We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location in the heart of Moscow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marco Polo Presnja Hotel
Ranked #62 of 309 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location in the heart of Moscow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

If you would like to explore Moscow city center by feet, Marco Polo Presnia hotel is a great choice. Hotel is located in the very heart of old Moscow. 3 minutes walk to Patriarshiye Prudy (with a nice skating ring in winter time), 10 minutes walk to Tverskaya street and Tverskoy Boulevard, 20-30 minutes walk to Red Square and Arbat. Few metro stations nearby. This part of Moscow is nice and quit, with plenty of cosy cafes, patisseries and boulangeries.
Hotel is ok for business travellers too, it is easy to reach from nearest metro stations, railwaystations and airports.
The building itself is not impressive, but rooms are spacious and clean.
Unfortunately it is still allowed to smoke in the lobby bar, which I dislike a lot.
Breakfast could be better, but it is still ok.
Definately will come back again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irina_DM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    106
    35
    18
    1
See reviews for
31
82
21
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
197 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

we have stayed 5 nights in a Jane Suite in the hotel and we can only say: it looks old but it is a pleasant place to stay. The people behind the front desk are friendly as the people at breakfast are. The breakfast had enough choice and was from good quality.

Overall my wife and myself we quite happy in this place but and that is a bad point for the hotel: the restaurant Don Pedro. The food is good and tasty but the service is more than terrible; unfriendly, bad service and the hammer: asking for a tip although you have to put 10% service charge on it. My answer was quite clear: do you think you get one Rubble for the lousy service and your terrible face (long face). The bill was already brought to you when you were not even finished.

I complained at the manager on duty and he told us: this restaurant does not belong to the hotel. I can understand but it has a negative effect on the total hotel.

Room Tip: it is expensive but convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rudi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

The Marco Polo Hotel is in a great location whether you want to visit all the tourist attractions or just grab a coffee and sit in a park and people watch. The Hotel staff were friendly and offered help locating places to visit. Plenty of cafes and bars in the area, and a big lake and park to relax in the sun. So close to the main shopping area and the Red Square, it was easy to get around. Public transport options are also good, with an underground station not far.

Room Tip: Pick a non smoking floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
76 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Not knowing what to expect, because of the intimidation of having to arrange for a safe and reputable destination in applying for the visa, I looked for a solidly respectable hotel near the heart of Moscow, within easy walking distance of the Kremlin.

There had been some difficulty in arranging for the reservation due to the time difference in the phone call. It's very noticeable that not everyone speaks English, even hotel staff, however we got along very well once we arrived after the 18 hour flight from Chicago.

The hotel was easily accessible by taxi and metro, beds were comfortable, the bathroom well-appointed. WiFi was advertised, but my son found that it was inaccessible in the room either because of a slow connection of some security issue.

Stopping in an advertised exercise room with sauna before bedtime was not in the cards, because I couldn't find it after walking around and around despite what the desk attendant explained. Even a pool would have been recuperative after the cramped flight.

However, setting out right away for a walkabout to the Red Square and supper at 10 PM on the way home at a local cafe was enough to calm the nerves with a rejuvenating shower before sleep. The warmth in the room was pre-set and a cooler temperature might have been preferable, but the featherbed was comfortable. It was very quiet. There was no strong cigarette smoke anywhere, and we felt very safe that no one was going to bomb us in the night.

The sumptuous breakfast introduction to European dining was wonderful from friendly wait staff, to the superb meal and accommodation, enough to set us off on the rest of the trip through eastern Russian by train. The only fly in the ointment were the expensive apples and orange stocked in the in-room refrigerator, that I had assumed were free, and I figured would be necessary to take for the train ride.

It was a little embarrassing at the front desk when settling the bill for the pot of tea from room-service to have the counter attendant go back to the room to check out what we took from the refrigerator.

I could have understood if we had taken the bottle of vodka or any other items, but usually apples and oranges are a useful and decorative part of a room's 'furnishings'. Most other hotels I've visited, even motels, expect their guests to enjoy a cup of coffee in the room and a piece of fruit. Sometimes, at $250.00/night for a double-room, there's even a packet of biscuits.

All in all, it was a very comfortable stay because the beds are comfortable, the shower (or bath) is warm and relaxing, and the breakfast fantastic. I would recommend this hotel for families with small children, elderly wealthy spinsters, and business people.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Engletina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Clean room with helpful front desk service staff although they are slow. Breakfast could have been better.No smiling staff seen here in the breakfast area but we managed to do it our own...Nice restaurant they had.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank applechans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Good hotel. It's located in a beautiful neighborhood near the Patriarch' Ponds. There are plenty of restaurants, bakeries and shops around that area. The rooms are decent, with good light. The breakfast was nice, with a good selection of food. This hotel is about 5 blocks from the metro station , which is a big plus. Moscow is very expensive, so finding a nice hotel could be a challenge, but Marco Polo is a good option, for a good price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrianagut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crich
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We loved this hotel. Excellent service, friendly,English speaking staff. Spotlessly clean room. Superb breakfast.Quiet location. Would highly recommend it.
This was our first visit to Russia and our stay here certainly enhanced our experience to this beautiful city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Patriarch Ponds
Hotel De Paris
Hotel De Paris
#33 of 309 in Moscow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Tverskaya
Assambleya Nikitskaya
Assambleya Nikitskaya
#58 of 309 in Moscow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Tverskaya
Courtyard Moscow City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arbat
Arbat House Hotel
Arbat House Hotel
#78 of 309 in Moscow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Tverskaya
Key Element Hotel
Key Element Hotel
#77 of 309 in Moscow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Presnensky
Peking Hotel
Peking Hotel
#76 of 309 in Moscow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Presnja Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Presnja Hotel

Property: Marco Polo Presnja Hotel
Address: Spiridonyevskiy Lane, 9, Moscow 123104, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Patriarch Ponds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Moscow
#27 Romantic Hotel in Moscow
#49 Business Hotel in Moscow
#54 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Polo Presnja Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco Polo Presenja is a comfortable four-star boutique-style hotel located right in the very heart of Moscow near Tverskaya street in a respectable, quiet and secure area close to all business centers, offices and embassies. The hotel has a very nice and comfortable lobby bar, summer terrace cafe, and a cozy restaurant offering international cuisine. There is a business centre, health club, 24-hour room service and reception with friendly staff providing most personalised service. Conference facilities for up to 150 pax is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marco Polo Presnja Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Presnja Moscow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing