We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Russian souvenirs”
Review of Izmailovsky Market

Izmailovsky Market
Book In Advance
More Info
$67.00*
and up
Izmailovo Flea Market and Kremlin in Izmaylovo
Ranked #49 of 2,440 things to do in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Save some weekend hours for this street market where you can bargain for a wide variety of already reasonably priced souvenirs, crafts, used books, Russian memorabilia and various types of nesting dolls.
kansas
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great Russian souvenirs”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This place is probably one of the best souvenir markets in Russia. We traveled through Moscow, Krasnoyarsk in Siberia, and Khabarovsk and Vladivostok in the Far East, and this was the best souvenir market we saw - wish we'd bought more here. Selection is varied and great, prices are very low, bargaining is encouraged, setting is very attractive. Traditional Russian crafts, cheap knock-offs, Russain folk clothes, Soviet militaria, ushanka hats: you name it, they've probably got it. Don't miss it - best on weekends.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank jscooper36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    233
    80
    26
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great cheap souvenirs”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

If you're looking for a place full of souvenirs, with reduced price compared to the city center, this is your place!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ignacioavellino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Follow these instructions to reach Izmailovsky Market”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

At the beginning we were totally lost, as when we followed trip advisor map, it showed a point in the middle of a huge park. We asked in our hotel reception, and they told us that this market closed a year ago. However, it exists! It is located next to the Vodka museum. Reach Partinskaya metro station and walk towards the huge buildings (alpha, beta, gamma, delta). You will see like an amusement park with a fantasy castle. That's were you will find this flea market. We went on a week day, and even when a lot of shops were closed we definitely found the cheapest souvenirs ever! Comparing a matryoshka of 10 dolls: outside Red Square the cost was 2000 rubles. In Izmailovsky Market we bought it in 600 rubles. You can bargain and buy souvenirs as cheap as 25 rubles.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank Paulina_Zuniga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best souvenirs in Moscow”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

If you need to buy chesp matreshkas, magnets, fur hats or even anciant samovar you should visit this place which looks like medieval market where it is necessary to bargain. price can be less if you talk with the celler... surely

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank EugeniaVega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the trip”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This market is worth the metro ride outside of the city centre. We had good fun browsing amongst the market stalls. We felt very safe and the vendors spoke a little english which helped. Don't be afraid to offer 50% less than they ask for, and walk away if it the price is too high as there will always be another stall selling the same thing a short walk away. Fur hats and scarves, dolls, and all the usual souvenirs. Som eof the dolls are hand painted and made in Moscow so make sure you don't buy the first ones you see but shop around. Spend 2-3 hours here easily and there will be lots of other tourists keeping you company. 100r entry fee. Avoid the public toilets before entrance which were not the best!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Siobhan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Izmailovsky Market also viewed

 

Been to Izmailovsky Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing