We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful”

The State Tretyakov Gallery
Book In Advance
More Info
$95.00*
and up
Merchant Moscow Tour including Tretyakov Gallery
More Info
$89.00*
and up
Tretyakov Gallery and Zamoskvorechye Tour in Moscow
More Info
$257.63*
and up
Tretyakov Gallery with Private Concert at St Nicholas Church
Ranked #3 of 2,440 things to do in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The State Tretyakov Gallery is the national treasury of Russian fine art and contains more than 180,000 works of painting, sculpture and graphics created by generations of Russian artists.
Westerville, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“beautiful”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

very beautiful. they recommended it to us at the hostel, and we coudln't be happier. definitely worth seeing. its like the louvre only in Moscow. amazing!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,781
    601
    140
    35
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful Russian art collection”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Once you get inside (the wait might be lengthy if the visit is not of an organised type) you follow nearly 10 centuries of Russian art, with particular emphasis on (1) 19th century Romanticism, (2) Vrubel halls – also see his mosaics of the Metropol hotel in the city, and (3) 20th century modernists (cubism, suprematism, abstraction). Special interest includes Russian icon art and Ivanov's "Apparition of Christ to the People" which allegedly took 20 years to complete. My personal “coups de coeur” include Polenov’s charming “Moscow Courtyard” and Vereshchagin’s “Apotheosis of War”, which leaves me perplexed no less than Guernica or J.Heller’s novels.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tema A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“excellent art gallery”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

this was one of my favourite places in Moscow, during my one month stay. the Russian art is amazing. I especially like the "Wanderers." There are many amazing landscapes and scenes of peasant life. also, more "classical" themes. if you love art, and want to learn about Russian culture, you must come here

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kristina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Impressive collection.”
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

A must see in Moscow. Very unassuming appearance from the outside. But it is packed with incredible art pieces.

Wear comfortable shoes and take advantage of benches every now and then - pace yourself!

Among the treasures are Orthodox icons, including the Trinity by Rublev. Seeing that alone is worth the visit.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank JefeBernardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A real gem of a gallery”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

It is difficult to describe this art gallery without using superlatives. It is also very humbling to realize that we are totally ignorant of Russian art in the West. Well, I have visited this gallery several times - one visit is too short. Too short because it is huge, and has an incredible number of masterpieces. Also, there are so many painters that I am discovering. This gallery is a real gem, and has so many truly gorgeous paintings. It is one of the great art galleries of the world, and I will visit it each time I visit Moscow.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MikeBoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The State Tretyakov Gallery also viewed

 

Been to The State Tretyakov Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing