We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Historical Museum”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sovietsky Historical Hotel
Ranked #89 of 313 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“A Historical Museum”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

The hotel is full of history and filled with wonderful paintings. The staff is very efficient and the hotel is located near Dynamo Metro station (about 10 min. walk), which takes you to the Kremlin in about 12 minutes.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have the same amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    93
    57
    17
    5
See reviews for
15
71
29
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

It’s called the Soviet hotel for a reason. "Soviet Empire Style" and it shows. I’m a fan of older architecture so I loved the look of this place. There is a huge marble stair case in the center of the lobby and grand pianos on each floor. High ceilings with crown moldings and more red carpets then I have ever seen. Beautiful paintings and decorations tucked around every corner. The staff was friendly but not always the quickest, especially in the restaurant.
There is a gentleman’s club in the basement open from 9 pm to 4 am if that’s your kind of thing. If there wasn't a sign I wouldn't have even know it was there.
All in all this is a nice hotel for the price in a very costly city that gives you a real Russian experience.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have A/C so be sure to request it at check in if you travel in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veghel
Level Contributor
71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Hotel is build in the old times, means if you prefer this then it is a nice hotel, but rooms are still in the old age, bathroom build i guess in 1945, even the rooms, breakfast good, service is russian style this means no service at all

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanVeghel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Not quite the old style soviet hotel but many of the features, poor service, however the hotel has presence. It has a style that is unique and worth a night. Two would be pushing it.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sisIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

You certainly know you are in Russia, bizarre hotel but great to experience Moscow, typical Soviet style service, not many smiles, lots of smoke, feels very odd at times, rooms were ok, bed was rather grand with four posts etc!

There is a seedy feeling to the hotel, strange things were going on in rooms near mine, also there is hardly anything nearby?
I guess value wise its prob worth it consdiering the overpriced hotels in Moscow it is def an option, not somewhere you would go on romantic weekend away but Moscow is all about the experience after all...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidF2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

The Sovetskiy was better than I expected- it's quiet grand, really. Huge ceilings and an impressive staircase in the lobby, high ceilings throughout, mirrors everywhere, and the rooms are quiet comfortable. Good beds and nice dark curtains. The bathroom had a nice big tub. The breakfast is good too. The style of the hotel is what is really great- they've kept everything Soviet- not Russian, but Soviet. It's a hilarious blast from the past. Beautiful and fun.

But.. I'm happy that I stayed there, but I wouldn't so it again- it's just too inconvenient. It's 10 minutes walk to metro Dynamo, and not a nice walk at that- you have to take two underpasses under a highway and then go through a park. At night it's deserted. To go to Beloruskaya, a ring line station, it's 20 minutes- though a nicer walk. You can also take a trolleybus from outside the hotel one stop to Dynamo, but I'd rather just stay somewhere else in the future- Moscow is a city it takes a long time to get around, and it was a pain to be so far from teh metro.

Also- don't order taxis through he hotel, the rates are ridiculous.

And, my last night, I was woken up by my neighbors sex and TV watching- I think the room had been empty until then- so it seems the walls are very thin.

Hotel itself is a 4- with location, it's a 3.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NeneSparkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Greece
Level Contributor
102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Excellent decoration of the old Soviet style, Good breakfast and abient rooms. Althougt windows are made by wood, room was pretty warm. Just 10 minutes walking from the nearest metro statio (Leninkiy Prospect).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmanouil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
0.5 mi away
Bega Hotel
Bega Hotel
#66 of 313 in Moscow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Moscow Monarch Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Belorusskaya Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BuddHotel
BuddHotel
#173 of 313 in Moscow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Moscow Dynamo Hotel
Ibis Moscow Dynamo Hotel
#41 of 313 in Moscow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Moscow Lesnaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sovietsky Historical Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sovietsky Historical Hotel

Property: Sovietsky Historical Hotel
Address: 32/2 Leningradsky Prospect, Moscow 125040, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Moscow
#69 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sovietsky Historical Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sovietsky Historical Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sovietsky Hotel Moscow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing