We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The 'New' Tretyakov”
Review of New Tretyakov

New Tretyakov
Book In Advance
More Info
$144.77*
and up
Private Tretyakov Art Gallery Half Day Tour in Moscow
Ranked #32 of 2,426 things to do in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: New building of the Tretyakov Gallery at 10 Krymsky Val houses a unique museum exhibition of modern Russian art features works by Chagall, Kandinsky, Malevich and other 20th-century artists. In the same building there is the Central House of Artists, and around there is a Sculpture Park.
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The 'New' Tretyakov”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is the new glass & concrete building on the embankment, not the 'old' Tretyakov in Lavrushinsky Lane. It houses modern art and is well worth a look. I went especially to see the original Kandiskinky's and I wasn't disappointed! Just make sure you use the floor layout map provided and tick off as you go through each room on each floor so that you don't miss anything. Allow at least a full half day, there's lots to see. Photography inside is not allowed but the surrounding area is full of 'cast-off' sculptures that look as if they've been randomly dumped and are rather interesting. Also, there's a cute little 'Hansel & Gretel' outdoor cafe (not part of the gallery) near the main entrance that serves drinks, tasty sandwiches and delicious pastries.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank NZTraveller666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    599
    178
    43
    9
    18
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vigo, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The higher the better”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The New Tretyakov Gallery is not the poor sibling of the famous Tretyakov Gallery but something different. It deals with art from 1900 to now and it discovers us a whole century of the best Russian art. Forget the first floors and go straight away to the top one if you want to face the miraculous world of ART with capital letters. Be aware of all the jewels you are going to see for the first time. You´ll need around two or three hours to visit it and 365 days to recover from the experience.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MARIA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Modern and Worth a Visit.”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The building in Gorky Park looks a little stark and unimaginative but within, it offers a superb range and display of Russian art.
Very easily accessible by Metro to Gorky Park- over the bridge and go to the left.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SUE291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Well, I got to see the grounds”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Nothing like being a tourist in Winter.
Had to see the grounds, as the sculptures were featured in the Title Sequence of the James Bond film, GoldenEye. I found Gorki, Stalin and Lenin. Of course Stalin had suffered with the loss of his nose.
It was amazing running around in the snow trying to photograph statues I recognised.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Interesting, but lacking in one area”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I was very excited for this gallery after visiting the "old" Tretyakov, and was pleased in general with what I found. It truly is a terrific collection, but I completely agree with the commenter below who wanted to see more Socialist Realism paintings. I think that style is hugely important to the understanding and appreciation of 20th century Russian art, and it felt like the gallery was apologizing for it. I really wanted to see more to provide a real contrast to the other works being produced somewhat surreptitiously at the same time.

I was surprised that the building was largely deserted when I visited. It's not an attractive building, but it's very interesting inside. It feels like it was designed for huge crowds of wealthy patrons (downstairs more resembles a hotel lobby than an art museum), but I didn't find any confirmation of that. In a sense, the building feels out of touch with the art.

Definitely worth the trip, and there's a really interesting underground artists' "colony" just outside in the underground passage that takes you across the street to Gorky Park.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Tretyakov also viewed

 

Been to New Tretyakov? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing