We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good business class hotel, but as expensive” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Palace Hotel Moscow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sheraton Palace Hotel Moscow
Ranked #24 of 308 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
676 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 475 helpful votes
“Good business class hotel, but as expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2008

This hotel delivered a good, comfortable stay that you'd expect in any business class hotel. The room was well outfitted, and the housekeeping very good. The breakfast served was quite good. I stayed here for business, and the location was convenient to my offices and to transport into town for the typical tourist sites. There are many good cafes and restaurant in the area.

Some of the public rooms of the hotel was still under renovation, but this was not very troublesome.

That said, this was an expensive hotel in a very expensive city. This might be "the going rate" for this kind of hotel in Moscow, but it is much overpriced by the standards of other world class cities. Paris, London, and New York deliver much better value for the travel dollar, and I would rather see those cities a hundred times over than return to Moscow. The rates at this hotel do little to encourage me to return.

  • Liked — Comfortable room and good breakfast
  • Disliked — The cost for a good room
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mme_X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    276
    73
    8
    18
See reviews for
60
111
68
416
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2008

On my last business trip to Moscow, I stayed in the Sheraton Palace. I took a late flight via Vienna and finally got to the hotel around 2AM. Then the surprise. The front desk told us (I was travelling with 3 colleagues) that the hotel was full due to overbooking. They had also tried to put us in a different hotel, but they were also all booked out.

The only option was to take the president suite (that sounds pretty exciting, but it wasn't at all, never seen such a shabby suite) with a spare bed and one additional room.

They promised to give us each a single room for the following nights. I even confirmed this twice on the next day, once in the morning and once in the early evening. But as we returned to the hotel to change rooms, we were told that we would have to keep the suite, but would get an additional room. At least we got rid of the spare bed experience.

Anyway, besides that, the location is not bad, but the hotel is rather expensive for a pretty poor performance (old rooms).

  • Liked — It's location
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cape-addict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2008

A group of us just stayed at this hotel for business in Moscow. I was expecting the hotel to be below average based on photos posted and comments here. I was pleasantly surprised with the hotel and room quality, which actually exceeding my expectations. The room was comfortable and everything worked OK, maid service was good, quiet at night, etc.

Serviced provided by the front desk, concierge desk and curbside were all excellent. Nearly all hotel personnel were speaking English, which makes it much easier for guests from the US. The front desk was good at explaining everything we needed, and the concierge desk ordered taxis and were happy to spend time talking about sightseeing options for the weekends, and recommend restaurants. At the front of the hotel, they would even find us taxis and explain what the negotiated fare would be, which is important in Moscow, particularly if you don't speak Russian.

The breakfast buffet was excellent in terms of choices, with omelets, fresh squeezed orange juice, Champagne, espresso drinks, and many other items available for breakfast, healthy or not so healthy.

The Italian restaurant on the second floor was just OK, and fairly inflexible on lighting, sound, etc. even though our group was the only group there one night. There are better dining options a short taxi ride away, try the Georgian food a short walk from the hotel.

The location was good for the price of the hotel, walking to the Red Square was possible, but it's a long walk. The hotel does have some construction going on, but I never noticed the noise since we were not there during the day.

Overall, this is a good comfortable hotel and is reasonably priced for the Moscow area, which is very expensive.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Broadband service available by purchasing cards at front desk
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank IlliniRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2008

I stayed at the Sheraton Moscow the day after it reopened. The hotel is still really under contruction, as a result all you can hear is constant drilling. As soon as I got to my room, I turned the TV on and there was an apology for the noise, not a good start.
The rooms are very basic and somewhat dated, they haven't been touched during the renovation. There is no reception yet, just an improvised desk by the lifts behind which staff fight for space. The rooms were absolutely sauna-like. I turned off the heating completely and it was still way too hot, as a result I couldn't sleep. So I decided to open the windows for some fresh air but the city is way too noisy so I couldn't sleep anyway. I think all this would have been acceptable if the rates had been reduced as a result of the hotel not being finished but they weren't so I am quite unhappy about this experience.

Breakfast was good but at 1,050 ruples, it was overpriced. The staff were as helpful as you could expect in such a noisy and messy environment where pretty much everything still needs to be finished.

At check out my colleague somehow had to pay 2,000 ruples more than me even though we had neighbouring rooms and we booked from the same corporate agent. The hotel staff refused to reduce the rate.

The only positive thing I have to say about this hotel is the central location, but I wouldn't be rushing back!

  • Liked — Freshly squeezed orange juice for breakfast
  • Disliked — the heat in the rooms and the drilling
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Jukkaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2007

The Sheraton in Moscow is an ideal place on business.

The hotel is clean and efficient.

The staff is very professional and helpful.

The hotel is not cheap and I would say that the price payed does not reflect the overall quality, but in Moscow you are expected to pay sky high rates.

The city is amazing, I had heard to much of the place, but once I got there is was not as bad, actually it is really beautiful Royal City and a master piece to humanity.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Merhba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2007

Moscow has many excellent hotels to choose from however one of the best value for money hotels is the Sheraton.

The rooms are clean, provide plenty of space, and have all of the ammenities you would expect (including wireless internet access). A cash machine is available in the hotel to exchange USD or withdraw money with your bank card.

The location is not too far from Red Square (30 or 40 minute walk), and there are many good places to eat within 5 to 15 minutes walk.

The only negative is that the bar is undergoing renovations but this is only a temporary inconvenience.

The Sheraton is much better value than the Marriott Grand Hotel down the street (why pay so much more ?) and I highly recommend it for your next journey to Moscow.

  • Liked — value for money
  • Disliked — the bar is undergoing renovation (temporary inconvenience)
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Indiana_James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2007

My eight-year-old son and I stayed at the Moscow Sheraton for two nights and were very content. Our room was booked with points and appeared to be a standard American business hotel room (happily with two twin beds). Breakfast was expen$ive, but my son's was free -- and it was a spectacular spread (comparable to all of the five-star hotels I've stayed at in Moscow and St. Petersburg -- even caviar and champagne ... not clear who wants them at 8 a.m.?). Most welcome was a carafe of American coffee on the table, rather than having to request a second cup (as I had to at both the other high-end hotels we stayed at in Russia).

The location was central (two blocks from a metro station) and there seemed to be some parking outside for pick-ups and drop-offs. The lobby and decor were unmemorable, but the staff was pleasant. All the doormen and the breakfast attendants were very welcoming to my son. The hotel felt very secure, but any security was unobtrusive.

We struck up a conversation with a visiting UK businessman who makes it his base for frequent trips to Moscow. He pointed out a number of "regulars," so, presumably, our generally positive experience is shared by others.

Our only negative impression -- which has been reported before about the hotel (thanks, earlier Trip Advisors!) was the smell of stale cigarette smoke.

  • Liked — Predictable, clean, centrally located
  • Disliked — Smell of stale cigarette smoke
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank GoingGoingAlmostGONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tverskaya
Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel
Tverskaya
StandArt Hotel Moscow
StandArt Hotel Moscow
#94 of 308 in Moscow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Palace Hotel Moscow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Palace Hotel Moscow

Property: Sheraton Palace Hotel Moscow
Address: Pervaya Tverskaya-Yamskaya, 19, Moscow 125047, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Presnensky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Moscow
#17 Romantic Hotel in Moscow
#23 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
#28 Family Hotel in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Palace Hotel Moscow 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in walking distance from the Kremlin, the Red Square, and other historical and business areas. Easy, 35 min access by the Aeroexpress speed train to/from the international airport Sheremetyevo. 212 stylish rooms and suites offer complimentary Wi-Fi internet and feature signature Sweet Sleeper® beds. In case you are organizing a conference or celebrating a family banquet, we offer 7 rooms which cater for up to 250 guests, excellent service and facilities. After a productive day relax with your friends or colleagues at the lobby bar and the restaurant or unwind in the Sheraton Fitness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Sheraton Palace Hotel Moscow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Moscow
Moscow Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing