We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel, glorious restaurant/Breakfast Room with luxurious setting.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Savoy Moscow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Savoy Moscow
Ranked #23 of 309 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Worcestershire, UK
Level Contributor
152 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, glorious restaurant/Breakfast Room with luxurious setting.”
Reviewed April 2, 2010

This traditional hotel is well positioned for the Kremlin and Red Square, where there are plenty of restaurants surrounding the vicinity. With the Metro close by, and easy access to most places, including the Bolshoi Theatre. The hotel is charming, with a beautiful elaborate restaurant with painted and gold leaf ceilings and walls. The bar in the restaurant is good as an end of an evening finish.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MB201065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    215
    59
    23
    12
See reviews for
111
275
64
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

I stayed with my fiancee for two nights in the Savoy. We both really liked it. I must say that the photos on the hotel’s website don’t really do any justice at all, so pay attention to the other travellers’ photos here, some of which do a much better job of conveying the grandeur. I thought our room was fantastic. Large tall windows bringing plenty of light in to the room. A big bathroom. They really paid attention to the furniture and decoration as everything looked new and fresh, but completely sympathetic to the hotel’s original features.

The location is excellent. Walking distance to Red Square. Close to a couple of Metro stations, so we didn’t have to use taxis at all and hence run the risk of getting stuck in the notorious Moscow traffic.

The breakfast room was very grand and breakfast itself was great, with a large choice.

Staff were helpful, polite and attentive to our needs.

My main gripe would be cost of internet, but I think this is a problem in other hotels too, and not just in Moscow.

We found it great as a couple on a weekend break and would gladly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2010

stayed at the Savoy for a four night trip. Overall an excellent hotel, good sized rooms, lovely bathrooms, great comfy bed.
Breakfast was good, a largish if somewhat unusual selection (carrots in cream sauce anyone?) and a good a la carte service. coffee was amongst the best I have ever had.
If I had one fault it would be the lack of tea/coffee facilities in teh room. Its always nice to be able to have a cuppa when the mood strikes. Also, ordered rooms service one evening, which was prompt and excellent with one issue - some of the dishes were cold (still ate em anyhow.....).

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blucey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2009

The Savoy Hotel is highly recommendable. It is a very comfortable hotel with a classic style. My room (executive, I had been upgraded for free from Deluxe), was very nice and quite big. From what I saw, no rooms are identical to each other, so I cannot say more than that I was very pleased with mine.
The equipment in my room was very satisfactory (trousers press, LCD TV, sofa, huge windows...). The bathroom is not big, but nice and well equipped too (bathrobe, Penhaligon products).

The service was good : people from the front desk were always very pleasant and the check in and check out were quickly done. There a business centre with a concierge service : I did not use it but the lady was very nice and spoke a very good english (alas, no french seems spoken in Moscow !).

Last but not least, it has a very, very nice indoor swimming pool (wonderful mosaic at the bottom), which seem to be always quiet. I went there 4 times and was always alone. It is opened from 7 am to 11 pm, so this is perfect if you're in Moscow for business.
There is also a good fitness room and a sauna.

It was expensive (of course...) but nothing compared to the other 5 stars of Moscow, so it can be considered as a good deal.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DAMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2009

This is a ridiculously expensive city and most of the good hotels are in a bland international style. This is the only premium hotel in Moscow that feel genuinely Russian, whilst still offering good service. The rooms are big compared to other premium hotels and it is quite a bit cheaper than others. It is in a great location for both western style restaurants and shops, and for the Bolshoi and Red Square.

I have to go Moscow often. I am glad I've been there, but I don't like it much. The Savoy is the best combination of local character and trustworthy service I have come across.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank censington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2009

From a price performance point of view this seems to be by far the best deal in Moscow as far as the 5 star hotel category is concerned. All major city attractions like Red Square, Bolshoi, Gum Department Store, Kremlin etc. are within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BHSCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
388 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights.
Basic rooms are clean, comfortable and a good size. The bathroom was also very nice, despite the broken shower - (which nearly landed on my head and would have knocked me out!)
Internet is an utter rip off and if in Moscow for business it would make sense to pay the extra for a room at another 5 star hotel that offers free Wi-Fi (i think the National does).
Staff are very friendly but very incompetent.
The business centre is also very poor.
Check-in proved to be a nightmare and check-out took over 30 minutes and the tab did not correspond to anything - though not over-charged, the bill was totally wrong and of no use for expense claims. Disgraceful. Really really bad show.
Breakfast is in a lovely room but the food is very very average but staff are very helpful and wanting to please.
Prices are high for extras but not as high as other 5 star hotels.
The bar, lounge area is nicely decorated and the overall building has real character, unlike other 5 star hotels, which are grand but you could be anywhere in the world.
Location is good, though Moscow is not that exciting outside of the hotel but the local self service on the corner across the road is fab and very cheap!
The fact the check-in and check-out were so bad, has put me off ever staying here again. I would not recommend for business trips but it is good for a short city break.
The gym and swimming pool are also really nice.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank copperbottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Hotel Metropol Moscow
#11 of 309 in Moscow
2,778 reviews
Tverskaya
Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Tverskaya
Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
The St. Regis Moscow Nikolskaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy Moscow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Moscow

Property: Hotel Savoy Moscow
Address: Rozhdestvenka Street/ 3/6, Bld. 1, Moscow 109012, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Moscow
#22 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
#32 Business Hotel in Moscow
#36 Family Hotel in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Savoy Moscow 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savoy hotel is a proper place for travelers who put at a high value service and comfort. It is a historical hotel located in the very heart of Moscow, within a walking distance from the major tourist attractions, the Kremlin, Red Square, the Bolshoi and Maly Theaters. Now it is one of the first designer hotels where the ambience of the old Moscow mansion goes well with all present-day services and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Savoy Moscow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Moscow
Moscow Savoy Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing