We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a budget stay”
Review of Maxima Zarya Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maxima Zarya Hotel
Ranked #95 of 317 Hotels in Moscow
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“OK for a budget stay”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

The hotel is about 10 minutes’ walk from the nearest metro station and not very easy to find but that is not the main problem. More importantly, the way to the metro station is through a pedestrian walkway and the area does not look very safe. Consider taking a taxi if you plan to return to your room late in the evening.

The rooms are basic but very clean. There is no air-conditioner, which might be a problem in the summer. In the winter, you might have a reverse problem as the heating system is not very efficient and the rooms tend to get cold. As far as I understand, the standard rooms are all smoking rooms, so choose an upgraded room if you are a non-smoker (the non-smoking rooms are all on floors 3, 4, and 5).

The hotel offers free wi-fi but it is incredibly slow. They should change their Internet provider or sign up for a higher speed contract.

Breakfast is surprisingly good, with a lot of variety.

The front desk staff are quite efficient – both check-in and check-out took a mere 5 minutes. All in all, an OK hotel for a budget traveler.

Room Tip: The rooms on floors 3, 4, and 5 are non-smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    157
    56
    12
    6
See reviews for
44
58
45
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Imatra, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

I choosed this hotel because low price.....however it was positive surpise.silent location if you come by car....metro a little bit far from hotel.rooms ok.Breakfast inc.and was better than in many 4 star hotel.Restaurant and bar a little poor but food was ok in restaurant....lets say good and unexpensive.General athmosphere also a little average..maybe a little poor if looking somethingelse that sleeping and "ok" breakfast.
If using taxi from and to central Moskow..it can take time and money because of terrible trafic.Also this hotel far away from f.e.Kreml.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mattisaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

I choose this hotel in Moscow after a bad experience in another hotel. And what a difference. Although not so well located the hotel is nice and clean and you have all the comfort you need after a hard day working.

The rooms are spacious to the norms in Moscow and very clean; The staff speaks english and you have english channels on your TV. Breakfast is nice with lots of choice.

Only downturn is that the Wifi access is very slow and the rooms are not that good isolated, you can hear your neighbours quite well.

But overall happy with this stay and I will be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank huguesheylen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Although a little far from Moscow center it's no difficult to get there by metro. They have large and comfortable rooms with a vintage style. Receptionist are kind and helpfull. God breakfast an a typicall russian restaurant. Best value.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Javier C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We stayed here at the start and finish of our Russia trip. The hotel is located on the Metro far enough out of town to offer good value but not too far that the travelling time makes it a chore. Initially quite hard to find but if you find the right exit from the metro and walk via the residential estate walkway near the bread seller you will find it a very relaxing and short walk. The staff spoke good English and were more than happy to help. In mid summer the room could be a little too hot but in June it was no problems at all.

The room was very clean, beds comfortable and also quiet as it is a residential area. It seemed to be run to the same or higher standard that you would normally expect from the upmarket chains. Breakfast was good by Russian standards and plenty of staff are on hand to assist. It also had a good bathroom and a couple of English news channels on the television.

We would definately recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Moscow who wanted to save their money for the rest of what can be an expensive city but still stay in quality accomodation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank N00dles71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
219 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 495 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

I actually quite like that hotel. They offered me visa support (latter needed for my visa application) and really good price (for Moscow of course). Hotel is outside of city centre, but for me it was quite easy to find it. I liked hotel location, on a quiet street with a lot of trees around.
Check-in was hassle-free, quick and with no any issues or problems. They do have safety deposit box at reception.
My room was spacious enough, fresh and clean. Beds were comfortable and rest of furniture new and kept in good condition.
I actually didn't use many of hotel's additional facilities; mainly I used it to sleep. I was amazed with Moscow and hospitality again and Maxima Zarya was not an exception there. If you're looking for value for money and you don't mind to stay outside of centre - this is perfect option.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marqoos_pl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Far away from the center and you really need good instructions how to find the metro, especially when it is dark already. At the reception they had no map to show you. Extremely slow checkin with a lot of misunderstandings by 2 employees in education. If you payed everything already you don't expect to pay extra especially when they cannot explain in English why you need to pay extra. I payed some extra because i was tired and wanted to my room. By the checkout the same situation and again people in education. They should realize that you never get a second change to get a first impression. Especially at the reception. I simply don't go there anymore. The rest of my stay was ok.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zhanhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
0.1 mi away
Maxima Irbis Hotel
Maxima Irbis Hotel
#112 of 317 in Moscow
173 reviews
4.9 mi away
Maxima Slavia
Maxima Slavia
#94 of 317 in Moscow
163 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ostankino
Hotel Ostankino
#72 of 317 in Moscow
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Altai Hotel
Altai Hotel
#147 of 317 in Moscow
211 reviews
3.1 mi away
Zolotoy Kolos Hotel
Zolotoy Kolos Hotel
#101 of 317 in Moscow
219 reviews
3.0 mi away
Katyusha Hotel
Katyusha Hotel
#138 of 317 in Moscow
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maxima Zarya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maxima Zarya Hotel

Property: Maxima Zarya Hotel
Address: Gostinichnaya St., 4/9, Moscow 127106, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Moscow
#55 Business Hotel in Moscow
#73 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Maxima Zarya Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maxima Zarya Hotel has a rich history. Built in 1957 the famous "Zarya" was totally reconstructed in 2004 by Maxima Hotels. The Hotel is located in an ecologically sound and silent area on a green boulevard. Nevertheless the Hotel's Guests may easily get to the center of Moscow by underground: the "Vladykino" metro station is located nearby. Maxima Zarya Hotel provides 192 rooms of various categories, including the famous among the Guests "Marine" Suite, conference services, special offers & benefits. The All-Russia Exhibition Centre is located nearby. Free Wi-Fi and fresh press are complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maxima Zarya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maxima Zarya Moscow
Maxima Zarya Hotel Moscow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing