We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much change in 33 years”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Cosmos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cosmos
Ranked #133 of 310 Hotels in Moscow
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not much change in 33 years”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

I stayed at this hotel 33 years ago, and the basic room layout has not changed at all - certainly no "mod cons", but for a 2 day stop, was reasonable enough - was travelling as part of group. Problem was the charging by the shops for postage to England - the price according to our guide is 25 roubles for a postcard, but the shops were charging 50 roubles, with no explanation - found out that the extra charge is for the hotel to express deliver your mail to the Post Office. Our postcards have still not arrived 14 days later!!

Food was buffet style, and lots of it, but very busy with some people fighting to get their food

Room Tip: This is a massive hotel - check the rooms on Trip Advisor before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    612
    803
    352
    193
See reviews for
207
306
218
1,045
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Srinagar, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

This is a gigantic soviet style hotel meant for accommodation, that's it period. The good things going for this hotel is that it's location is ideal close to metro, few shops close to the hotel. Many dining options inside the hotel that's it. Room is very very basic with minimal things as if it was never upgraded since 1976, same story in the bathroom. Staff has the normal russian behavior ( no smile, serious face), no warmness at all. If you are on budget this hotel makes sense in a city like moscow. Will I go back to this hotel, we'll if I can shell out some more money I will pass on it in a heartbeat.....you get the point

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank UsmanShahdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Moscow hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

The Cosmos hotel looks really like cosmos from outside, I love the architecture construction, but I expected something may be more modern. Of course the price is inexpensive, but there were some small details that disappointed me. Anyway, the it was nice to feel soviet atmosphere and I enjoyed the breakfast a lot.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marta J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed in this hotel in January 2014 and didn't expect much after reading lots of bad reviews of it on the Internet. However, can honestly say it is good value for money considering the prices of accommodation in Moscow. We booked the cheapest room and still had a great view from the windows. The hotel is clean and close to the metro station, it has several restaurants and bars to have a drink at in the evenings and there are several supermarkets nearby. Would definitely recommend and would stay again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank E J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Spent a couple of nights here. Huge place with good security protecting the rooms. You always need to show your room card. This was interesting as there are quite a few working girls in the bars. They usually approach if you are by yourself, even for a minute. We had the buffet for evening meals - good selection but not overly hot and there are other restaurants in the hotel. Breakfast was a similar affair.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I visited Moscow last october. This was the hotel i stayed in. It has a quirky personality to it with the neon space lights around the back, and the way the top lights up at night to give the illusions of stars. The hotel has a pretty central location, and is easy access to everything. I was on the 13th floor and had a wonderful view of the city. I wrote a piece about my trip, and there is a more detailed explanation there if you wish to have a look:

http://thetravelingteenager.wordpress.com/2014/05/28/moscow/

Room Tip: higher up, the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed in this hotel in March 2014, hotel absolutely enormous.. rooms smelt of smoke a bit even though I was in a non smoking room.

Couldn't fault the security.. lobby restaurants served excellent food.. and a good selection of beers..

A wee bit out from the centre of town but decent and cheap links to get around.

Overall a decent place .. not spectacular... however the price of the room was VERY reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Synkuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Design Hotel (D'Otel)
#19 of 310 in Moscow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zolotoy Kolos Hotel
#98 of 310 in Moscow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Philistine
AZIMUT Hotel Olympic Moscow
Beta Hotel Izmailovo
#70 of 310 in Moscow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cosmos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cosmos

Property: Hotel Cosmos
Address: Mira Av., 150, Moscow 129366, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#37 Spa Hotel in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cosmos 3*
Number of rooms: 1777
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Semi-circular Tower Hotel jointly designed by French & Soviet architects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cosmos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cosmos Moscow
Cosmos Moscow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing