We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The center point of our visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Square (Krasnaya ploshchad)

Red Square (Krasnaya ploshchad)
Book In Advance
$54.00*
and up
Kremlin Territory with Cathedrals Red Square Tour
Ranked #1 of 2,331 things to do in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Red Square, once the site of executions and military parades, sits smack in the middle of Moscow, bounded on one side by the Kremlin walls and Lenin's tomb and on the other by GUM, the country's largest department store.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
658 reviews
181 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“The center point of our visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Forget all of the old Cold War video of the troops and missiles marching thru the square and take in all of the beauty and history of Moscow....incredible place full of museums and sites

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank krandy21784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,955 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9,275
    2,070
    493
    76
    41
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Red Square”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Great place to visit, alive during the days with many tourists and the Putin and Stalin look alikes are pretty convincing. As great as it is in the days it is even more beautiful at night the lights of the Kremlin and the colorful spires warrants a trip at night. My first night in Moscow ended on a high in Red Square at 4am having vodka shots with some locals. Smashing the shot glasses in Red Square should only be done if the locals indulge first.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
303 reviews
176 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Can't not visit red square.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Very busy and sometimes covered in scaffolding and temporary seating for events, which was the case when I was there.

Having said that it is a must see and has to be one of the great places in Moscow to view St Basil's and the Kremiln walls.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MysticManc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Winter in Red Square”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We visited Moscow in January and it was of course perishing cold and snowy. The snow however, added to the atmosphere. The walk past the Kremlin walls to the Square is very reminiscent of spy films and the square itself was interesting. Gum all lit up on one side with St Basil's on another was quite magical. There was a temporary ice rink which partly blocked the view unfortunately. The museums on the other side are well worth a visit. It was far too crowded to get on to the Square on New Years Eve so we went clubbing instead! Another interesting experience.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
558 reviews
189 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Sunrise at Krasnaya Ploshchad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Great View!

Out of the countless times that i have been here this is the first time that i managed to take a decent photo and i am glad it is during the early hours sunrise.

The view is awesome and seeing is believing

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stone S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Square (Krasnaya ploshchad) also viewed

 
Moscow, Central Russia
 

Been to Red Square (Krasnaya ploshchad)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing