We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maxima Zarya - a detailed review”
Review of Maxima Zarya Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maxima Zarya Hotel
Ranked #95 of 313 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Maxima Zarya - a detailed review”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Just returned from a long weekend in Moscow and I was very pleased with the Maxima Zarya. The 'budget' hotel options in Moscow are fairly limited and nearly all in the suburbs which is why one needs to (a) pick the right suburb and (b) be sure of being close to a Metro station. Many budget travellers go to one of the mega-hotels in the Izmailovo complex (eg the Gamma-Delta or Best Western Vega) but Izmailovo is a pretty grim suburb and the hotels are anonymous. And the nearby fake Kremlin and Vernisage market are very disappointing. The Maxima Zarya is just a few minutes from Vladykino Metro Station (so better placed than its sister hotel the Maxima Ibis). It is in a pleasant and very quiet suburb, with no horrid brutalist skyscrapers or factory complexes. Service is excellent: I arrived with my daughter off the BA red-eye flight and we were given our rooms for that evening at 7am! This is very uncommon. The rooms were small but comfortable; TV channels are limited but who comes to Moscow to watch hotel TV? The breakfast was varied and excellent. But I was very pleased with the price: £55 a night for a double room (single occupancy).

One downside is the lack of local eateries - and the only reason I am not giving 5 stars is that the otherwise excellent staff let themselves down by not having any idea about local restaurants (perhaps because they want to highlight their own restaurant, which is fine for a functional breakfast but not recommended for dinner). There is a decent local restaurant: a pizza place called La Roma about 10 mins away. The Maxima staff should be aware of this. But overall I was very happy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank TripAnorak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    156
    56
    12
    6
See reviews for
43
58
45
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This hotel is a good option for staying in Moscow, is in a peaceful neighborhood but just 8 minutes away from a metro station where you can take a train that takes you directly to the city centre.
Service was great, staff both in reception and restaurant were very kind and helpful.
Our room was very spacious and clean, with a lot of amenities and everything necessary for a comfortable stay.
Breakfast was better than expected, having a great variety and good quality food.
I undoubtedly recommend this hotel if you are staying in this wonderful city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Autrigon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorks
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We spent 3 nights here and have no complaints with the hotel.

Easy walking distance to the metro (even in snow!), lots of little local shops, restaurant not fantastic but OK and catered for vegetarians with no problem, huge choice at breakfast.

Area was fine during the day but I would not have liked to be walking around at night, not that we say anything but it is a built up residential area and we would not have felt safe.

Very far from Moscow Domodedovo Airport - took us 3 hours one way and 2 hours the other!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pink_Eeyore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

10 minute walk to metro and only 20 minutes into centre. Nice good sized rooms. Breakfast was excellent with varied choice everyday.

Business centre was closed on weekends so unless you have your own laptop you have no internet access.
I was given a smoking room even though we'd requested non smoking and they refused to upgrade unless we paid extra.

Room Tip: Make sure you request non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kjm619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Moscow is expensive, but for comparable rates, there are much better options!!
Pros:
- Good breakfast
- fairly clean
Cons:
- Bad location! At least 10 min away from metro, but then at least 30 min away by metro to the city center
- no amenities (pictures are deceiving- they are from other facilities of the same chain)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cakmluas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

The location of this hotel is not the good thing if you want to move around and in walking distance to the main attractions in Moscow, but it's ok hotel if you don't need to have a lot of business to do in city centre. It's perfect to stay in this hotel on our last days in Russia after we enjoyed staying in other cities and in the Arbat area's hotel. Good 3 stars hotel, fulfill the expectation of a good 3 stars hotel, in nice community area in Moscow's suburb, and peaceful area far from the crowd of the city. Far from many attractions but It's ok because the metro station is still in walking distance to reach from the hotel. The staffs were nice and speak good english, the basic room was comfortable and clean, very simple design but sweet , the bed is just modest double bed but all was ok, The breakfast was nice, enough variety of fruits, yogurt, cereals, salad, bread, omelette etc and all the basic things you need for breakfast. Nothing to complain, we hapily ended our trip spending our last day in Russia to say goodbye to awesome Russia's trip in this hotel :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rika a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel! Staff spike English an were very helpful. Big hotel. Clean, modern. Tv channels from around the world. It's not centrally located by any means. It's quite on the outskirts of Moscow, but the metro is around the corner. Very easy to get into the city center. I highly recommend it. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mariahpiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
0.1 mi away
Maxima Irbis Hotel
Maxima Irbis Hotel
#107 of 313 in Moscow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
4.9 mi away
Maxima Slavia
Maxima Slavia
#96 of 313 in Moscow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ostankino
Hotel Ostankino
#75 of 313 in Moscow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
SK Royal Hotel
SK Royal Hotel
#153 of 313 in Moscow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel Parkoff
Hotel Parkoff
#108 of 313 in Moscow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
15.8 mi away
SunFlower Park Hotel
SunFlower Park Hotel
#51 of 313 in Moscow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maxima Zarya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maxima Zarya Hotel

Property: Maxima Zarya Hotel
Address: Gostinichnaya St., 4/9, Moscow 127106, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Moscow
#55 Business Hotel in Moscow
#75 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Maxima Zarya Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maxima Zarya Hotel has a rich history. Built in 1957 the famous "Zarya" was totally reconstructed in 2004 by Maxima Hotels. The Hotel is located in an ecologically sound and silent area on a green boulevard. Nevertheless the Hotel's Guests may easily get to the center of Moscow by underground: the "Vladykino" metro station is located nearby. Maxima Zarya Hotel provides 192 rooms of various categories, including the famous among the Guests "Marine" Suite, conference services, special offers & benefits. The All-Russia Exhibition Centre is located nearby. Free Wi-Fi and fresh press are complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Maxima Zarya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maxima Zarya Moscow
Maxima Zarya Hotel Moscow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing