We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a "place" to go”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Moscow Metro

Moscow Metro
Book In Advance
More Info
$30.57*
and up
Moscow Metro Tour
Ranked #4 of 2,391 things to do in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Riding the city's underground subway system is a sightseeing tour in itself with huge, vaulted, marble-columned stations - some with ornate mosaics and splendid stained glass - designed and decorated by famous Russian architects and sculptors.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
98 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“a "place" to go”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

take the circle line, go up and down at each station. You will have one metro each 50 seconds and you have jsut time to see and put some pictures. each one is different. Do not see only the statues or paints. the lights are crazy . they a re differnet in each station and in coherence with the thema of the platform

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mireille B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,922
    2,361
    639
    162
    98
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
393 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Watch your step!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Even though it's the only predictable way to travel in Moscow, be careful and watch your step, especially in the winter and fall. Do NOT wear nice Italian shoes with leather soles, or you will slip and fall. Happened to me recently, seriously bruised my back and was horizontal for 3 days. Wear rubber soled shoes and layered clothing, as it gets really hot inside.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank hi_stick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
156 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“A Must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Do not let the idea of navigating the metro scare you. Just know that it will be a little confusing until you figure out the writing. It is actually one of the most logical and simplest metro systems I have ever used in the world.
First step: get a map of the metro that you can have in your pocket. My hotel had a brochure titled "Moscow in your Pocket" and it had a small map, listings of sights and restaurants, and a handy metro map too. The metro map will show stations names in Cyrillic, with English just underneath.
Second step: buying your tickets at the "Kacca", or Cashier window. Just show how many fingers for how many tickets you want. We were two people so, since we wanted ten tickets each, we showed 10 fingers and then pointed to the other person and showed 10 fingers again. Piece of cake. And super cheap too!
Third step: know where you are trying to go because it is true that almost no one will speak English. It helps when you know your destination and can point to that place on a small map, in case you think you are lost.
Fourth Step: the map in your pocket and the maps at the station will both show the station names in English. HOWEVER, every other sign and marker will only show it in Cyrillic. Do not panic! All you have to do is revert back to childhood and match the letters you are reading with the letters you need. It actually gets pretty easy. Also, the different lines have both colors and numbers so when you get to a station with connecting lines, make sure you know the color but, just to be safe, also the corresponding number.
Fifth Step: learn the Cyrillic sign for "Exit to City". You will see lots of stairs in many directions at some stations - ones for connecting trains and ones for leaving the station. I promise that, once I learned to recognize that sign, I was homefree.
Sixth Step: take a deep breath and enjoy!! The stations are glorious and trains come by so very quickly that you can afford to let one or two trains go by if you need time to think. Most stations have comfy seats and you will not feel rushed. Trains come by every 2 minutes or so and everyone is so trained to step to one side before getting on the train or they walk quickly to their train that you can just lean against the wall and study your map and you'll be there in no time!!
P.S. - some stations have two levels of trains so look for the sign of a person walking up stairs, for either the exit to the city or the next level of trains.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank kdmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Povoa de Varzim, Portugal
Level Contributor
157 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Thank you, Marina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had only two hours left in Moscow and we were looking at the metro map (very difficult) when a very elegant, tiny (me and my husband are three times her size), very gentle lady, asked if we needed help. I explained her that we did not want to leave Moscow without seeing the amazing metro stations that I saw lots of times in different emails. This lady changed my opinion about Muscovites because, until then, they were not very friendly- even in stores – but she offered to show us the most important and beautiful metro stations. It was awesome, firstly because Moscow metro stations are really art masterpieces but specially because of Marina’s kindness and knowledge. She knew everything about each station – the story, the age of building, what is its soul representation. Thank you Marina for the two best hours in Moscow.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maria149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Easier to navigate than you think”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Enjoyed travelling the Metro. Was really cheap and easy to navigate. Just follow the colored routes to get to your location.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank nellyweston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moscow Metro also viewed

 

Been to Moscow Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing