We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh these Russians!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Palace Hotel Moscow
Ranked #20 of 315 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Pune in India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Oh these Russians!”
Reviewed April 26, 2009

I have stayed at the Sheraton Palace Hotel thrice in the last 10 years. My experience has remained pleasant. It's expensive, but safe and centrally located. The Coffee shop in the Foyer is great for business meetings and their hot chocolate with cold whipped cream is a delight during winter. The staff speak reasonably understandable English and the Fitness Centre and Jacuzzi area are good. I bought a beautiful crystal train set in one of the shops on the outside of the building at a good price. During daylight one can walk to the Kremlin - but nights are unsafe for everyone in Moscow, esp women. The restaurants are beautiful, though I still haven't had the time to actually eat in any of them. Breakfast is sumptuous. This Hotel is a great luxury for those can afford it.

  • Liked — The Rooms
  • Disliked — All good
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Konline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    282
    73
    9
    18
See reviews for
61
112
70
436
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2009

I stay here on business as the office I visit is only blocks away. Excellent business hotel, but not exactly for the leisure traveller.

PROS:
*Spacious rooms with modern amenities.
*Attentive staff
*Safe

CONS:
*At times extremely expensive--use spg.com for the best deals!
*Working girls at the bar area during the evening. Apparently not surprising for a high end business hotel in Moscow, but still came as a shock to me the first time
*Extremely expensive bar and restaurant food (but this is Moscow so what is to be expected?)

I will definitely try to stay here again for future business trips, but for leisure, given that it's a good 30 minute hike to Red Square, I would recommend the Meridien National (another Starwood property), right on the Red Square and generally cheaper than this property.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica_Sz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2008

We stayed at the Sheraton Palace for one night in December 2008 and had no problems at all.

We booked an online special on Starwood Hotels offering an Executive room for R5310 - normal price R12-16,000. The amount had to be prepaid but was the cheapest decent hotel I could find in Moscow - even the 3-star place we stayed at a few days later was R8,000 - hotel prices in Moscow are obscene. Anyway, we were really happy with the price, and the stay was everything we'd expected.

Check-in spoke decent English and actually smiled occasionally, most refreshing in Russia. Porterage was good and room was comfortable and spotless. Only complaint was the heating in the room. It was about 2 degrees outside but the room must have been 25 - far too hot.

Breakfast was not included in the price and at USD38 we gave it a miss and had a light breakfast at a local cafe for a fraction of the price. Room service menu was pricey, but again that seems to be the norm in Moscow.

Overall a good stay, and I definitely recommend checking out the Starwood website as they have some fantastic winter specials.

  • Liked — Quality of room
  • Disliked — location - not bad but better options around
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank VivaciousNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldingen
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2008

The location is certainly not the best in town, however the security aspects of the hotel are good: no knocking on doors by prostitutes, no ladies in the lobby, no bad boys hanging around - however no glamour and no VIPs as well. It is a fair deal for staying for business reasons. As the hotel is obviously not THE hotel in town, the rate-value ratio is good. Breakfast is great, the BAR not worth money (10 EUR for a beer)

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank Bab69121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2008

I spent abt 24 hours in this hotel (club floor). It's overpriced especially considering service. Service was bad, room was small and dark, telephone didn't work, it took some time to get wi-fi, ironing service taking too much time etc. When booking I was not informed about a noisy repair during a day time.
They took the money twice from my credit card. Still waiting for return.
This so to say business hotel took so much time for fixing problems.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank Alex014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2008

Sheraton Palace Hotel, Moscow: We stayed here for two nights using Starwood points. There was construction on the first floor, which meant our bags had to be carried up a flight of stairs to get to reception. The hotel is on a side-street off a main thoroughfare. The location is a bit removed from any action without many restaurants around. There is a metro stop about a 10 mn. walk from the hotel, which can be used to access Red Square off the same line. The gym was fairly small and windowless, but decent (maybe dumbbells going up to 40 or 50 lbs.). Breakfast was not included in our points-stay, but was very nice the few times we did it. Again, though, everything was fairly expensive. The hotel was pretty good about completing the necessary forms for our Russian visa.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank jgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
714 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 482 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2008

This hotel delivered a good, comfortable stay that you'd expect in any business class hotel. The room was well outfitted, and the housekeeping very good. The breakfast served was quite good. I stayed here for business, and the location was convenient to my offices and to transport into town for the typical tourist sites. There are many good cafes and restaurant in the area.

Some of the public rooms of the hotel was still under renovation, but this was not very troublesome.

That said, this was an expensive hotel in a very expensive city. This might be "the going rate" for this kind of hotel in Moscow, but it is much overpriced by the standards of other world class cities. Paris, London, and New York deliver much better value for the travel dollar, and I would rather see those cities a hundred times over than return to Moscow. The rates at this hotel do little to encourage me to return.

  • Liked — Comfortable room and good breakfast
  • Disliked — The cost for a good room
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mme_X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Hotel Metropol Moscow
#12 of 315 in Moscow
2,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arbat
Mercure Arbat Moscow
Mercure Arbat Moscow
#6 of 315 in Moscow
1,485 reviews
Tverskaya
Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Palace Hotel Moscow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Palace Hotel Moscow

Property: Sheraton Palace Hotel Moscow
Address: Pervaya Tverskaya-Yamskaya, 19, Moscow 125047, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Presnensky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Moscow
#17 Romantic Hotel in Moscow
#20 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
#28 Family Hotel in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Palace Hotel Moscow 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in walking distance from the Kremlin, the Red Square, and other historical and business areas. Easy, 35 min access by the Aeroexpress speed train to/from the international airport Sheremetyevo. 212 stylish rooms and suites offer complimentary Wi-Fi internet and feature signature Sweet Sleeper® beds. In case you are organizing a conference or celebrating a family banquet, we offer 7 rooms which cater for up to 250 guests, excellent service and facilities. After a productive day relax with your friends or colleagues at the lobby bar and the restaurant or unwind in the Sheraton Fitness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sheraton Palace Hotel Moscow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Moscow
Moscow Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing