We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the location is a nightmare”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Moscow Leningradskaya
Ranked #28 of 309 Hotels in Moscow
mashhad
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“the location is a nightmare”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

we stayed in hilton for 5 nights in august 2012.the hotel is one of the seven sisters buildings commissioned by stalin.we have a corner room.the room was large with a seperate seating area to bedroom with tv in each section.the view from the room was good overlooking the railway station.the room was clean ,quite and very comfortable..although the hotel looks large from the outside the inside is much more intimate.breakfast not impressive but not bad.the location is great if you are on business and have people picking you up and taking you back and forth.for do it-yourselves travellers the location is a nightmare.one metro station is a 10 minutes walk to a non-descript neighborhood.there is absoulutely nothing in the form of restaurants or shop within walking distance of the hotel and it is not recommended to walk around in the dark because the shady people which hanging in the near train stations.staff were friendly although i think generally folks in russia are a bit cold and distant.the ugly the lifts,the lifts, and the lifts.2 lifts for what seem like at least 200 rooms is a joke.especially when the lift is more like a vertical capsul that barely accommodates more than 5 often had to wait a few minutes for the lift to arrive and on the way down.stopped at a number of floors where people who waited could not get in due to space issues...the majority of 5 star hotel an all around world offer free wifi,so i would expect a hotel belonging to the hilton group would offer it.overall is not a bad service you pay hilton price.you should get hilton standard.i think i got what i paid for.the hotel,s concierge was friendly and helpful.to be honest moscow is not my favourite destination but my nexttime in moscow i will stay somewhere next to the kremlin.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hamidrezamonshizadeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,075
    730
    198
    75
    28
See reviews for
240
575
211
760
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

I booked 2 exec floor rooms for a series of family birthday celebrations in Moscow. The hotel is a bit out of town if you plan to do the central sights of Moscow. However, the rooms were great, albeit my wife found the bathroom lighting somewhat dark for her purposes. I have marked them down on service as I had a couple of instances where I had to actively seek service when dining in the restaurant. On the other hand staff i'd had no dealings with knew my name - interesting Mr Bond! We decided to book a hotel car to take us back to the airport - an interesting drive!!!! More exciting than either Paris or Naples in the rush hour !! Good hotel albeit a bit out of the center of town, great rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kidderminsterkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Had a city break here for a few note. Room was large, good amenities and well equipped.
£10 for a cup of tea though. We did not eat in the hotel due to price and had room only.
Professional staff who were helpful.
Location is not so good so consider what you want to do in Russia. It is a short walk to the metro then 20 mins to Red Square.
It was amazing to. E in one of Stalins Skyscrapers.
Free wifi in lobby.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KyliesTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were here for our honeymoon November 2011. The food is fantastic, the rooms are beautiful, the staff and service are perfection, I couldn't have asked for anything else.I will definitely stay in this hotel soon.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvpass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

You are staying in this hotel for its beauty and grandeur and for the typical Hilton service, rooms, treatment, look and feel that you are used to and comfortable with anywhere you go. (And price if you book in advance with no cancellation policy)

It’s a good retreat from the hustle and bustle of Moscow, a city which is as foreign as it gets. This place is so out of this world from anywhere I have been so far when it comes to a civilized nation. One which is potentially in existence for 200 years prior to civilization in Great Britain.

The Hilton is housed in one of the Seven Sisters buildings commissioned by Stalin to glorify the Soviet State after World War II. Completed in 1954, was designed to be the finest luxury hotel in Moscow.

The hotel is located a little bit out of town but this is where the seven sisters Stalinist style buildings are located around the city. (10-15min cab ride is the driver takes the right route)
There is another occupied by the Radisson chain on the other side of town.

The Hilton is located close to Moscow’s major train station which is crowded in the peak to say the least.
This was convenient for us as we planned a trip out to the Monino Soviet Aviation Museum. Our planning wasn’t good to start with but one thing I learnt in Russia is that nothing goes to plan. Its not bad luck it’s just how the place runs but it all works out for the best in the end. No one speaks English and even if they do people are still reluctant to help/trust you. Having said that there is always someone that helped us out with directions or even giving us a lift in the end.
Try the younger generation as they are more inclined to speak English.
There are three stations so make sure if your training it anywhere you get the right one.

Staying slightly out of town I believe added to our experience as we had to travel into the centre by taxi (they will demand 1000r but you demand no more than 600r max! just turn away, frown at them or ignore them and walk away they will give in if they want the job).

Next time I will probably stay closer to the centre so as to keep everything within walking distance.

We stayed on level 2 which was convenient as it is close to lobby and able to pick up the free wifi however there are no views from this level. In fact I don’t think the higher floors are occupied by the hotel in the centre tower section. Let me know if you have stayed and there are.
If you want a good view make a trip up to the university at night time there is a good view up there from the hill.

Room service was efficient and Hitlon Burger cooked as ordered. (must pay cash or card on delivery - no room charge avaliable).

All of the seven sisters look spectacular at night when lit up so make sure you get some shots.

FYI: Lenin’s Tomb is closed till March next year (2013) for renos. I could not find this published anywhere till I called out to a guard standing near the Red Square/Kremlin perimeter fence to ask how to access the tomb as it was fenced off.

Good Time to Travel: First weekend of September is their national day of celebration.
This time is also opportunistic for anti-Putin protests to be held. This we did experience right outside the Hilton – the opposition chose our street to protest. Be careful as this does cause civil unrest around the streets. See photos.
Fly S7 Airlines – Was great.

Room Tip: Ground Floors can get access to lobby Wifi depending on device.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sonajet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

This was my first trip to Moscow and the hotel staff were very helpful. I speak little Russian and they were very accommodating. They helped me coordinate a car from the airport and cabs to Red Square. There is a subway station within walking distance and the beautiful lobby and nice breakfast buffett means I will stay here again if I go back to Moscow.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

As one of the Stalin Towers the architecture was very nice considering it's a hotel. The hotel itself is very businessy and is not in the center of the City. It's close to the train which makes it convenient about 20-30 minutes from the Red Square. The breakfast was good and rooms were very nice. If you need to use the wifi - use it downstairs at the bar otherwise it'll be about $20 (too expensive for a few hours) that was really my only gripe. But alas you're in Moscow and the point is to see the sites =] As a last just in case there's a supermarket/grocery store about 2-3 blocks from the hotel where you can get bottled water or a snack (water at the hotel is expensive).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xgarcia16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Arbat
Mercure Arbat Moscow
Mercure Arbat Moscow
#5 of 309 in Moscow
1,439 reviews
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Hotel Metropol Moscow
#11 of 309 in Moscow
2,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tverskaya
Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Moscow Leningradskaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Moscow Leningradskaya

Property: Hilton Moscow Leningradskaya
Address: Kalanchevskaya St., 21/40, Moscow 107078, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Moscow
#19 Romantic Hotel in Moscow
#21 Business Hotel in Moscow
#26 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Moscow Leningradskaya 5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Moscow Leningradskaya is housed in one of the legendary Seven Sisters towers. Centrally located, this landmark hotel offers contemporary accommodation and premium amenities, within easy reach of the capital's many attractions. Whether staying for business or leisure,you can enjoy excellent dining options, first-class meeting facilities and panoramic views of the historic centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Moscow Leningradskaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Moscow Leningradskaya Hotel Moscow
Moscow Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing