We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorky Park- It made me enjoy my trip!”

Gorkiy Central Park of Culture and Recreation
Book In Advance
More Info
$105.00*
and up
Retro Scooter Tour Around Moscow
Ranked #14 of 2,396 things to do in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This popular gathering place draws adults and children alike to its recreational offerings, which include gardens, cycling infrastructure, museums, viewing point, cafes, beaches, climbing park, open-air cinema, sports center, observatory, eco-school for kids, open-air dance-floors, tennis courts, table tennis areas, free wi-fi. concerts and festivals etc. In winter the Park turns into a winter wonderland covering its surface with almost 20 000 square meters of the artificial ice.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Gorky Park- It made me enjoy my trip!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

After reading the reviews I thought that Gorky Park might not be for tourists but it turned out it's for anyone looking for a good day out! It was a relaxing but fun day! We loved the giant bean bags which are all over the park for people to relax in the sun on. We also spent about an hour by the largest pond in Gorky Park laying on the wooden sun loungers. There are loads of cafes offering great food. One downside was that the deposit on bikes was really high so if you want to hire a bike take a lot of cash with you for your deposit. All in all a great day! Not a lot of English spoken but menus are in English which made a change!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helenkm18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,952 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,343
    425
    139
    29
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1,644 reviews
716 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 963 helpful votes
“A great place to relax or to get active”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Gorky Park has a little of everything - miles of flower lined pathways winding past trees that provide cool shade on a hot day, a small children's amusement park with rides and games, the ability to rent bikes or scooters (under the Russian space shuttle by the river) or even rent a beach volleyball court or basketball court. If by chance you brought your ping pong gear there are dozens of tables scattered throughout. There are also plenty of places to grab some refreshing beverages and snacks.

We were there on a hot day and the newly laid asphalt pathways became bothersome due to the smell and heat radiating from them. Other than that we had a good visit.

It is relatively easy to get to - take the Red Line to Park Kultury and walk across the Moscow River bridge and through the hideous Stalinesque gates.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely place to relax for an afternoon”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This park is a nice place to kick back and relax with the locals. The park has been recently redone, and it's a nice place to spend a few hours. We kicked back, had some ice cream and rented bikes. Lovely, relaxing afternoon.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank sanda2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
224 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Nice place to spend a few hours in Moscow”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Caught a subway train out to Gorky Park, not far to walk from the Station. A lot of people there strolling around or roller blading, quite a few restaurants and cafes which were all crowded but we managed to find one where we could rest our feet and have a meal and a drink. A nice park in the middle of Moscow, worth a visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Nice relaxing place to go to recover from sightseeing.”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Great park with lots of places to hang out, watch the volleyballers, listen to a band, sunbathe. We didn't hire bikes do not sure if pricey. Cafes were cheap but menus were in cryllic only and very busy. Could've spent all day in the park with a good book.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank hilary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gorkiy Central Park of Culture and Recreation also viewed

 

Been to Gorkiy Central Park of Culture and Recreation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing