We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury stay in comunists cathedral”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Moscow Leningradskaya
Ranked #28 of 309 Hotels in Moscow
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
249 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Luxury stay in comunists cathedral”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

As I am frequent guest to Moscow I have visited many hotels there. Hilton Moscow is definitely less-Hilton more Stalin luxury place I have ever been.

First of all there is no usual huge hotel hall there. Instead of it few corridors on few levels of the floor. That is why bar is also kind of hidden and you are just being served at the tables.

Architecture makes colossal inhuman impression. Really good to understand USSR aesthetics.

Rooms are very modern, well furnished but surprisingly mine had been located almost at the road level. Happily, traffic was barely hearable.

Breakfast was excellent, typical Hilton. I also had 2 a la carte dinners. As I huge fan of steaks, I hade two great cuts there. Service was at the highest level.

What was really cute, they built a ginger-bread copy of their characteristic building. Lovely photos warranted. Recommended to any travelers searching for USSR feelings and western luxury.

Room Tip: Ask maybe for the rooms located on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantin G, General Manager at Hilton Moscow Leningradskaya, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our modern and well furnished guest rooms and found our buffet breakfast excellent. We hope that you had lovely photos with our Christmas gingerbread copy of the hotel building in the lobby. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,075
    730
    198
    75
    28
See reviews for
240
575
211
760
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is right near the Central Train station. It is convenient, but it feels very old world Stalin style meets 5-star hotel. So, you get all the amenities of a 5-star hotel, but there's a feel of the Cold War as you walk through the building.

I don't think this is a bad thing. It complements your trip to the Kremlin in the morning and it adds an underlying drama to the whole Moscow trip. You do wonder if you will get a visit from the KGB.

I enjoyed the service, the food, and the rooms were really nice. I highly recommend this place if you're touring.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aabadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I booked by trip to Russia quite spontaneously and had not appreciated that you have to obtain written confirmation and a written invitation from each hotel to account for every night you are in the country. I had already booked a number of hotels en-route from Moscow to St Petersburg in which I then struggled to obtain the correct paperwork due to small hotels not speaking English ( I I had limited Russian), necessary to obtain my Visa. Upon advising the Hilton, they offered to contact another hotel for me as they spoke English to request the paperwork for me. This service impressed me so much I ended up cancelling another hotel and extending my stay at the Hilton.

Upon arrival, the hotel is a beautiful and historic building and impressive from both the street and the lobby, it was also situated in a good location within 5 mins walk from 2 tube stations to enable quick travel to the key tourist locations. The concierge and reception were very helpful throughout our stay.

The first night we ate in the hotel restaurant and arrived 10 mins later than our booking as it was -24 outside and we were defrosting! We were told off by the manager and he was not happy, despite the fact hardly anyone else was there. We were then overlooked for a long time whilst others arrived after us and were served. We asked for drinks 3 times but none came. Eventually we were served and the food was delicious. The next morning however the same staff were working and it was like being in a different place. We were welcomed immediately by name and had fantastic service with the manager checking regularly on us.

Overall the hotel is beautiful, a good location and useful to have overall good English speaking staff. The drinks were quite expensive in the lobby/bar but you would expect this in a city. I would definitely stay again as you got what you paid for.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VLK74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
66 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Traveling to Moscow with a friend since our previous visit 15 years ago, we decided it had to be an authentic hotel. Surely, one of the renovated 'seven sisters' would do!

We could have opted for a guesthouse in an outskirt, or a concrete modernist soviet venue, but we opted to go for comfort. Hilton offered ourstanding value during their 'great getaway'. As we opted for an executive room, we didn't have to worry about any extras: breakfast included, swimming pool, xl room, free (alcoholic, high quality) drinks and 'snacks' (understatement) at night...

Our only worry was that we went out often enough, as we had such a good time hanging around in the hotel!

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank My-View-on-things
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed here for one night at the end of my Russian tour/trip. Even before we arrived, the hotel was very helpful in sorting out our invitation letter and visa. Email was replied within hours and our invitation letter and visa was ready after 5-6 hours of submitting our information. The hotel itself was renovated from one of Moscow's seven sister skyscrapers. Upon our arrival, checking in was a breeze and to our surprise, we were upgraded to a junior suite. The hotel interior is elegant, beautifully and tastefully decorated. It is modern but yet, there is a sense of history everywhere in the building. The room was spacious with 2 double bed, flat screen, sofa and couch. Toilet is also spacious and clean. The location is very near to the train station which was really helpful as we arrived mid morning from St. Petersburg. Overall, I would recommend this hotel and hopefully we would be able to visit it again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keysersozei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

As soon as we walked into the Hilton Moscow Leningradskaya, we knew we were in for a comfortable stay. The reception staff were very helpful and professional. We were upgraded to an executive room, which was just great. The room itself was beautiful, roomy and clean. The bathroom was spacious and well appointed. The breakfast was great, with plenty of choices and guaranteed to give you a great start to the day. I would recommend the Hilton Moscow Leningradskaya to anyone staying in Moscow.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rplhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, FL
Level Contributor
209 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

This hotel is located in one of the "seven sisters" that was built by Stalin. Very old, almost art deco building but with a touch of opulence. Rooms are large and comfortable. The hotel lobby and restaurant was crowded as breakfast is served in the lobby - not a good setup. Nice gift shops in the lobby but may be pricey. We used there car service and it was excellent. Definitely recommend. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InterntlTraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Arbat
Mercure Arbat Moscow
Mercure Arbat Moscow
#5 of 309 in Moscow
1,439 reviews
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Hotel Metropol Moscow
#11 of 309 in Moscow
2,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tverskaya
Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Moscow Leningradskaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Moscow Leningradskaya

Property: Hilton Moscow Leningradskaya
Address: Kalanchevskaya St., 21/40, Moscow 107078, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Moscow
#19 Romantic Hotel in Moscow
#21 Business Hotel in Moscow
#26 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Moscow Leningradskaya 5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Moscow Leningradskaya is housed in one of the legendary Seven Sisters towers. Centrally located, this landmark hotel offers contemporary accommodation and premium amenities, within easy reach of the capital's many attractions. Whether staying for business or leisure,you can enjoy excellent dining options, first-class meeting facilities and panoramic views of the historic centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Moscow Leningradskaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Moscow Leningradskaya Hotel Moscow
Moscow Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing