NOBODY wants to help you. Trying to buy a ticket is rather trying so make sure you are very well prepared...... use Ggogle translate for all your questions, plan in advance and then have a screenshot that you can show the people as they will not try and communicate in anything other than Russian (some of the younger women were much more helpful!!!).
Other than frustrations with transport, multiple metal detectors etc. Moscow is Fab!!!!!! :)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sam19H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The fastest way to get around”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

It is very well connected i must say...perfect way to get around Moscow. The connections are pretty much straight forward with different coloured lines. It gives you the 'old-world' feeling with beautiful architecture. Like any other subways in the world, people move very fast and don't forget to stay on the right hand-side of the escalator if you do not wish to walk (because in my country we stand on the left). The only setback for me was, no english signage. For me who doesn't speak or read Russian, it was a bit challenging. The tricks are carry the metro map, see those coloured lines, see the name of the station and match the writing on the map and on the signage and for confirmation just stop anyone who looks approachable and ask them. From my experience, those younger generation seems to be more friendly and they usually know if not much at least a little english. Another tip is see those who are carrying or reading an english book, they will definitely speak english. The best part from my experience, i actually made friends with the local girl i met on the metro while trying to figure my way. She was really helpful and very nice that she took time to guide me to the station i wanted to go. Thank you Karina! Oh yea, and the fares is cheap too.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ety80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Central metro stations”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Great and unique architecture, this is one of the "must-see" places in Moscow. There is no such an underground anywhere else in the World. But its really busy and hectic almost always, choose the right time to see and make pictures (weekend mornings, maybe later hours after ten pm, Moscow never sleeps).

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moscow Metro also viewed

 

Been to Moscow Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing