We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Pathethic” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cosmos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Cosmos
Ranked #109 of 287 Hotels in Moscow
Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pathethic”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The Staff at this hotel are the most unfriendly, and least helpful I have ever experience at any hotel! Hence Poor Service.
The rooms were from the 60's(and not in a cool way)

The hotel experience was very poor, I would not recommend this to anyone. Its a shocker.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DilshaanC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    560
    729
    292
    169
See reviews for
188
268
192
925
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Stayed here with four friends for three nights in June 2014. For the price the rooms and facilities were good. Check in was quite lengthy but we were given a choice of rooms on different floors and different sides of the hotel to chose from which was a nice touch.
Breakfast is very good, a huge range of different foods meaning everyone should find something they like. The main problem was how busy it was. Because the hotel has more than 1000 rooms it felt like all the guests descended on the restaurant at the same time in a morning, meaning it was difficult to find a table and there were queues for food. A lot of travel groups stay at the hotel also.
The hotel offers free WIFI but this can be temperamental. In the foyer/bars the service is good but in the rooms it can be weak/non-existent.
There are permanent security guards positioned at the entrance to the elevators, which is reassuring as you can only pass if you have your room key to hand.

There are a number of bars and restaurants in the hotel meaning we stayed in the hotel at nights rather than venture into Moscow centre. There is an Italian and a Chinese, along with an Asian buffet place. Food is reasonably priced but drinks are quite steep, though this is to be expected with a hotel in a major city.

Excellent location for the nearby VDNKH metro station which is just across the road via a subway, meaning you can be in central Moscow in 20 minutes or so from the hotel.

All in all well worth a stay for those who don't want to pay the much higher prices to stay in a hotel in the centre of Moscow.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackH1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I stayed at this hotel 33 years ago, and the basic room layout has not changed at all - certainly no "mod cons", but for a 2 day stop, was reasonable enough - was travelling as part of group. Problem was the charging by the shops for postage to England - the price according to our guide is 25 roubles for a postcard, but the shops were charging 50 roubles, with no explanation - found out that the extra charge is for the hotel to express deliver your mail to the Post Office. Our postcards have still not arrived 14 days later!!

Food was buffet style, and lots of it, but very busy with some people fighting to get their food

Room Tip: This is a massive hotel - check the rooms on Trip Advisor before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Srinagar, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

This is a gigantic soviet style hotel meant for accommodation, that's it period. The good things going for this hotel is that it's location is ideal close to metro, few shops close to the hotel. Many dining options inside the hotel that's it. Room is very very basic with minimal things as if it was never upgraded since 1976, same story in the bathroom. Staff has the normal russian behavior ( no smile, serious face), no warmness at all. If you are on budget this hotel makes sense in a city like moscow. Will I go back to this hotel, we'll if I can shell out some more money I will pass on it in a heartbeat.....you get the point

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank UsmanShahdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Moscow hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The Cosmos hotel looks really like cosmos from outside, I love the architecture construction, but I expected something may be more modern. Of course the price is inexpensive, but there were some small details that disappointed me. Anyway, the it was nice to feel soviet atmosphere and I enjoyed the breakfast a lot.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marta J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed in this hotel in January 2014 and didn't expect much after reading lots of bad reviews of it on the Internet. However, can honestly say it is good value for money considering the prices of accommodation in Moscow. We booked the cheapest room and still had a great view from the windows. The hotel is clean and close to the metro station, it has several restaurants and bars to have a drink at in the evenings and there are several supermarkets nearby. Would definitely recommend and would stay again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank E J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Spent a couple of nights here. Huge place with good security protecting the rooms. You always need to show your room card. This was interesting as there are quite a few working girls in the bars. They usually approach if you are by yourself, even for a minute. We had the buffet for evening meals - good selection but not overly hot and there are other restaurants in the hotel. Breakfast was a similar affair.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
0.4 mi away
Design Hotel (D'Otel)
Design Hotel (D'Otel)
#14 of 287 in Moscow
4.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oksana Hotel
Oksana Hotel
#134 of 287 in Moscow
3.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zolotoy Kolos Hotel
Zolotoy Kolos Hotel
#96 of 287 in Moscow
3.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Beta Hotel Izmailovo
Beta Hotel Izmailovo
#70 of 287 in Moscow
4.0 of 5 stars 897 reviews
4.5 mi away
Tourist Hotel Complex "Izmailovo" (Gamma-Delta)
4.6 mi away
Alfa Hotel
Alfa Hotel
#53 of 287 in Moscow
4.0 of 5 stars 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cosmos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cosmos

Property: Hotel Cosmos
Address: Mira Av., 150, Moscow 129366, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cosmos 3*
Number of rooms: 1777
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Semi-circular Tower Hotel jointly designed by French & Soviet architects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Cosmos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cosmos Moscow
Cosmos Moscow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing