We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for bad hotel heritage tours.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Moscow World Trade Centre
Ranked #30 of 317 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good for bad hotel heritage tours.”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Look. If you get a room with a view of the big river and one of the even bigger 'Seven Sisters' then you'll be in for a treat. That is assuming you have a George Orwell type 1984 mask on and can only look out of the window.

Look inside and sadly you're reminded of all that makes global hotel chains rushing into new markets akin to fools and angels fearing to tread etc.

A small room. Polyester pillows, uncomfortable office chair set up. Small dingy bathroom and an aircon that I SWEAR makes the same sound as someone typing on an iphone ALL NIGHT (unless, of course, I had some unwanted whatsapp addicted iphone-ist smuggled in my bags).

I ordered a Caesar Salad and what turned up was as risible as it was inedible. Drenched wet leaves, sliced fake cheese, warm indian spiced chicken and 4 cherry tomatoes. Oh, the croutons were triangles of sliced toasted white bread.

Breakfast was similarly appalling. And largely inedible.

There's some charm in a 20420402 room hotel from 1950-hell - it's anonymous, the service is 'depressed russia' and every discussion feels like an argument (even though it isn't)...

The one good thing is the Vodka is cheap, so you can numb the pain and lick the window as you search, in vain for something to rest your eyes on that doesn't remind you of where you are.

Sounds like nation building to me.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaMorozova, Manager at Crowne Plaza Moscow World Trade Centre, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Jonathan S,

Thank you very much for staying with us during your trip and for sharing your comments.
I regret to hear that the hotel and our services did not meet your expectations. I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your recent stay with us.
Thank you for pointing out the problem with air conditioning in your room. We will take actions to fix the problem.
Please, be kindly informed that bedding is provided in accordance with Brand standards and housekeeping will gladly provide you with feather/down pillow upon request.
As for breakfast, please, be informed that we use only high-quality organic products and offer a wide range of buffet selections in our restaurant: fresh-baked bread from own pastry, desserts, hot cereals, wide selection of yoghurts and dairy produce, fresh and dried fruit, fruit salads, flakes and muesli, Asian dishes, fresh vegetables, cheese platter, salads, assorted fish and sausages, cold cut; grilled vegetables, potato, mushrooms and bacon; French toasts, vanilla waffles and pancakes; omelettes, fried and scrambled eggs with cheese, ham, mushrooms or tomatoes.
Also we did not have any negative comments regarding “Caesar salad” during the hotel history and it is one of our top-order items upon guests. However, tastes differ, and we kindly advice you to tell your comments before ordering -our chef will be happy to prepare the salad according to your preferences.
I would like to thank you once again for staying with us on your trip to Moscow and taking a moment to write a review. We sincerely hope to have another chance to welcome you as our Guest again in the future!

Kind regards,
Victoria Morozova
Senior Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    578
    193
    57
    38
See reviews for
132
270
87
822
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Very nice, clean, well appointed four star hotel in Moscow. It's an excellent place to stay if you are attending a conference in the World Trade Center since you can just walk over. (And won't have to contend with Moscow traffic.) I'd consider the toilettries on par with a three or four star hotel - - they get the job done but aren't ultra luxe.

Helpful staff. I heard a guest ask for assistance with a taxi ~ 18:30 in the evening and he was told it would be a 35 minute wait for a car. So the next morning, before meetings began, I asked the concierge to reserve a taxi for me for 18:00 so I could get to my dinner reservation on time. The first option offered was 950 rubles, chargeable to my room. I told the concierge I thought metered taxi's charged 300 - 400 rubles? She confirmed that a metered taxi would cost between 500 - 600 rubles and that I could pay directly with my credit card to the taxi driver. This worked great. I repeated the process for a couple of evenings.

The rooms were quiet, comfortable and very clean. They were also a bargain compared to other Moscow hotels, although this may have been due to my participation in the conference.

You can get around fine even if you do not speak Russian.

Very friendly and kind bell hop and luggage depository.

The omlette maker at the buffet breakfast went out of his way to offer custom-made omlettes. The variety at the buffet breakfast is huge, but not worth the exhorbitant price. Luckily, there is the option to order off the menu.

This would be the only place I'd stay if I were attending a conference in the World Trade Center.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreatTrip356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaMorozova, Manager at Crowne Plaza Moscow World Trade Centre, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear GreatTrip356,

Thank you for taking your time and posting a review concerning your stay experience with Crowne Plaza Moscow.
We greatly appreciate your kind words regarding the hotel, your room, our staff and the breakfast. We will definitely transfer your wonderful feedback to our morning chef.
We would be happy to welcome you back to Crowne Plaza Moscow during your next visit to Moscow.

Kind regards,
Victoria Morozova
Senior Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

the Customer Service is very poor and far away from 5 star hotel. The attitude of all hotel staff is rude and not acceptable for guest at all. They are not smiling, not helpful, not polite, they don’t know how to speak with a hotel guests and every time guest asks about something they are angry and irritated. It’s a shame not only to be named Crown Plaza hotel, but also for Russia in general!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TsDen, Manager at Crowne Plaza Moscow World Trade Centre, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Laura B,

Thank you for taking your time and posting a review concerning your experience in Crowne Plaza Moscow hotel.

Here at Crowne Plaza, we pride ourselves on the standards of product and service we provide, which makes it all the more disappointing to read that your experience was not as positive as it should be. We would be very grateful if you could contact me directly in order to describe your problem in details and let us take appropriate action.
We hope that you will consider staying at Crowne Plaza Moscow again so that we may show you our gracious hospitality and superb service.

Regards,
Denis Tseitlin
Senior Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elounda, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

i have seen many good hotels but i was really disappointed in crown plaza.i really sensed very uncomfortable in it.the reception guys didn't smile at all.they discriminated between people who were their guests.a different place was arranged for the iranians and turks for breakfast.i have never seen something like this before.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank faridfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TsDen, Manager at Crowne Plaza Moscow World Trade Centre, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Faridfa,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent visit to our hotel.
It was foreseen by the agreement between our hotel and tour operator that all tourist groups are assigned for breakfast in our “Continental Restaurant”. We would like to assure you that nationality of the guest never has influence on the quality of service at our hotel.
We would be happy to have the opportunity of welcoming you at Crowne Plaza Moscow hotel in future.
Regards,
Denis Tseitlin
Senior Marketing manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Service has been a real disappointment - staff in reception has low English literacy, checking in takes very long although there are about 5-7 persons behind the counter at a given moment.
In the first night electricity went down in my room...
Breakfast has been very rich in options but extremely pricey. Overall I can not find the value for the money in this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berlllina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaMorozova, Manager at Crowne Plaza Moscow World Trade Centre, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Berlllina,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share comments concerning your experience in Crowne Plaza Moscow WTC.

It is a great pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed our breakfast. Regarding the costs of food and beverage please be kindly informed that our hotel uses only selected high-quality organic line ingredients for all the food we offer in our restaurants, also all the menus and prices are published on our official website so you can check it beforehand.
Due to your short comment we could not deal with the complaint concerning our staff. The exact dates of your accommodation would be helpful for us to investigate the reasons of the problems that you’ve faced. I will be very grateful if you could find time to contact me via e-mail to describe the situation. It will help us to react accordingly and to prevent such incidents in the future.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Crowne Plaza Moscow.

Kind regards,
Victoria Morozova
Marketing manager
Victoria.morozva@cpmow.ru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipe Creek, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Had a great time while visiting Moscow and I'm certain this very fine hotel was a major reason. It has everything including a surprisingly large market. I didn't lack for anything. The room was quite large and the bed was super. But above all, the view. Sitting right along the Moscow River the hotel is perfectly situated for views of the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank filmtex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaMorozova, Manager at Crowne Plaza Moscow World Trade Centre, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear filmtex,

Thank you for taking your time and posting a review concerning your experience at Crowne Plaza Moscow hotel.
We really appreciate you kind words concerning the hotel, your room and the wonderful views over Moscow.
We would be happy to welcome you back during your next visit to Moscow.

Kind regards,
Victoria Morozova
Marketing manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honolulu
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This hotel by itself is beautiful and the views of the river and the city from the balconies are spectacular. You could just stay in the room and enjoy Moscow. But then you have to leave to see the sights and that's the biggest problem. This hotel is a pretty long walk from the nearest subway station ( and I am always happy to walk but this one is a bit beyond enjoyable). If you decide to take a taxi every time you leave the hotel it will be an expensive stay.
Even though everything is so expensive in Moscow ( and this hotel is no exception) the service you get is usually painfully poor. You have to jump through hoops for the simplest things. Simple example: I wake up at 6am with a jetlag and I had already consumed the tiny bottle of water left in the room and I was thirsty. I went down to the front desk and asked where I can get a bottle of water. She said the store was closed and there was not other place I could get water and I had to wait till 9am!! Clearly the housekeeping had water but she could not be bothered. Things like this happen almost everywhere you go.
Moscow is potentially a beautiful city but one I don't have a huge desire to go back to. Same applies to this hotel. Recommend to stay in the center of town for easier access.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aturkinnola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaMorozova, Manager at Crowne Plaza Moscow World Trade Centre, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear arturkinnola,

Thank you for taking you time and posting a review concerning your experience in Crowne Plaza Moscow hotel.
We were happy to learn that you enjoyed your room and the view from your window.
May we kindly inform you that there is a shuttle bus heading straight to the metro station from the territory of World Trade Centre. The bus takes off near entrance number 7.
We apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced. We strive to provide excellent service to all our guests and value your comments as most important for our future improvements. Please, be kindly informed that according to international standards a bottle of water is provided for every guest on the daily basis during room cleaning. In case of additional water request for your convenience you have a choice of various drinks (including water) in the minibar, also you may choose room-service option or supermarket in the WTC territory, which indeed, opens at 9.30 pm. Otherwise, you may buy water in 24 hours supermarket outside the WTC territory, if below mentioned options are not suitable for you.
We would be glad to welcome you once again in Crowne Plaza Moscow during your next visit to Moscow.

Kind regards,
Victoria Morozova
Marketing manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Presnensky
Novotel Moscow City
Novotel Moscow City
#23 of 317 in Moscow
1,217 reviews
Arbat
Mercure Arbat Moscow
Mercure Arbat Moscow
#6 of 317 in Moscow
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Moscow World Trade Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Moscow World Trade Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Moscow World Trade Centre
Address: Krasnopresnenskaya Embankment, 12 | World Trade Center, Moscow 123610, Russia (Formerly Mezhdunarodnay)
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Presnensky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Moscow
#25 Romantic Hotel in Moscow
#28 Business Hotel in Moscow
#28 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Moscow World Trade Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 724
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Russia's Leading Business and Conference Hotel Crowne Plaza Moscow WTC offers supremely comfortable accommodation, modern facilities and superb cuisine to suite both business executives and leisure visitors. The Hotel is located in Moscow in the vicinity of Government House of the Russian Federation, business complex Moscow City and exhibition complex Expocentre. Historical heart of the city is within walking distance. The Hotel has 724 elegantly furnished guest rooms equipped with everything you may need for comfortable rest and efficient work, including free WiFi access throughout the hotel. Luxury styled club rooms with breathtaking panoramic views over Moscow and modern spacious interiors offer its guests enhanced services as well as access to Club Lounge with Club breakfast and hors d'ouevres throughout the day. Experience a range of restaurants and bars offering first-class European and local cuisine. You would not notice time running by in a lively and friendly atmosphere enjoying your meal prepared from ecologically pure organic ingredients perfectly accompanied by a glass of wine or a refreshing cocktail. Crowne Plaza Moscow WTC is an ideal venue for events of various types. Guests are welcome to advantage from 7 modern fully equipped Club meeting rooms with individual A/C and natural daylight including 4 VIP Lounge Meeting Rooms on the 20th floor with panoramic views over Moscow. From intimate gatherings to lavish receptions for up to 1200 guests WTC offers a range of beautiful and elegant halls as well as private banquet restaurants to suite the unique style of your event. The banqueting team will ensure that every requirement is met making certain that everything is perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Moscow World Trade Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Moscow World Trade Hotel Moscow
Moscow Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing