We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to Red Square”
Review of Hotel Savoy Moscow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Savoy Moscow
Ranked #25 of 316 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great location to Red Square”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a week for business. Overall, this is a nice hotel with wonderful architecture and beautiful rooms throughout. While it's not quite a 5-star hotel, it is a great place to stay with a great location to Metro stations, shopping, restaurants and the Red Square.

Pros: big rooms with high ceilings, large bathroom with heated tile floor, good breakfast buffet, friendly and attentive staff, near pedestrian streets with lots of restaurant choices for food and people watching.

Cons: there is a large building next to the hotel that is being renovated. I stayed in room 307 and construction is all through the night, which can be noisy at times. Also, the restaurant food is okay but I'd recommend eating and one of the many nearby restaurants. As one poster mentioned,the A/C isn't terribly strong but my room did stay cool. Finally, the "queen" bed is really two twins placed together. The mattress is firm (which is good if that is what you desire).

Overall I would stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatiana D, Директор по продажам at Hotel Savoy Moscow, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear guest, on behalf of the Hotel Savoy Moscow we would like to thank you for sharing your observations about the hotel with us. Your opinion is highly-valued for us.
We would like to take this opportunity and apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay at the Hotel.
We do hope that it will not influence your future choice of the Hotel negatively.

Sincerely,
Tatiana Dubeau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    223
    65
    24
    12
See reviews for
115
287
64
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Great, absolutely amazing old building, fantastic interior - but no 5 starts at all: no coffee maker or at least a pot to get some hot water in the room, no even tooth brush set in the bathroom. Conditioners are working quite poor, only on the second day of my stay management admitted that in different areas of the building conditioning is different - but my first night was exhausting in hot room, and only on the second night my room was changed.

Restaurant in the hotel - famous and well-known - beautiful but also needs improvement. To be just have to say that sterlet fish was the best I have tried ever, but many other dishes have issues - overpriced and not worth it, different from description in the menu - better invest time into dining out somewhere in a better restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anastasia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatiana D, Директор по продажам at Hotel Savoy Moscow, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear guest,
On behalf of the Hotel Savoy Moscow we would like to thank you for sharing your observations about the hotel with us. Your opinion is highly-valued for us.
We would like to take this opportunity and apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay at the Hotel.
We do hope that this incident will not influence your future choice of the Hotel negatively.
Sincerely,
Tatiana Dubeau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We booked the hotel when there was a sale during May. We had a friend visit and picked this hotel mostly for it's location which is superb. Inside the hotel is good, but not luxury / 5 stars. If you want more (affordable) luxury go to Hyatt or InterContinental. The room was nice, but felt a bit outdated. Water pressure didn't work well on one day. The breakfast is free, but could be better in selection/quality. However, this is still a great hotel if you can get it for much cheaper than those others I mentioned. From there you can walk to all the tourist locations downtown.

Room Tip: high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan-Hendrik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatiana D, Директор по продажам at Hotel Savoy Moscow, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear guest,
On behalf of the Hotel Savoy Moscow we would like to thank you for sharing your observations about the hotel with us. Your opinion is highly-valued for us.
We would like to take this opportunity and apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay at the Hotel.

Sincrely,
Tatiana Dubeau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

The Savoy Hotel is special amazing Russian traditional building (more than 100 years old).
Rooms are big and convenience with fancy old style decoration.
Breakfast room look like palace party hall with fountain in center: It is most beautiful breakfast hall I saw all over.
Service is friendly and professional, breakfast buffet is reach and tasty.
Location can't be better: near Kuzinsky Most, few minutes walking from Kremlin.
The only negative issue is the current massive construction opposite the hotel and in the street causing noise during all day and night.

Room Tip: Rooms on other side of the entrance will avoid the construction noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avi052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatiana D, Директор по продажам at Hotel Savoy Moscow, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear guest,
We greatly appreciate your warm and kind comments on your stay at the Hotel.
We are happy to take this opportunity and to thank you for being our guest. We would like to assure you that we will go on doing our outmost to serve the guests according to the international standards and Russian hospitality.
You are always welcome to the Savoy Hotel Moscow.

Sincerely,

Tatiana Dubeau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

This hotel really is amazing. From the outside, the building doesn't look particularly special but once you go inside, the luxury begins. My room was great, with very high ceilings, and amazing bathroom. Breakfast room takes your breath away. Great selection of food at breakfast, catering for everyone. All staff were extremely polite and helpful. Staying at the Savoy made my Moscow holiday extra special and I really hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: There is a construction site nearby so ask for a room away from this so as not to be disturbed by an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatiana D, Директор по продажам at Hotel Savoy Moscow, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear guest,
We greatly appreciate your warm and kind comments on your stay at the Hotel.
We are happy to take this opportunity and to thank you for being our guest. We would like to assure you that we will go on doing our outmost to serve the guests according to the international standards and Russian hospitality.
You are always welcome to the Savoy Hotel Moscow.

Sincerely,

Tatiana Dubeau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

This hotel was reccomended by friends and we are happy that we decided to stay at the Hotel Savoy. This hotel has his own fashion. Our room Business Suite was something amazing with parquet with two separate living areas two bathrooms and good air conditioning. This renovated Room (all hotel is renovated) was nice decorated with typical Russian Style of the beginning of 20th century. The breakfast was something spettacular with big choice of the food and the breakfast hall is even much nicer then you see on the photos with small fountaine! The service was exellent! The English speaking Staff in all hotel :at the bar, at the breakfast and at the reception were very helpful cordial and kind. This hotel still remain in my heart. Thank You very much for everything! Greetings from Rome! Stayed with you 13/06/14-16/06/14

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatiana D, Директор по продажам at Hotel Savoy Moscow, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear guest,
We greatly appreciate your warm and kind comments on your stay at the Hotel.
We are happy to take this opportunity and to thank you for being our guest. We would like to assure you that we will go on doing our outmost to serve the guests according to the international standards and Russian hospitality.
You are always welcome to the Savoy Hotel Moscow.

Sincerely,

Tatiana Dubeau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed May 2013 when Moscow was having a heat wave, so the Savoy was a welcome respite at the end of a hot day of sightseeing. Our room was narrow, making it tricky to leave luggage open anywhere, but once we unpacked, it was perfect! Loads of closet space, blackout curtains, quiet, clean. The food at the breakfast buffet was plentiful and delicious, room service was an over-the-top delight, and the room had everything we needed. A quick walk to Red Square, GUM, and the Bolshoi Theatre. A lovely visit!

Room Tip: Since smoking is very common in Russia, be sure to emphasize your wish for a non-smoking floor if th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelMcMillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatiana D, Директор по продажам at Hotel Savoy Moscow, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear guest,
We greatly appreciate your warm and kind comments on your stay at the Hotel.
We are happy to take this opportunity and to thank you for being our guest. We would like to assure you that we will go on doing our outmost to serve the guests according to the international standards and Russian hospitality.
You are always welcome to the Savoy Hotel Moscow.

Sincerely,

Tatiana Dubeau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Tverskaya
Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Hotel Metropol Moscow
#10 of 316 in Moscow
3,006 reviews
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
The St. Regis Moscow Nikolskaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tverskaya
Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy Moscow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Moscow

Property: Hotel Savoy Moscow
Address: Rozhdestvenka Street/ 3/6, Bld. 1, Moscow 109012, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Moscow
#24 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
#32 Business Hotel in Moscow
#36 Family Hotel in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Savoy Moscow 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savoy hotel is a proper place for travelers who put at a high value service and comfort. It is a historical hotel located in the very heart of Moscow, within a walking distance from the major tourist attractions, the Kremlin, Red Square, the Bolshoi and Maly Theaters. Now it is one of the first designer hotels where the ambience of the old Moscow mansion goes well with all present-day services and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Savoy Moscow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Moscow
Moscow Savoy Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing