We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Basil's Cathedral

St. Basil's Cathedral
Book In Advance
More Info
$52.69*
and up
Red Square and the Moscow Kremlin
Ranked #2 of 2,388 things to do in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Built by Ivan the Terrible in the 1550s, this intriguing cathedral bordering Red Square consists of nine separate chapels, each capped with its own individually shaped and colored dome.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Historic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

I really felt like i was in Russia when i got to the site of St. Basil's Cathedral. Its just as seen on TV. Inside the church is quit small, with tons of mosaics and some strange sadomazoquist paraphernalia worn by the priests back in the days.
The view of the Red Square and the Kremlin was pretty.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid Rheinlan... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,711
    1,305
    275
    30
    18
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Yes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Fantastic - must see. Like being inside a jewel box and the various chapels lead into one another. Worth getting the recorded guide in English, though labelling is good.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank alisonns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Best of Moscow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

It is so beautiful outside, but totally different from inside.
Anyway I liked it, because we were with our guide, who fulfilled the sightseeing with interesting stories and fact.
Worth to see it

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Moon753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Always wanted to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

This was at the top of my "must see before I die" list, and I'm so glad I finally did (see it, not die). The building itself is incredibly beautiful and appears to be very well maintained. We visited and took pictures during the day, and in the evening. If you have time, I would recommend both.

The church is very nice inside as well. It's not like your typically European cathedral (one big chapel), instead, it is a series of small chapels (9, if I remember correctly) that are connected inside.

If you're pressed for time, then you could skip taking the tour of the inside. One last tip, as you descend the stairs from the inside to exit the church, you get one of the best views of Red Square -- stop and take some pictures.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank nev4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
“Just like the photos!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

St. Basil's Cathedral is a one of a kind anywhere in the world and is so beautiful. It make Moscow proud to have something so beautiful here.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Akbells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Basil's Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to St. Basil's Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing