We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing fancy”
Review of Hotel Cosmos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Cosmos
Ranked #136 of 315 Hotels in Moscow
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My colleagues and me were there for exhibition across the street. The reviews pretty much say everything: outdated rooms and lousy customer service. Two nice things during our stay: complimentary wi-fi for 4 days, nice city view from the top floor. Breakfast also was not bad, but very very crowded for the days of the expo.
Astonishing amount of prostitutes in the lobby and hotel bars..So not so family friendly hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ksenia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    623
    818
    361
    198
See reviews for
213
317
220
1,067
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Was there for the AgroFarm show across the street. Totally agree with everyone - rip off, snarky employees, outdated rooms, questionable people in the atrium. Food was ok at breakfast (included in room charge). That was a positve! Enough people and staff to keep it fresh. The rest of the international cuisine restaurants were exorbitantly high priced for the amount, quality and service. Was appalled at the number of prostitutes that were in the front desk area soliciting business. Too bad the guys at the elevator harrassing you for your passcard weren't shuttling them out of the hotel! Front desk staff rude and not helpful at all. Granted, this IS Russia, but come on, it's across from an exhibit center!! Try to be nice to the foreigners, will you?
Will travel across the city on the Metro next year before I stay here again.

Room Tip: Another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsflint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Moscow hotels

Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Built just before games the Olympic Games in Moscow by the French.
Hence the statue of General De Gaulle in front of the Hotel.
It' s located near the Space museum en the Moscow exhibition halls, but quite some way from the center. Luckily this was a business trip and I had a driver from the company I visited to take me around. The alternative to get around would have have been the subway. Which is pretty good. The hotel is built according to the Soviet building rules. Impressive as far as size is concerned, but nothing fancy. The hotel bar is very cosy, and the restaurants had good food.
In short, not bad but there are better hotels in Moscow.

Room Tip: Ask for the Cosmos club rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I booked hotel Cosmos for a week-long trip to Moscow in February 2013. At the outset, it gave an impression of being a world-class hotel - purely because of its size and the 'neon-lights' (obviously, not in the interest of guest). Well mainteined lobby, bright interiors, loads to shop (if you really want to pay 10 times higher for any local sovegnier), and quite amazing foot-fall.

So all the good things (so-called) end here. Now the interesting part;
1. Reception staff doesnt even smile - all cold faces (as if cold temperatures have done this to them)
2. No room service - everything is chargeable.
3. No complimentary water bottel at the room upon arrival
4. No internet access in the room
5. They claim to have a free internet access at the looby - but it never works - you will have to spend atleast one hour to make 2 kb of data transfer that too if you are lucky.
6. As per reception staff, you need to spot the right location in the looby to get fast connectivity - as if its not wi-fi but bluetooth - funny, isnt it?
7. If you try calling reception from your room, please allocate 30 miutes before someone answers you call.
8. Be at the breakfast room with no expectations - only onle Omlette counter and they claim to have more than 500 guests at a time. Also, extremely delayed service. many machines didnt work as well.
9. They advertise to having a night club, but do not reveal that it comes with a hefy entry fee - 1500 RUB. when asked why it is not free for hotel guests, the answer was simple - well you see its nlt owned by us. It is a third company and they have their rule - then why to advertise that my friend ;)
10. You will get much better hotels in Moscow - they know that :)

Finally, I changed the hotel and am a happy man now!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SahilSahani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

An experience ... not to be repeated!
The rooms were old and dirty. The beds were not made, just a cover thrown over them. The bathrooms were not cleaned. On the day of departure I returned around 9.15 from breakfast when my bed was already stripped although checking out time is 11am and all my stuff was still in the room. The traffic noise is quite unpleasant.
Now to the food: The food was horrible!!! Completely tasteless! One member of our group found a COCKROACH in the potatoes!!!!
The staff were not very friendly. The whole hotel feels like a train station!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatMaNe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

For location, it's quite near to Metro station Vdnkh (orange line number 6), but Vdnkh metro station itself is 3 stations away after Prospekt Mira station.
It's a very huge hotel, they charged the accommodation fee in advance when I checked in. And for the laundry service, I have to pay by cash, when the the laundry sent to my room.
As I chose the smoking room, I got a room at 24 floor, and the window can be opened only 5 cm wide.
There is a Chinese restaurant in the hotel, and the taste is good.
Hotel's staffs speak English very poor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zalesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

For the first time being in Moscow I totally liked the experience of the hotel. The hotel is built for the 1980 olympics and so it's part of the typical history of the country. In this sense I liked it a lot, it's like you are stepping back in this context. Also the park in front of the hotel is part of the experience and fitting the feeling of the 80'ties. However, if you judge without this nostalgic way of looking the quality is quiet average and in some cases even below. The restaurant is far from romantic, the rooms are functional, but too hot at night, and there is no way of cooling it down.
All togeher, Yes for the Sovjet experience, no for the pure quality.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Markvandegrift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Izmailovo Gamma Hotel
#62 of 315 in Moscow
1,897 reviews
Design Hotel (D'Otel)
#21 of 315 in Moscow
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zolotoy Kolos Hotel
#105 of 315 in Moscow
213 reviews
Beta Hotel Izmailovo
#68 of 315 in Moscow
997 reviews
Philistine
AZIMUT Hotel Olympic Moscow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cosmos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cosmos

Property: Hotel Cosmos
Address: Mira Av., 150, Moscow 129366, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cosmos 3*
Number of rooms: 1777
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Semi-circular Tower Hotel jointly designed by French & Soviet architects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Cosmos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cosmos Moscow
Cosmos Moscow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing