We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An experience”
Review of Hotel Cosmos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cosmos
Ranked #137 of 313 Hotels in Moscow
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“An experience”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Everything has already been said, from the unusually overcrowded breakfast (bizarre assortment on offer) , to the bouncers to check your room pass before allowing you into the lift, to the very friendly ladies in the lobby.....!
I was there for the Agrofarm exhibition and it was convenient for that if you like to slide on sheet ice for 20 minutes trying to get there. If I had to some it up in one word, it would be "chaos." The place is so out of date it will soon be back in vogue!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FairReviewUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    619
    810
    357
    196
See reviews for
210
311
219
1,059
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Novi Sad, Serbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

It seems that there is no difference if you have stayed in this hotel few weeks ago or few decades ago. This seems that haven’t changed some things here since the hotel was built in the 1980-ies. Impressive from outside if you admire huge buildings, and glittering in the night. The entrance hall, shops, restaurants and bars give good impression, the reception desk also. The only thing, so many hookers on one place, in hotel area – not my cup of tea. However, when you get into the room with the main aim – to sleep you come to unfriendly territory. I doubt that size of the beds correspond to normal standards. It reminded me on Italian 2* hotels, far away from the 4* hotel. The room was clean, warm, but the fact that you have uncomfortable bed in which you cannot sleep at all is something that certainly is the worst thing that can happen while staying in hotel. So, be careful -all that glitters is not gold!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasminaNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Moscow hotels

Shanahoe
Level Contributor
121 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

My wife and I visited Moscow in June 2010 and I have only recovered enough now to write my review of the Cosmos experience. This well named hotel, as it doesn't belong in this world, is the most amazing hospitality experience of my life. I could write for hours but suffice to say that if this hotel was in Ireland it would not be closed down, it would be knocked down. The owners could potentially be charged with plotting against the state for scaring away visitors and trying to poison them as the food was inedible. Generally we found the food in Moscow to be poor, overpriced and expensive but the Cosmos took this to a whole new level. We ate in the on-site Chinese restaurant on one evening in the hope of getting a half decent bit of grub but ended up paying the equivalent of €65 for a meal that I would have literally thrown over the counter at my local take away. The staff knew we were not happy and were unpleasant. The stories of other reviewers about "activities" in the foyer are all accurate. The working girls didn't care my wife was sitting with me and the staff were seriously frosty. On arrival we were put in a room that reeked of cigarettes and we demanded a change. I too can be frosty and eventually we were moved to a room with a milder stench of cigarettes. If, like me, you can see the funny side of life and enjoy oddities and new experiences then book the Cosmos. If you are looking for a litle bit of class then buy a tent and go camping in Gorky Park. I'm sure some guy with a big cap will scream at you within moments of walking on the grass and throw you butt naked in a dungeon in the Kremlin but that will still not be as bad as walking barefoot on the carpets in the Cosmos. In fact, I wonder if there is a B & B deal in the Kremlin???? Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floors away from traffic and at the rear. Alternatively, see advice on ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I stayed Cosmos hotel from Feb 27, 2013 until Mar 3, 2013.
This hotel is very near from Exhibition center (10 minute walking distance) where I spent the most of time during my stay in Moscow and it is only reason I stayed Cosmos hotel.
It seems that they never renovated since opening in 1980.
All the Furnitures were too old and TV reminded me back in 1980.
If you are looking for a hotel reasonably cheap ($120.00 per night) and only sleep for trade show, it would be OK to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muskie2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My colleagues and me were there for exhibition across the street. The reviews pretty much say everything: outdated rooms and lousy customer service. Two nice things during our stay: complimentary wi-fi for 4 days, nice city view from the top floor. Breakfast also was not bad, but very very crowded for the days of the expo.
Astonishing amount of prostitutes in the lobby and hotel bars..So not so family friendly hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ksenia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Was there for the AgroFarm show across the street. Totally agree with everyone - rip off, snarky employees, outdated rooms, questionable people in the atrium. Food was ok at breakfast (included in room charge). That was a positve! Enough people and staff to keep it fresh. The rest of the international cuisine restaurants were exorbitantly high priced for the amount, quality and service. Was appalled at the number of prostitutes that were in the front desk area soliciting business. Too bad the guys at the elevator harrassing you for your passcard weren't shuttling them out of the hotel! Front desk staff rude and not helpful at all. Granted, this IS Russia, but come on, it's across from an exhibit center!! Try to be nice to the foreigners, will you?
Will travel across the city on the Metro next year before I stay here again.

Room Tip: Another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsflint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Built just before games the Olympic Games in Moscow by the French.
Hence the statue of General De Gaulle in front of the Hotel.
It' s located near the Space museum en the Moscow exhibition halls, but quite some way from the center. Luckily this was a business trip and I had a driver from the company I visited to take me around. The alternative to get around would have have been the subway. Which is pretty good. The hotel is built according to the Soviet building rules. Impressive as far as size is concerned, but nothing fancy. The hotel bar is very cosy, and the restaurants had good food.
In short, not bad but there are better hotels in Moscow.

Room Tip: Ask for the Cosmos club rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Design Hotel (D'Otel)
#20 of 313 in Moscow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zolotoy Kolos Hotel
#99 of 313 in Moscow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Philistine
AZIMUT Hotel Olympic Moscow
Beta Hotel Izmailovo
#68 of 313 in Moscow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cosmos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cosmos

Property: Hotel Cosmos
Address: Mira Av., 150, Moscow 129366, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cosmos 3*
Number of rooms: 1777
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Semi-circular Tower Hotel jointly designed by French & Soviet architects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Cosmos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cosmos Moscow
Cosmos Moscow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing